We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Unique Small Restaurant & Bar” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of T-Box Bar and Grill

T-Box Bar and Grill
Ranked #1 of 8 Restaurants in Ham Lake
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Unique Small Restaurant & Bar”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2013

We visit T-Box a couple of times a month, at least. There's a selection of good craft beers, great, unique food, and reasonable pricing. Wait staff is well trained, personable, and efficient.
The BBQ chicken pizza is GREAT...

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Gary O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    17
    4
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A gem of a restaurant hidden in Ham Lake!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2013

This place is a must try! I went there for my birthday and it's a cozy little place that is very comfortable and kind of a romantic atmosphere. We had a salad and they make their own dressing. The ranch dressing was fantastic and better than anything I've had in a bottle! The Lobster mac & cheese is pretty tasty but if you go, you MUST have a slice of caramel cheesecake for dessert - it is AMAZING!! This is not a vanilla slice drizzled with caramel on top. It's baked into the cheesecake and our huge slice was baked just 2 hours prior, so it was still warm. I am drooling already and will be going back soon just for dessert!

The food is served fast, so don't order your food unless you're ready to eat within the next 10 mins or less.

Will warn you, there isn't a LOT of choices on the menu, but so far what they have is homemade and delicious. It is a little gem hidden in Ham Lake one wouldn't expect to find.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TravelinGirl28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
“Too little, too late, too pricy”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2012

EXTREMELY displeased with the Chef's Omelette. The pricing for this entree was not listed on the menu when all other items on the menu had a price. The cost I finally got on my tab for the omelette is WAY OVER THE TOP at $11.99.

My group of friends try different brunches at a different venue each month and I have received far better value and quality for $11.99 at a five star restaurant compared to the omelette I received last Sunday.

The other issue with this place is that their service leaves much to be desired. I received my omelette AFTER most of the rest of my party had finished their food. And many in the party had to wait because the cook made the wrong half sandwich with the wrong bowl of soup.

So I would definitely drive on by when looking for a place to eat.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank RBlak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minnesota
Level Contributor
86 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Not bad drink and food selection”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2012

Went here before a Twins game with a buddy and food wasn't that bad and they had a nice selection of beers.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank CRossMinnesota
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blaine, MN
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“T-Box makes you feel like you are a member of a special club”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2011

I really like this place. It's small, and has a private club feel to it. The service really feels one-on-one. The food is eclectic, yet simple. It feels like a well-kept secret.

In addition to the standard modern upscale Bar and Grill items, i.e. wood-fired pizza, gourmet burgers, eclectic beers both on tap and in bottle, several seafood and steak choices, and at least 8 wines by the glass, you can also get less common dishes such as an Elk Strip Steak, or Caribbean Jerk Pulled Pork.

The menu is fairly small, and there is at least something for everyone.

They have two happy hours, and if you are really early, i.e. before 5pm, you can get great discounts on many of the "bar menu" type items and appetizers. My wife and I stopped by on Saturday at 4:30 and both had full entrees, with the bill totalling $14.00.

On Sundays, they have Family 5-course meal prix-fixe type menu, for like $14.00 each. You might want to glance at the menu online before coming as some people like simpler fair, but we have always enjoyed what we've had.

I'm not saying that everything is a bargain, its just that they do have enough bargain opportunities that if you go at the right time, you can enjoy yourself even on a budget. Entree pricing varies wildly. Signature sandwich or pasta dishes might range from $8 to $15, but Steak or Seafood dishes can work their way up to $30 or so. Allow $50 for a couple if you don't splurge.

The seats in the booths aren't the most comfortable, but that's about the only negative, unless you require a full bar as this place is strictly Beer and Wine.

  • Visited June 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank TC_Con
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed T-Box Bar and Grill also viewed

 

Been to T-Box Bar and Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing