We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“The perfect weekend at Asahi Loft”
other travellers have booked this property
Can you picture yourself relaxing in this exquisite space for a weekend?
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Can you picture yourself relaxing in this exquisite space for a weekend?
1000 square feet of luxury and privacy, Call to ask about Writer's Retreat rates Two person Japanese size soaking tub with air bath bubbles
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
66 reviews
Can you picture yourself relaxing in this exquisite space for a weekend?
1000 square feet of luxury and privacy, Call to ask about Writer's Retreat rates
Two person Japanese size soaking tub with air bath bubbles
Vessel sink from local potter Lu Ommen expertly placed in Amish cabinetry
The perfect anniversary getaway
Homemade bread, Amish eggs, coffee, tea, etc provide breakfast when YOU want it
Sheets, towels and yukata (Japanese bathrobes) are lined dried  on site, most seasons
About us, after teaching for 25 years in Japan we are enjoying sharing our love of Japanese culture
Japanese farmhouse style cabinets made by the Amish master Mr. Yutze of Granger MN
Yes, we have cable television and wifi but also a fireplace  and jigsaw puzzles.
Japanese antique chest and Chinese style chair with
Only 5 minutes from Harmony/Root River Bike Trail, the Loft has an interior and exterior entrance.
The wild flowers are beautiful this year, saw two monarch butterflies in August.
Along the bike trail, stop to see the sinkhole exhibit provided by the Harmony Historical Society
Asahi Beer glasses found at the flea markets in Tokyo will hold your favorite beverage.
Your view from your private deck complete with new Sunsetter awning.
@Hegel photographer overhead view of hibachi
If you see our chortan (pile of rocks) you are at our driveway. Welcome!
Newly opened business Weddings at Asahi.
Repairing shoji doors and window covering
Large closet hidden by shoji doors.
Winter season is also popular with our guests. Doug loves to blow snow  from the driveway.
We have a great connection for cross country ski and snow shoe rental
Although the summer flowers are gone, on a sunny day you can enjoy relaxing in sunshine
Sections of the bike trail only need a small amount of snow to be enjoyed.
We have hosted honeymoons and many anniversary celebrations but Rosie and Vern 'take the cake' 64 yr
New sign marking the interior entrance to the Asahi Loft.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Private Room, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Harmony, Minnesota

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 66 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Kathleen...
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The perfect weekend at Asahi Loft”
Reviewed 13 December 2015 for a stay in December 2015
1
person found this review helpful

I met a couple of friends in Harmony Minnesota and we stayed at Asahi Loft. It was the perfect setting with a beautiful well-stocked kitchen and an incredibly relaxing ambiance. We could have gone the whole weekend without leaving the loft but did go out to Estelle's for dinner one night (walking distance and absolutely delicious) and rented a self-guided amish tour cd which was such a unique experience.

Thanks for making us feel at home, Asahi Loft. We will be back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The unique and relaxing environment of the loft.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Dec 2015
Thanks Kate for writing a review! I think you were the first guests to celebrate the holidays with latkes. The Loft can accommodate three comfortably and having great restaurants and a movie theater within walking distance is a real perk.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael W
Iowa
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Zen Loft”
Reviewed 4 November 2015 for a stay in October 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We recently stayed two nights at Asahi Loft in Harmony, MN. The Asahi Loft is a great choice if you enjoy having all the comforts of home (and more) when you travel. The pictures on the owners’ website are a true representation of the many amenities offered.

My husband is not a big fan of B&Bs, but Asahi Loft hardly fits that category. The Japanese-themed loft is completely separate from the owners’ home. One does not need to schedule a time for breakfast. Instead the loft has a full kitchen which is stocked with homemade bread, jam, butter, Amish eggs, fruit, crackers, spices, coffee, and many varieties of tea.

There is a notebook which includes information about the surrounding area along with maps and menus for local restaurants. Strolling the streets of Harmony or biking the 18 mile trail between Harmony and Preston was very scenic due to the autumnal colors. And the self-cleaning air tub was wonderful for relaxing after a long day of sightseeing.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Nov 2015
Thanks for taking time to write this review! You were great guests.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CA106
Bettendorf, Iowa
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Tranquil and unique getaway”
Reviewed 18 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015

The location is a little out of the way but close to trails, breweries, wineries, and shopping. The drive to Harmony provides glimpses of Amish life and vast farmland.

Asahi Loft is an opportunity to experience a touch of Japanese decor and culture. There are small surprises tucked everywhere in the spacious lodging. We found notes explaining the uses of items from Japan and treats made with local ingredients.

Cindy welcomes you with tips on places to stop along your drive to Harmony and provides brochures on other points of interest once you arrive. As guests, you can be as busy or laid back as you wish. Asahi Loft is suited for either!

We were in the area chasing fall color and we look forward to visiting the area in a different season.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Unique furnishings
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Oct 2015
Often I leave a place with good intentions to write a review but get busy with life, so I am very grateful for travelers such as you, who do take the time. Thank you for spending time in Harmony MN and come back and visit.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tlrkn
iowa
1 review
“Simplistic Elegance”
Reviewed 23 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Property is as described and is very peaceful. So happy to have stumbled upon it on Trip Advisor. I hate to give it such good reviews as it might be busy when we want to return but Cindy does a great job with it and deserves the great review!!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Sep 2015
Thanks for taking time to add this review. Hope to host you again next year for your anniversary, or earlier.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
boys1998
Marshall, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect Accomodations! ”
Reviewed 9 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We just spent a weekend at the beautiful Asahi Loft for our 22nd anniversary getaway. The owners were super friendly yet allowed for complete privacy. There really isn't one thing I can think to change. The organic eggs, fresh fruit and homemade jam, honey and warm bread upon arrival were a nice welcome and appreciated for preparing a yummy breakfast each morning. The Japanese decor and amenities and comfortable king bed were fantastic! Harmony is a very small, quiet town with a couple great restaurants (we liked On the Crunchy Side and Estelles) and only about 15 minutes to other great small towns Lanesboro and Decorah. Great biking trails accessible right in Harmony or from the nearby towns. Kayaking on the Upper Iowa River leaving from Harvest Farms Campground was also great! Highly recommend the Asahi Loft!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Aug 2015
Thank you for taking time to write a review. I could sense that this couple would make the most of their stay and they enjoyed using the $20 Harmony dollars as part of the Anniversary Special. I keep toying with idea of writing a review of my guests, if were to ever start, this couple would receive 5 stars for the way they left the Loft. Thank you again for finding the Asahi Loft of Harmony.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
donih
St Paul Minnesota Usa
Level 6 Contributor
184 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Unique Loft Experience with Japanese Influence”
Reviewed 8 July 2015 for a stay in May 2015

We arrived at the Asahi Lofts to be welcomed with slippers and the most unique accomodations we have ever stayed in. The loft is above the garage of the owners home and is remarkable space. The owners have lived in Japan and have brought this Japanese experience to life here at the loft, from the Perfectly folded Yukatas on the bed, the the Japanese lamps and decor, including dishes. The loft is impecable and has a lovely deck to enjoy your glass of wine and the sound of the tree frogs, and lightning bugs in the evening or morning tea with the sunshine. The owner- Cindy makes home made bread and leaves it for you as well as breakfast items. There is a full kitchen, and a wonderful Air Jet tub for two. It is so relaxing and lovely two nights were not enough. Another great experience is the Jem Theater that we went to one evening. There is an ice cream bucket in the loft that you bring to the theater and you get a discount on your popcorn, with real butter I must add. Also, it is all within walking distance so you get a nice peaceful walk to and from. We took a long walk in the evening and another one during the day - Harmony is such a little peaceful CLEAN town. Cindy the owner went out of her way to accomodate our schedule as we were there for a wedding and I so appreciated everything she did. I would highly recommend staying here, I guarantee you won't be disappointed. We will definitely be back. Thank you for making our stay so memorable!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The loft experience
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Jul 2015
Thank you for taking time to write this review. Being married to a retired English teacher makes me appreciate "well written" complimentary reviews. These guests were especially appreciative of the shoji lamps and they left with paper/glue and a resounding "gambatte". In her note to me, she did not want the Loft to become so popular that they would have trouble finding an open date. Since we are only one unit, I do encourage people to look at the availability calendar and plan ahead.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herbertru...
1 review
“Exqusite environment and service, tranquility enbodied.”
Reviewed 9 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Serenity abounds in this loft. Wood floors, open space, natural light, deck, bubble tub, kitchen, breakfast goodies, most of all: quiet! Near bike/ski trails. Dont miss this gem.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Jun 2015
Thank you for taking time to submit this review. In a few words you have described what we hope for for our guests.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing