We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Informative (too long for kids, slow-paced)”

LeDuc Historic Estate
Ranked #7 of 16 things to do in Hastings
Attraction details
Hastings, Minnesota
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very Informative (too long for kids, slow-paced)”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

This is a worthwhile stop in Hastings for adults who appreciate history. The 1-hr tour takes place in the mansion. I thought perhaps the tour would also include the outside buildings on the estate. You can walk through the outside buildings on your own after the tour. I brought my 8 and 10-yr old kids. They did well but we wouldn't go again because we spent 10-15 min. in each room listening to stories about the family. It's not fast-paced enough for children younger than mine. In the library you get to watch a very well-done video about the history of the mansion. Very interesting.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank geogirl7272
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    5
    4
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Inver Grove Heights, Minnesota
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2013

The tour was among the best! Great property! The history was very fun to learn about. We loved that the property remains very unchanged since the days the house was first occupied.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank JoP436
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blaine, Minnesota
Level Contributor
44 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Worth the time....”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2013

The tour guide is a treasure of information and made it interesting and fun to see.She gave us so much history about the people who built the house and their lives. Very interesting!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Rodger C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis, IN
Level Contributor
40 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“FANTASTIC tour of charming mansion”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2012

We had a fantastic experience at the LeDuc mansion recently - out tour guide, Andrew, was one of the best tour guides we have had for tours such as this. Not only was Andrew great - but the professionalism (15 minute video of background was very well done - concise and entertaining) and depth of the tour itself. The entire tour was about 1 hour and only had one set of stairs to navigate, ending at the gift shop upstairs (nice little gifts available). It is definitely worth the admission and a charm in the midst of Hastings. If you are passing through, you must stop in!!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank indy2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Paul, MN
Level Contributor
45 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Gothic Romance and Great History”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2012

This beautiful 1860s estate house is full of history and great charm. Now maintained by the Dakota County Historical Society, it is open to the public from late May through October, and often features special weekend events, including a Civil War weekend in September (General LeDuc served the Union Army during the time the house was being built). Worth a trip, especially in the fall color season.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank TaliskerSaintPaul_MN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed LeDuc Historic Estate also viewed

 

Been to LeDuc Historic Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing