We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing Getaway”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hastings
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Historic Inn on Ramsey Street
Ranked #1 of 3 Hastings B&B and Inns
Saint Paul, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Relaxing Getaway”
Reviewed 27 March 2014

Close to one of our favorite Hastings Vineyards it was a wonderful getaway! We loved the spacious room, with whirlpool and fireplace, which offered multiple ways to comfortably relax and enjoy each others company. The gourmet breakfast the following morning was simply exceptional. The perfect way to end our relaxing getaway!
Thanks Pam and Dick for your wonderful hospitality!
P.S. Almost forgot the perfect cup of looseleaf Tea we enjoyed!

Room Tip: East facing room provides perfect sunrise and whirlpool allows you to relax.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    66
    8
    7
    0
    1
See reviews for
5
60
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2013

We had a wonderful visit to the Classic Rosewood Inn in Hastings. Pam and Dick have put their heart and soul and whole lives into this beautiful old inn. The place exudes charm. It's cozy, warm and romantic. Thanks for a lovely visit to Hastings.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cassij01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vadnais Heights, Minnesota
Level Contributor
205 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2013

We arrived at the Inn at the same time as another couple. They were "repeaters" so Pam helped them settle in first. She then came to tell us that they had expected us to arrive the next day. She graciously took responsibility for the mix-up, although I wasn't convinced it wasn't my mistake. She then offered us a free upgrade since our scheduled room wasn't available. She showed us around, told us the interesting history of the house, and brought us to our beautiful room. There was log-burning fireplace 2 feet away from the 2 person whirlpool bath and a gas fireplace in the sitting/sleeping area. Free cookies, ice cream, and hot chocolate or coffee were in a kitchenette, available throughout the day. Unfortunately, the cookie jar had been emptied when we stopped by at 8:00 pm for our snack, however we were able to survive by eating extra ice cream and enjoying our wine coolers in the whirlpool bath near the fireplace. Our bed was incredibly comfortable; we slept through our alarm in the morning. We chose to eat breakfast downstairs but we could have eaten in our rooms. Coffee, tea, and OJ were waiting for us on our table. Fresh cut up fruit was then served in a bowl. After eating this, individual egg bakes were served with bread pudding and apples on the side. We could not have been happier with our breakfast. With such great ambiance and food, we somehow stayed a little over 2 hours, talking and enjoying our time thoroughly. Upon departure, Pam gave us a small parting gift. The Classic Rosewood Inn was a grand experience and we would certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank europewithKellynRyan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eagan, Minnesota, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 October 2013

Saying a place feels like home is in my opinion the highest form of compliment. Rosewood Inn is all of that and a step above. The amenities are gracious and memorable, but it is the inn keepers that truly set the house a step above. They are professional, attentive to detail, and full of real live personality. We had such an enjoyable visit, and came home feeling rested and pampered. We will definitely go to visit Rosewood again.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eagan, mn
1 review
Reviewed 22 October 2013

The ambiance of this historical home takes you back to another era. The innkeeper is right out of the story books with her welcoming, creative personal touches and ever so pleasant with any requests. The food was fabulous. My husband who is a cook raved all day about his breakfast. The house nit picky clean.

Room Tip: They are all nice ...last time we stayed on top floor and it was quite large. Enjoyed having the add...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margaret N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
171 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2013

Nice place, with a lot of potential. However, the prices, in my opinion, do not reflect the competition. The B&B lacks much of nice details. The host is nice, but one gets almost summoned with many rules and dos and don'ts (one can get already a feeling based on the replies from the host to other reviews). The breakfast was good. would not come back

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank regular-traveller25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
classicrosewood, Owner at The Historic Inn on Ramsey Street, responded to this review, 15 November 2013
Feel very bad that this guest must not have liked my response to his or her traveling companion whose review dated September 1 gave us same rating. It is obvious this is same reviewer with same places traveled. We are sad that they were not more specific as that is how we learn and make improvements. We also feel bad they felt it necessary to give two reviews for one stay and wish we knew what rules they refer to..There are no rules here except for fireplace instructions and whirlpool instructions and tongue in cheek no running with scissors. No limit to cookies or ice cream or firewood No set time for breakfast, guest chooses,Also guest chooses where breakfast will be. No curfew, you get your own key. We again ascertain that we are not in competition with other inns and we love them all and all innkeepers too.Some of our favorite inns are those different than what we offer like log homes or train cars or yurts.Have said it before --there is nothing more important to us than our guests' comfort. We feel lucky with all your travels that we had the opportunity to serve you. We appreciate your kind words about breakfast. We wish you and your traveling companion the very best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clermont, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

My husband and I were enroute from Twin Cities in Minnesota to a week in Wisconsin Dells and really needed a totally restful night where we could crash and sleep. The Rosewood Inn was just the place --. The breakfast the next morning was so delicious. We really hated to have to check out as early as we did. Our only problem was getting our luggage to the second floor on the winding, steep staircase as my husband had hip replacement surgery a year ago and still has difficulty. The gentleman host graciously took some luggage up for which we were very grateful. The only difficulty was the very small shower -- but this home is an 1880 Queen Ann style home that has been made into a Bed and Breakfast, so some things aren't going to be spacious.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JMS88keys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hastings
7.0 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Cottage Grove
16.6 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Red Wing
19.6 mi away
St. James Hotel
St. James Hotel
#1 of 9 in Red Wing
4.0 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.9 mi away
Best Western Rivertown Inn & Suites
19.0 mi away
Nichols Inn Red Wing
Nichols Inn Red Wing
#5 of 9 in Red Wing
4.0 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
18.7 mi away
Super 8 Red Wing
Super 8 Red Wing
#6 of 9 in Red Wing
3.5 of 5 bubbles 318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Historic Inn on Ramsey Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Historic Inn on Ramsey Street

Property: The Historic Inn on Ramsey Street
Address: 620 Ramsey St, Hastings, MN 55033-2142 (Formerly Classic Rosewood Inn)
Region: United States > Minnesota > Hastings
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Hastings
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Classic Rosewood Hotel Hastings

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing