We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful, warm, loving energy!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Historic Inn on Ramsey Street

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hastings
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Historic Inn on Ramsey Street
Ranked #1 of 3 Hastings B&B and Inns
Bloomington, Minnesota
1 review
“Beautiful, warm, loving energy!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2011

Staying at the Classic Rosewood Inn was such a pleasure, the decor on the inside is beautiful as well as interesting. The hosts Pam and Dick are so welcoming and accommodating. Every room I've seen I would be happy to stay in, and having a fireplace with a whirlpool tub adds modern amenities to a timeless space. The little details were appreciated, the tea, the food, the soap, the ice cream, the journey cake....we were completely able to put our hectic day to day life on hold and soak up the magic of this place. We will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sunjube33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    66
    8
    7
    0
    1
See reviews for
5
60
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bemidji, Minnesota
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2011

My husband and I have stayed at The Rosewood several times over the years, and will continue to return even though we have since moved to Northern Mn. We have always enjoyed our visits, and so appreciate the warm hospitality and great customer service that we've had. When your innkeepers are willing to climb two flights of stairs to bring you breakfast to your room, I say that's going the extra mile. We've been to other bed and breakfasts in Mn, but have yet to find one that offers such personal touches. Pam & Dick love serving people and it shows. It is more than just a business to them. We encourage you to check out The Rosewood if you're in the Hastings area. You won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank enjoyBandB77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2011

We have stayed at the Rosewood many times over the last 16 years. When we want downtime and together time - the Rosewood is the place we think of first! Pam and Dick are generous and wonderful hosts and they truly love to serve those that stay with them. Each room in the Rosewood has it's own personality and each room is finished with loving care (we have stayed in almost all the rooms). The double whirlpools and fireplaces make the rooms very special and romantic. Even when the Inn has been full, we have NEVER heard any other guests. The quiet and solitude are tremendous. The breakfasts have always been delicious - especially the bacon - and served on time in our rooms as requested. Pam has a wonderful knowledge of the history of the area around Hastings and her buildings in particular. We always learn something new when we visit! We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TheEdwardsons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodbury, Minnesota
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2011

After a number of years, I returned to stay at the Classic Rosewood Inn. I met friends for dinner at the Hastings Country Club which is now open to the public. Only a mile from the inn, you enjoy the view of wooded rollling hills through wraparound windows warmed by a fire. I was told by staff there that they are one of the few golf courses in Minnesota designated as a Certified Audubon Cooperative Sancturary. Dinner was excellent. Back at the inn, before tucking in for the night, I snuck downstairs for an extra log for the fire and a bowl of ice cream with chocolate sauce---talk about feeling at home!---from the help-yourself back porch pantry, an amenity you don't find at most inns: cookie jar, ice cream, fresh fruit, tea and cocoa.
I didn't have the luxury of sleeping in the next morning, but welcomed the fresh coffee tray brought to my room with a knock as my wakeup call. The organic, fair trade coffee was roasted locally, which is important to me. As always, I appreciated the flexibility in breakfast time and location. I chose to dine near a cozy fire in the parlor and was encouraged by Pam Thorsen (the innkeeper) to invite an old friend who lives nearby to join me for breakfast at no additional charge. The three-course, locally sourced, breakfast was beautiful to behold and delicious as well.
As before, the room was spotless, quiet and comfortable with unique architectural details. The pillows were wonderful, and washable, one of many green practices advanced in recent years. Recycling an old building, or two in the Thorsens case, is truly a "green" building practice and the heart of their mission to honor and respect the past, while actively working to protect the environment for the future of their community.
I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at Rosewood. Pam and Dick are wonderful hosts, leaders in the industry and I know they will do whatever they can to make your stay enjoyable and memorable.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank greengirl86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minnesota
Level Contributor
152 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2011

Nothing in this bed and breakfast is left over from the original interior, if I understood that right. The owners had to build some of the interior structure, and they did an okay job of it, but they should have hired an interior decorator. Some of the colors/patterns are just not right and it almost works, but needs some help.
Someone mentioned in an earlier review about the proprietor's twenty minute speech upon arrival; we received that as well, but it felt intrusive as it was late and we just wanted to get into our room and sleep. Unfortunately, she didn't perceive this, and continued on and on about the history. It may be well received at a more opportune time than right upon check in, and she really should ask if the guests would like to hear it or not. We received some cookies that were rock hard, and had to get hot chocolate in the porch, which was not heated.
The room we had was satisfactory, but for the price we didn't feel it measured up. The colors didn't go together well. There were little rugs in the bathroom and next to the tub that looked too cheap to be in the room. The bedspread was pretty, but a comforter with a washable duvet would have been a better choice. I don't like feeling that the bedspread isn't washed inbetween guests. The bright lights from outside the room lit the room up too much and it didn't feel restful. The hot tub was nice.
The breakfast was very good, with fresh fruit and a nice crunchy topping, and a hot egg dish that was quite nice. Coffee was not very good. One bothersome detail when we were checking out; the kitchen looked to be really unorganized with books and things all over, and a large pile of unwashed dishes in the sink. The owner also had a soiled shirt on that should have been covered up with an apron since she was cooking. Didn' t lend an air of cleanliness to the place.
It is nice that the owners put a lot of hard work and time into this house, but it needs a careful lookover by someone that has a good eye for details and perhaps it will then be worth what we paid for it.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MariaMag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gertie147, Owner at The Historic Inn on Ramsey Street, responded to this review, 12 January 2011
Dear Gentle Friends, Among the inaccuracies or more kindly misperceptions in this review, there are a few accuracies which we truly apologize for : 1) the overbaked cookies or were they our famous ginger snaps? 2) the office in transition and 3) not perceiving these guests were not interested in the history and were exhausted.

To explain--- we had been moving our office to the basement (trying to do it behind the scenes) and it was in our first floor service area. (not part of the guest area) To explain: we have a guest pantry, a service area and a commercial kitchen. This guest may have checked out right in the middle of us still serving and clearing so we stopped what we were doing to see to their checkout.(This happens frequently) Granted it is not an ideal situation to not have a front desk and have the chief cook and bottle washer also be the innkeeper. So if there were dishes in the service sink they were waiting for the dumbwaiter that goes to the commercial kitchen which is purposely in the basement to keep the noise, the prep and the dishwashing out of sight and sound of guests. Want to take a video peek at our very clean commercial kitchen ? Check out our Popover pancake recipe on our website. .

However, there are some misperceptions in this review --- we do have duvets on each bed. And many have both duvet and quilt and for the very reason mentioned (frequent washing) Some think because of the high quality of our duvets with hidden button closure that they are bedspreads. Not true, they are top of the line duvets. Also our comforters inside the duvets are not ordinary. They are Nikken. Another misperception was that the back porch was not heated. We are sorry it was cold. It may have been below zero and the thirteen windows in the back porch do make it colder than the rest of the cozy inn.But it is heated. The bathroom rugs you mentioned fit into this same category of conservation as not heating the porch at full temperature in the winter. They are safe (rubber backing) as compared to fluffy slippery ones and they are easy to wash and dry. This fits in with our Green Policy (view on our website if interested). We like the way they look. As far as orientation, our goal is that you are comfy and make yourself at home all over the place (except in the service area and commercial kitchen) and enjoy the amenities of the house. I only share the history if guests seem interested. I obviously read this guest wrong. I should have been more perceptive. I am very sorry. We do appreciate your kind words about breakfast and the tub. And finally, you are 100% correct that we take great pride in the restoration and saving of this grand old home. It was condemned, scheduled for demolition. There are many original components here so you did not understand that correctly. This industry has saved important history in this country and every time you stay in an historic B & B, you are aiding in this preservation. We are very grateful to all our guests even those with different personal taste in decorating. There are thousands of properties that quite simply would not be and could not be replaced if not for B & B guests. What we like best about this enviable vocation is that we have a wonderful opportunity daily to try to make things better in a stressful sometimes unkind world. We will continue trying and continue to learn. Thank you. Dick and Pam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wichita, Kansas
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2010

My husband and I stayed in the Spring Lake room and were surprised at how quiet it was during our stay! There were other guests around, but we never saw them and barely heard them. Pam was a delightful host and the breakfast was delicious every morning. As a busy working mom and wife, I enjoyed being pampered with a 3-course homemade breakfast! The double whirlpool tub was awesome! One of the best experiences at this B&B was the nice, subtle touches, such as having a towel warmer in the room and having coupons for local restaurants available in the library. The entire home is absolutely beautiful! We both thoroughly enjoyed our stay and want to go back as soon as we can!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SelB00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, MN
Level Contributor
41 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2010

We spent a night at the Rosewood Inn as a much-needed escape from our life in Minneapolis. Our stay was top-notch and we would definitely return again. The rooms are all nice; some have a little bit of an odd layout, but that's what you get in a historic building. We had reserved the Isabelle room, which was nice but nothing fancy. When we saw that the St. Croix room was open (there was a cancellation) we paid to upgrade. The tub and fireplace were worth it! Many of the rooms have some fixtures that are a little 80s-style, but it's all very well maintained.

The building has lots of sitting areas for guests to enjoy. In the back porch there's a beverage bar and freezer stocked with ice cream.

We ordered the "dinner in house" chili and it was delicious! We ate picnic-style in front of our fireplace, which was romantic and relaxing. The portions were huge (we took the leftovers home in a Tupperware container and it made at least two more meals). Breakfast was ample and delicious, as well.

When you arrive, be prepared for a 15-minute orientation and tour of the building. The owners are obviously very proud of their restoration (as they should be!) and brimming with historical knowledge. We found the tour very interesting as we like that kind of stuff, but it might be a little irritating if you're dying to just get into your room and stay there.

We love B and Bs, and this is one of our new favorites!

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MNtraveler62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hastings
7.0 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Cottage Grove
16.6 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Red Wing
19.6 mi away
St. James Hotel
St. James Hotel
#1 of 9 in Red Wing
4.0 of 5 bubbles 297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.0 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Red Wing
18.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Rivertown Inn & Suites
18.6 mi away
The Saint Paul Hotel
The Saint Paul Hotel
#2 of 16 in Saint Paul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 694 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Historic Inn on Ramsey Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Historic Inn on Ramsey Street

Property: The Historic Inn on Ramsey Street
Address: 620 Ramsey St, Hastings, MN 55033-2142 (Formerly Classic Rosewood Inn)
Region: United States > Minnesota > Hastings
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Hastings
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Classic Rosewood Hotel Hastings

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing