We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best lunch anywhere!”
Review of Zen House

Zen House
Ranked #5 of 21 Restaurants in Hermantown
Cuisines: Japanese, Asian, Sushi
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
MN
Level Contributor
97 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Best lunch anywhere!”
Reviewed 20 October 2012

Sadly, I'm not usually free for weekday lunches...otherwise I might just 'move in' at the Zen House.
Lunch specials are fantastic, beautifully presented, and dirt-cheap. My favorite of numerous choices: Salad, soba soup (with tofu, chicken or shrimp), gyoza pork dumplings, and vegetable tempura. Any ONE of these would be a $6 appetizer anywhere else; at the Zen House for lunch the entire meal is about seven dollars!
The food at this place is phenomenol, and dinners are also quite reasonable (compared to the other Japanese locations in town). The only thing lacking is the atmosphere; Zen House is located in a section of a gas station. While the location may not transport you beyond Hermantown, the food will take you to Japan, for sure. Excellent.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank finnbee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    8
    2
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Now a fan of sushi!”
Reviewed 25 August 2012 via mobile

I went here with my friend and she forced my to try sushi!! It was fabulous!!! Don't let the gas station fool you!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Hockeyjunkie3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saginaw, Minnesota, United States
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful!!!”
Reviewed 24 July 2012

Great food and patient service explaining the menu to a sushi novice like myself. Hooked after the first bite.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Duluth, Minnesota, United States
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“LOVE♥♥♥”
Reviewed 23 July 2012

I haven't been a big fan of sushi until I went here. I absolutely love the people who work here. Service is great. Food is excellent. I go there at least once a month(Duluth downtown location). I am totally in love.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Summer C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Duluth, Minnesota, United States
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“awesome”
Reviewed 23 July 2012

Zen House is always great. I have never had the chance to eat in. But if I had a bad experience I wouldnt want to go back. But i always have a hankering for that place, its great. If I had the money I would go every day.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Joy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Zen House also viewed

 

Been to Zen House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing