We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great B & B”

Mitchell-Tappan House
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Hibbing
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Mitchell-Tappan House
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Hibbing
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great B & B”
Reviewed 24 July 2014

My sister and I stayed at the Mitchell-Tappan Bed and Breakfast for three separate nights over a one week period. We bicycled the Mesabi Trail round trip so stayed there going down, coming back and another day when we were in the area. Each time Pam made us feel so welcome and told us about the history of the area, gave us a dvd to watch about the high school, which was very interesting. With each visit we had a different room (the Loft, the Northwoods?, and the Mitchell rooms) and enjoyed every room. There are several common areas to sit, such as the sun room, living room and the front porch. Breakfast was delicious! Also had dinner each time at Old Howard and enjoyed our dinners as well. Thanks, Pam!!!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    42
    0
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
19
4
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Elyria, Ohio
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2014

We loved the history of this old house and the way Pam and Mike have decorated and modernized it without changing the historic feel. We had a very spacious room with a private bath. Pam helped us find places to see and eat in the area. Hibbing is a beautiful city with lots of history and charm. The breakfast was one of the best we had on our month long trip. Wish we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carol B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eagan, Minnesota
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 March 2014

My wife and I spent a wonderful winter weekend up in Hibbing, MN due largely to the wonderful experience at the Mitchell-Tappan House. It's peaceful, cute, and the breakfasts were great.

It's within walking distance to the Hibbing Elks Lodge, where you will find some of the best food in town and a beautiful building and bar with charming bartendresses.

The B & B is also within walking distance of the Curling Club, where I was able to participate in some curling with fellow Elks from around the state. Good times, and very educational.

Oh, when I say "within walking distance", it helps if it's above -20 degrees F.

I highly recommend the Mitchell-Tappan House if you're staying in Hibbing.

Room Tip: All the rooms are good, I like the Oliver. I've been told the Garden room is good, and I liked...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterford, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
95 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2013

My husband and I travel to Hibbing every year to visit my husband's relatives. I've attempted in the past unsuccessfully 3 times to make a reservation here (always full, of course) and was finally successful on the 4th try. What a comfortable, homey delight in every way! I just happen to love antique glassware and blue and white rooms. We stayed in the Oliver room--a blue and white heaven with our own charming bath--just like the perfect "Grandma's house" I'd always dreamed about. Breakfast was beautiful and yummy with very pleasant company and conversation. Pam is, well, simply lovely and so eager to please. We needed to leave very early on our last morning, so Pam thoughtfully put a perfect breakfast treat in our little fridge the night before so that we didn't leave for our 10 hour trip home hungry. What more could we ask for?

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hillary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stevens Point, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
145 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

We recently stay two nights at the Mitchel-Tappan House in Hibbing. It was hot and humid out side. The second floor room was very comfortable. A quiet, small AC unit kept the room cool. While the wifi was out during our stay I saw the repairman returning as we drove out of sight with what had been missing to make it function.

Breakfast was a nice mix of fruit and something else, each day, to carry you through to a late lunch. And very tasty.

The location could not be nicer. "Downtown" was two blocks away, the court house and library even closer. Hibbing High was short stroll as was Dylan's childhood home.

Room Tip: All rooms looked good to me.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wmcca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
79 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2013

Because I stay in hotels approximately 140 night a year, I have become very set in my ways and very choosy where I lay my head down each night. There were not any of the hotels of the national chain I usually stay at, so I searched for hotels in Hibbing. This Bed and Breakfast came up and I called immediately and spoke with Pam, the owner. She was as pleasant as anyone I have ever spoken with and it truly is the area (Iron Range) where the slogan, "Minnesota Nice" stems from. I have no doubt. I stayed in the carriage house in the back yard and it was beyond words. Pristine, elegant, simple, cozy, quaint, and VERY quiet. I did not want to leave. I have already told a friend and he will be staying there later this month. I would love to bring my wife back for a lovely weekend stay.

Room Tip: I can only speak for the carriage house in the back. It is separate from the main house and you hav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jbwaaadeal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Menlo Park, California, United States
Level Contributor
49 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2013

Make your reservation early they fill up. Very charming and numerous rooms to choose from. Breakfast was made to order. So much nicer than the local hotel. Quiet neighborhood. Plenty of parking. No smells every room has been renovated with tasteful decoration.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MomLaxRef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hibbing
2.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Hibbing
Hampton Inn Hibbing
#1 of 4 in Hibbing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
17.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Suites Mountain Iron
18.7 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Virginia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn Hibbing
19.8 mi away
Lakeshore Motor Inn
Lakeshore Motor Inn
#1 of 4 in Virginia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
19.6 mi away
Super 8 Eveleth
Super 8 Eveleth
#1 of 2 in Eveleth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mitchell-Tappan House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mitchell-Tappan House

Property: Mitchell-Tappan House
Address: 2125 4th Ave E, Hibbing, MN 55746-1845
Region: United States > Minnesota > Hibbing
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Hibbing
Number of rooms: 5

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing