We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Amazing Break - Nesting Box”
other traveller has booked this property

Review of Mill Stone

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
51 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Chapel St. Leonards, Lincolnshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 51 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
GEF1986
UK
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Amazing Break - Nesting Box”
Reviewed 4 January 2017 for a stay in October 2016

We've stayed with Sally and Neil at Mill Farm on a number of occasions. All of the accommodation is of a very high standard, the welcome is very warm and friendly...Sally and Neil are always contactable if you need them whilst you are there. Lovely and peaceful surroundings, suitable for families and couples for a short or long break!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stuart C
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Sunrise Barn is an excellent property in a lovely area”
Reviewed 31 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

My family (wife, 3 boys and our dog) and I have just returned from a week staying in this lovely property. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in sunrise barn. Our host Sally was very welcoming and friendly. She met us on arrival and left us with some very nice homemade cookies! The interior of the barn is of a high standard and the hot tub outside an excellent addition. We managed to find something to do every day in the local area and the weather was very kind to us. We visited many of the excellent beaches near by and spent time enjoying the attractions on offer. Our boys also spent an afternoon at Xsite Skatepark in Skegness which they thought was great! Overall, I would highly recommend this holiday cottage.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The hot tub
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul B
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A beautiful, relaxing, well run holiday accommodation”
Reviewed 28 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We stayed at Roosters at the adjacent property in August, great week for all our family so much better than a caravan. well maintained property. Hot tub was amazing. Great location regards beach, general stores, pubs, restaurants etc. And to explore all Lincolnshire had to offer. Days were very peaceful. It was nice to stay on a working farm, friendly dogs, chickens, and cows. Stayed in a number of holiday cottages but this one was by FAR the best. Would definitely stay in the property again and can't wait to come back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: What was best was quiet, well based rural location, with friendly owners
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastwood2...
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed 2 May 2016 for a stay in April 2016

Fantastic cottage, immaculately clean, spacious, peaceful cottage. Owners friendly but not intrusive - this was our second visit (first one in February this year) and it will not be our last - cannot wait to visit again

Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
103jok197...
Hull
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Beautiful!”
Reviewed 19 February 2016 for a stay in February 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at Sunrise Barn and it was perfect for a winter break. The cottage was beautiful, well equipped(it even had a slow cooker!) and the enclosed garden with hot tub was amazing! The under floor heating kept the cottage cosy.

The owner kindly bakes a cake for her guests and she sells her beautiful, fresh chicken eggs (they are the best eggs I've ever had!)

I would highly recommend a visit and hope to return with my family.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
karl l
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Abseloutley amazing will be returning many timed”
Reviewed 17 February 2016 for a stay in February 2016

will definately reccommend to all friend's family and work colleagues as the place to stay. was excellent from start to finish and i could have not wished for more for our friends and also valentines weekend. the cake on arrival was scrumptious and sally was brilliant throughout. ITs a lovely place to stay just enough away from chapel to enjoy a nice walk into town for a beer or three lol. I cant say anything other than this honestly was a brilliant stay and the hot tub topped it off this was brill.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: everything
Liked least: nothing to dislike
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SaffiShef...
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“East Coast Excellence”
Reviewed 15 December 2015 for a stay in December 2015

Close to Chapel St Leonard's lovely beach are Mill Farm Cottages. Two are on one level with wheelchair access and wide doors and one is a two-storey building. The setting of these cottages is lovely and peaceful and a must to try are the farm's own eggs which are yummy. It was lovely to gaze out of the window whilst having breakfast and watch the resident horses and sheep.
We stayed in Millstone Cottage and having read the reviews on the booking agent's site which were excellent, we were still bowled over with this property. Everything is of high quality, including all the furnishings, bedding and pillows and extremely comfortable beds. We were greeted by Sally (Oh and Jenson the black labrador) who are both lovely and friendly. Sally offered lots of information about the surrounding area as well as providing us with a very scrummy Victoria sandwich cake. Sally is easily accessible by text if you have any problems etc.
The bathroom and en-suite were of good quality and offered plenty of hot water. Heating of the property is via under-floor heating and we were lovely and warm as the weekend we were there was fairly horrible and cold.
The cottage is very well equipped with everything you would need if you wished to self-cater. There are some restaurants nearby at Chapel for those that wish to eat out which offer good choices. Do visit the beach there and also the little beach bar - it really doesn't look that much from the outside but is very quaint inside and you are met with a friendly welcome and real ales - bonus!
Last but not least is the luxury of having a hot tub - all the properties have them. Give it a go even if the weather is horrible - we did and loved it! It was very relaxing. The other bonus is that these properties are dog friendly. You don't always get the quality with 'dog friendly' properties as we have found out in the past but Sally's properties are the exception. Give them a try!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Modern, extremely comfortable and warm
Liked least: absolutely nothing to dislike
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing