We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely little relaxing stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Riverside Lodge B & B
Ranked #1 of 1 Riverstown B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 April 2014

We have just returned from two nights in this lovely little bed and breakfast. It is many years since I have stayed in a B and B, usually stay in a large impersonal hotel.

Very pleasant welcome and not too intrusive, perfect. The room was immaculately clean and had everything and more in it, little touches like crisps and water in the room along with the usual tea and coffee. Even a selection of DVD's in one of the drawers!

Breakfast was beautifully cooked, we didn't go with the full Irish but what we had was lovely and accompanied by warm toast and home make marmalade.

The lovely addition of a lift into town and back was very pleasing. All in all would definitely return only next time would stay in the apartment(should keep that one quiet, don't want everyone to know about it!)

Room Tip: Didn't see the rooms in the house but can only imagine they would be as spotless so any room but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (74)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

68 - 74 of 74 reviews

Reviewed 4 March 2014

My wife and I stayed here for 2 nights in February and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Elaine is a fantastic and extremely helpful host. She was on hand when we forgot out phone charger, made sure we had everything we needed and offered us a lift into Carlingford in the evening which is above and beyond normal service.

The room was extremely well kept, clean and warm. One advantage to being out of town is that it is very quiet and relaxing. There is also a lovely restaurant just up the road which is very convenient.

Overall a great weekend, briliant hosts and I would certainly recomment the Riverside Lodge to anyone visiting the area.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nfog79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2014

Didn't book in advance so was pleased to find they could accommodate me when I stopped by. The room was lovely, big four poster bed all to myself. Lots of thoughtful little extras like crisps, chocolates, cappuccino, plenty of tea and coffee and a decent hair dryer, TV and DVD. The ensuite was small but perfectly formed and the power shower was fab. Breakfast set me up for the day, and even though I decided to have a half breakfast I couldn't manage to eat anything else till late afternoon. Elaine, the proprietor, was really nice and helpful, a great hostess. Riverside Lodge is a little off the beaten track but it is set in beautiful surroundings and it's a wonderful place to stay. Highly recommended ; )

Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
Thank Muriel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014

Siuated just 4 miles from gorgeous Carlingford, this pleasant and comfy B&B is run by Elaine and Sean. We felt at home from the first moment on. The room was beautifully decorated, very clean and included all amenities, en suite with lovely hot shower.
Breakfast was a dream, beautifully arranged and very delicious.
The owners offer free transport and pick-up into Carlingford, so you can go out, enjoy the night and get home safely.
We were thrilled by the pleasant environment, the hospitality and the friendliness of this place and surely be back soon.

Room Tip: 4 rooms, all the same superb standard
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kertschy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2014

We celebrated a birthday at Riverside Lodge and enjoyed every minute. This place is well ran, super friendly owners, clean, comfortable and breakfast is excellent. Highly recommended and a wonderful part of Ireland that is not frequently explored.

Room Tip: The self catering apartments are excellent value for money, at the top floor, quiet and spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Avichai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2015
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2015
Thank FraukeAying
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014
Google Translation

Room Tip: scegliere quella con il letto a baldacchino
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DunnanGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Riverside Lodge B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverside Lodge B & B

Address: Castletowncooley | Carlingford, Riverstown, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Louth > Riverstown
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Riverstown
Price Range: £78 - £105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riverside Lodge invites you to our Bed and Breakfast just 7km from Carlingford in the North East of Ireland. We are only 10 minutes from Dundalk Town Centre and 15 minutes from Newry City & Mourne. On your stay why not visit Aura or Felda swimming pools & gyms in Dundalk Town area. As you will see Riverside Lodge B&B is an ideal base for touring, golfing, fishing, cycling and walking.Riverside Lodge B&B is located in the stunning beauty of the Cooley Peninsula near the historic medieval village of Carlingford famous for its Leprechaun hunts, why not travel into Dundalk Town with the fantastic Marshes Shopping Centre or visit the city of Newry with the Buttercrane and The Quays Shopping Centres for great shopping with both towns boasting some of the top high street designer names, we are also close to the Ravensdale Equestrian Centre. Our Riverside Lodge B&B is a family-run business where personal attention is guaranteed. All rooms are en-suite with four post king size beds, tea & coffee making facilities, TV and free Wi-Fi internet. The house itself is only a very short distance from the Tain Trail, Gyles Quay beach, the famous Cooley Distillery producers of the finest whiskey in the world, The Greenore Golf Course, Shelling Hill top blue flag beach, fishing for sea bass or mackeral at Greenore Port in the stunning Carlingford Lough and if you like a little flutter enjoy horse racing and greyhounds at Dundalk Stadium the only all-weather floodlit track in Ireland. So as you can see from our short description there is so much to do in this wonderful area of Ireland.Riverside lodge B&B is unsuitable for hen or stag parties. We are more than happy to arrange and run a courtesy transport service into Carlingford for all our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Riverside Lodge B & B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing