We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Home from home” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bury House B&B

Bury House B&B
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Little Downham
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Bury House B&B
Loopycat
Level Contributor
61 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Home from home”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014 via mobile

I was lucky enough to stay at Emma's B&B when visiting the area for my friends wedding. The house is absolutely stunning, Emma was the perfect host. we were made to feel welcome and at home upon arrival. The double room was gorgeous with a very comfortable bed, plenty of wardrobe space, and a lovely lobby area for putting on your make-up or for just sitting at the window seat watching the chickens below whilst drinking your complementary tea or coffee.
The en-suite was perfect with a lovely big shower and plenty of complementary toiletries to use which is such a lovely idea. I loved the extra touches of magazines and toiletries in the room. The breakfast menu was great, plentiful and delicious. A very friendly, extremely comfortable family run B&B with a gorgeous friendly dog to greet you.
I would highly recommend Bury house and would most certainly return if I visited the area again.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Loopycat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    115
    6
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
14
76
12
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

i stayed at Bury House July 14 for a friends wedding. I would recommend staying here to anyone. It was a lovely run B and B. The rooms were perfect, clean and spacious. Emma, the owner could not do enough to make us feel welcome and attemd to our needs. The breakfst was lovely with different options. Would definately stay there again

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank sarah t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

Excellent for a B & B!

I stayed here on the eve of a wedding, with two of my girlfriends - it was perfect, and actually exceeded our expectations!

The lady of the house was really friendly, told us some about the history of the house, and cooked us a fab breakfast in the morning which we ate privately as we were the only guests in the house.

The decor is lovely, really contemporary and fresh, the beds were comfortable and the ambience was welcoming, friendly and just perfect. We had three in a room and didn't feel squashed - our room was spacious and light.

I would defo recommend this as a top B & B. There were small touches too that didn't go unnoticed - nice magazines in the room, a range of beauty products in the bathroom.

The gorgeous wooden ceiling beams were pretty low in a couple of parts of the room. We were fine as we're all under 5,4, but you may struggle in the bathroom if you are a little taller. We were warned on booking, but for us it was fine anyway!

Gorgeous room, gorgeous B & B, gorgeous friendly doggy (who is kept out the way unless you are clearly dog lovers which we are) and a really lovely host.

Thanks for a brief but lovely stay!

Alex, Kara and Eleanor :) :) :)

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alexandra O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Romford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

I dont normally both to write these types of reviews but as I received such a warm welcome and was well looked after I thought it was the least I could do.
The room I stayed in was wonderful with lots of character which makes a change from all these modern rooms. lovely breakfast and a delightful village with a local pub just down the road.
Next time I have to visit Ely again for work I shall try to stay here.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thejester2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
192 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014

We stayed at Bury House in Little Downham for 2 nights, and it was a wonderful experience. Emma was fantastic. The house is beautiful, our room was delightful. Everything you could possibly want was provided in the room. Little Downham is a very small village but quite cute with a couple good restaurants. The location is very close to Ely which is such a nice town. We enjoyed our stay immensely.

Room Tip: Emma had told us in advance that the twin room (which we wanted) had low beams. That was fine with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SharonSCalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ely
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014

Fantastic..nothing to much trouble for Emma and Rob..Excellent rooms
Great food..Very comfy and welcoming family home.Great location for exploring neighbouring towns and villages...will definentley return

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank paula s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014

3 of us recently stayed at Bury House for a long weekend. The location was great for exploring North Norfolk - there's so much to see and Emma provided plenty of good advice about places to visit and eat.
The hearty breakfast really set us up for the day to come, and we would return late afternoon to relax in our own sitting room before heading out for a good quality dinner (there's plenty of choice within a 3 mile radius).
The spotless rooms were a very good size and the beds really comfortable - Emma has thought of just about everything to make your stay enjoyable, relaxed and stress-free.
We are happy to recommend a stay at Bury House!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NinandTrev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Little Downham
2.5 mi away
Lamb Hotel
Lamb Hotel
#4 of 4 in Ely
3.5 of 5 bubbles 493 reviews
2.5 mi away
Poets House
Poets House
#1 of 4 in Ely
4.5 of 5 bubbles 576 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Old School B&B
The Old School B&B
#1 of 1 in Coveney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Grove Barn Cambridgeshire
4.3 mi away
Woodlands B&B
Woodlands B&B
#1 of 2 in Witchford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
2.9 mi away
Riverside Inn
Riverside Inn
#11 of 34 in Ely
4.5 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bury House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bury House B&B

Property: Bury House B&B
Address: 11 Main Street | Little Downham ELY, Little Downham, Ely CB6 2ST, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Ely > Little Downham
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Little Downham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Awarded a 4 star Visit England gold accolade award, Bury House offers excellent accommodation for both business and leisure guests. The property is a beautifully presented Grade 2 listed 18th-century farmhouse which has been tastefully refurbished offering comfortable and modern en-suite accommodation. We serve you with a choice of cooked breakfast with daily specials, eggs from our own hens, yoghurts and fruit and use local produce where possible. Vegetarian options, sandwiches and packed lunches are also available on request. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing