We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Little Downham Anchor
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Little Downham
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 June 2014

We stayed here for one night and couldn't have been happier. The whole place is newly refurbished - our room had everything we needed and was very comfortable. Breakfast was delicious, served without delay (though the waitress seemed rushed off her feet!) and there was a wide choice of cooked food, cereal, toast, yogurt etc.

Though we are not disabled, the effort the owners have gone to for wheelchair-bound and people with other disabilities is obvious. There is a lift installed, step-free access and disabled parking spaces which will be greatly appreciated by disabled customers.

Excellent attention to detail and we'd have no hesitation in staying again when we are in the area.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ainsworth179
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LDA261, Manager at Little Downham Anchor, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2014

Thank you for your ‘lovely stay’ review of the Anchor. Your review and kind words are much appreciated and most certainly will be shared with all concerned.

I am delighted to see that you managed to enjoy many of the aspects we have, and also noted
our disabled facilities its very helpful for less mobile customers to read that they will be catered for.

Thank you again for taking the time to review us and for your high praise. We do hope that find that reason to come back and stay with us at the Anchor Hotel in the future.

Yours

The Little Downham Anchor Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (223)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

144 - 150 of 223 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
11
Reviewed 9 June 2014

six of our family stayed for 1 night. we all found the rooms clean, modern and comfortable. the staff were all friendly, welcoming and helpful, and the breakfast, where we were joined by seven local family members, was excellent.

1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
LDA261, Manager at Little Downham Anchor, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2014

Thanks for reviewing your family stay with us and we are very pleased to hear you had an enjoyable stay.
Hopefully see you all again in the future.

Yours

The Little Downham Anchor Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 7 June 2014

An old pub with a lovely atmosphere and all the up-to-date decor and facilities of a modern build.
The staff were very good and the proprietor very hospitable. We ate in the restaurant and the food was excellent as was the service. The bedroom and ensuite were spotless and decor modern which we prefer. Unfortunately we could only stay one night but would certainly re-visit. Little Downham is a short distance from Ely where all the parking is free!!! We were able to park outside the Catheral for up to 3 hours at no cost. The same applied near the river. A great spot.

Room Tip: We stayed in room one and it was excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RubyEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LDA261, Manager at Little Downham Anchor, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2014

Thank you for your ‘Amazing’ review of The Anchor Hotel. Your review and kind words are much appreciated and most certainly will be shared with all concerned.

Thank you again for taking the time to review us and for your high praise. We do hope that find that reason to come back and stay with us in the future.

Yours

LDA Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

We stayed for 2 nights in April. On the day of arrival, we called ahead to book a table for dinner and were told that we would have to eat in the bar as there was a wedding in the dining room. When we arrived, we found our room to overlook the glassed roof dining area where the wedding was being held. The music was very loud, but when we asked for a different room, all rooms were booked. It would be nice to have been told that there was a wedding when we booked the room, especially as it was suggested we upgrade as the standard room had no window.
The room was small but ok. There were only 2 pillows, which were too small for the bed, and there was no chair at the desk until the next day, so it had obviously been borrowed for the wedding. The only other comment was that there was no alarm clock in the room.
The second night was a Sunday. We went down to the pub for dinner, only to find out that they stopped serving at 4pm. Nobody had thought to tell us. Fortunately, there is an excellent Thai restaurant within walking distance.
When we checked out, we did mention our dissatisfaction regarding not being told about the wedding, as we would have gone somewhere quieter, but all we were offered was an apology.
On a positive note, service and the food were excellent.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ann B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LDA261, Manager at Little Downham Anchor, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2014

Thank you for reviewing your stay with us, we are disappointed to hear you had not been informed of the wedding party, we endeavour to inform all our guests at time of booking so we can offer rooms away from the function area, we apologise if we fell short in this instance.

Hopefully we will have the opportunity to show how we shine In the future.

Yours

The Little Downham Anchor Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

I've been to the Anchor a number of times now and have always enjoyed the food, but I have to say for a mid week treat the steak night is really worth a try. I don't often eat steak and would generally go for fish or chicken, but as we'd pitched up on steak night...obviously decided to change my habits and give it a go. I wasn't disappointed as it was cooked beautifully and a very good price at £8.95...not much room for pud, but had one anyway :-)....jam roly poly a real hit with my husband and the creme brulee (which is my all time favourite) was delicious. The restaurant is sparking clean and the staff are very accommodating so all in all a great place to eat!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JMW3005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LDA261, Manager at Little Downham Anchor, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2014

Thanks for taking the time to review our restaurant on Steak night.
It's great to hear you found it filling and enjoyable, Jam Roly Poly seems
to be one of those old favourites that will never go out of fashion we
will endeavour to keep it on the menu for your future visits.

Yours

Little Downham Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

This place is nicely done out, modern and so clean you could eat your dinner off it...... We ate in the restaurant and, although the staff seemed one or two people short, the service was first rate and the food very good. My monster sized steak was really nice. Breakfast the next morning which was included in the price was also very good and properly cooked to order with an excellent array of choice.

The rooms are fairly small but perfectly fine, clean and modern. Ours had no bath but the shower was as good it gets, with limitless hot water and a powerful flow. I found the bed a bit soft my my liking but my wife slept well. My only criticism is minor: the wife doesn't work once away from the main hotel area.

For 2 people @£79 for a room including breakfast is a good price for what you get.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank peter126443
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LDA261, Manager at Little Downham Anchor, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2014

Thanks for taking time to review our Hotel we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to seeing you in the future.

Yours

The LDA Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

We visited here twice in Feb/March. First was as part of a retreat we were supporting. Our room (#1) was bright and well decorated. We had dinner here both Friday and Saturday. The food was so good we brought some friends here for dinner two weeks later. The setting is fancy. Nice large conservatory with white tablecloths, dim blue lights, and decorations create a romantic and enjoyable ambiance. They have these incredible chocolate bon-bons (?) that they gave us after our meals. A great way to finish off an incredible meal. Great value and portion size was ample. The staff were very good in supporting the conference and any special requirements we had. It was a nice setting for an intimate retreat (17 people). It is close enough to walk into Ely (2 miles) or a short drive. We came to market day on Saturday and found some great bread, cheese, and olives for a picnic lunch. Breakfast was very good as well. Not a buffet and fresh, local meat, eggs, etc. Homemade croissants were tasty! We plan to bring other friends here and would support another retreat here if we have the opportunity.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank J F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LDA261, Manager at Little Downham Anchor, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent visit with us. It is great to read such positive feedback and in particular that you found the food to be memorable. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Yours

The Little Downham Anchor Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Little Downham
2.5 mi away
Lamb Hotel
Lamb Hotel
#5 of 5 in Ely
540 reviews
2.4 mi away
Poets House
Poets House
#1 of 5 in Ely
624 reviews
2.8 mi away
Travelodge Ely
Travelodge Ely
#4 of 5 in Ely
384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Hotel Barge Waternimf
2.9 mi away
Riverside Inn
Riverside Inn
#10 of 35 in Ely
191 reviews
6.5 mi away
Grove Barn Cambridgeshire
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Little Downham Anchor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Little Downham Anchor

Address: Main Street, Little Downham, Ely CB6 2ST, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Ely > Little Downham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Little Downham
Price Range: £82 - £132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Little Downham Anchor is located in the heart of the Fens with beautiful countryside all around. Welney Wildfowl Centre is close by, many great walks close by for photographers, artists and nature lovers alike to take in the diverse scenes and wildlife. The City of Ely is a mile or so down the road with its beautiful Cathedral with its Octagon tower within walking distance. Ely also has great rail links to the whole of England. Take time out to visit our lovely village with its historical surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Little Downham Anchor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing