We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
£130
Priceline
Agoda.com
£130
Multiple ways to pay
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (323)
Filter reviews
323 results
Traveller rating
217
69
22
8
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
217
69
22
8
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sunday lunch cooked to perfection quiet village up to date lovely pub wedding reception room was spotless full english following morning tea and coffee accommodation starters cathedral kettle
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 323 reviews
Reviewed 12 January 2024

Well, what can I say, I went to the anchor for Christmas Day lunch. I can honestly say it was one of the best Christmas lunches I ever have had. You know it’s good when your 10 year old eats all of his vegetables. The atmosphere was like sitting at home with your family. Definitely booking for next year. Thank you, The anchor. Brilliant.

Date of stay: December 2023
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Jonathan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 10 January 2024

Absolutely fantastic experience at the anchor on Christmas Day. Would highly recommend. Great service, great staff, food was lovely and plentiful. Well recommended. Brilliant Christmas Day, very impressed. Will book again this year.

Date of stay: December 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Barry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 4 January 2024

Went to the Anchor for a Christmas party night. The welcome and atmosphere was very warm. Christmas Decorations made it very festive. The food was excellent, we are big eaters and could not finish our plates. Staff attentive and polite, one staff member heard saying "we need to make your evening extra special". Great Live band. All in all a lovely Christmas Appetiser.

Date of stay: December 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Yvonne T
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 2 January 2024

We had our daughters 21st birthday party on 27th December and we couldn't fault any of it. John the Gen Manager was extremely accommodating as we're all the staff who worked on the night - very attentive and nothing was ever any trouble. The food was of a very high standard too. All our guests were very complimentary and all said they would recommend the venue to others too. My daughter had a wonderful party, which was what it was all about. Totally recommend to anyone wishing to hold a function.

Date of stay: December 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Kate S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 18 July 2023

Excellent staff, so welcoming and helpful. A guy (sorry I didn't get any names) arranged early check-in for me on Friday, another guy running the bar on Friday evening made sure I got dinner (very good fish and chips), and the lady looking after breakfast on Saturday morning was super helpful. Room was fine, as expected really, but the staff went above and beyond to be helpful and friendly. Thank you.

Date of stay: July 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank kp5555
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews