We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A home from home !”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Maypole Farm B&B

Maypole Farm B&B
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Maypole Farm B&B
Ranked #2 of 2 Cawood B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A home from home !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2012 via mobile

I stayed here for a few months whilst working away from home, the B&B is ideally situated for easy travel to Leeds/Selby/York , spoiled for choice for places to eat with lots of good pubs nearby, Jeff & Sue could not be more friendly and helpful if they tried, they were constantly adding little touches to make our stay more enjoyable,
Wifi is very fast,
Breakfast in the morning is absolutely fantastic, you will struggle to find better in the Selby area,

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caledoniankid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    93
    6
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
20
44
7
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2012

My daughter and I stayed at Maypole farm ahead of the York University Open day on 29th Sept 2012. We came across Maypole Farm B&B by accident and very fortunately they had two rooms free due to a late cancelation--what luck!
The location is situated only 20 minutes or so from York in a lovely village and close to Selby. The farm house is ideally suited to visitors with a private entrance,eating area,staircase, and even a garden which is beautifully maintained by Jeff.
The rooms were lovely and well furnished. Sue clearly has an eye for detail from the shampoo and condition to the chocolate left on my pillow.There is in room TV and facilities for DVD with a library of videos should you need that also.
The breakfast was a feast indeed. Four choices of juice,cereal,fruit,yogurt, and an extensive English cooked breakfast including the special Muchata--I will leave that for you to sample! The breakfast was worthy of a top London hotel--beautifully cooked and presented.
We were also presented with some bottled water and scones for our departure--is there anything Sue had not thought of?
I cannot praise this B&B more highly and by far and away the best I have ever stayed with. I would detour to stay here again. Thank you Sue and Jeff for your hospitality and friendliness that was much appreciated and made our stay in York the more enjoyable.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paul w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2012

we found maypole farm on tripadvisor when looking for a place to stay for a weekend while visiting york. it was everything we wanted and more. fantastic breakfast, very clean and comfy room. excellent hosts who made us feel part of the family - we were even invited to join in a family celebration while there. will definitely stay again, the sooner the better
thanks rich and jo

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank richandjoNottingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2012

I stumbled across this B&B whilst searching for a good resting place which I knew would be needed after the monster steak we were due to embark on at the Rythre Arms. Jeff and Sue welcomed us in to their home and we had a stunning room overlooking the garden. Jeff very kindly offered us a lift to and from the pub. Breakfast was delicious. Almost disappointed we had to move on in to the centre of York after just one night.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JennaKate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2012

Everything we said before still applies. We were made very welcome again by Jeff and Sue and had an excellent room with everything we needed. The breakfast again was delicious with the best quality local ingredients. We cannot fault it. Here's to the next time.

Room Tip: All rooms are very good
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alteregoLeicester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaypoleFarmBB, Owner at Maypole Farm B&B, responded to this review, 15 August 2012
Lovely to see you again, glad you enjoyed your stay. Regards Jeff & Sue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Picton
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2012

We stayed 4 nights and it is a really lovely B&B. Lots of character, a great room, and Jeff and Sue were wonderful hosts. Breakfast was delicious with a variety of options and the best bacon that we have ever had. We are Australian and really enjoyed Cawood and the short walk to three pubs which served good meals, plus the proximity to York and surrounds and the Great Yorkshire Show.

Room Tip: I don't know the name of our room but it was at the back and had lots of character.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaypoleFarmBB, Manager at Maypole Farm B&B, responded to this review, 15 August 2012
We enjoyed your company and hope you enjoyed your visit to North Yorkshire. Regards Jeff & Sue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2012

I stayed with my boyfriend for two nights in July. it was a lovely stay, Jeff and Sue were fantastic hosts, looked after us very well. Breakfast was amazing everything you would need for a breakfast and more! I would highly recommend this B&B to anyone, and will be returning next time i'm in Yorkshire. great location if you want to visit the fantastic city of York.

Room Tip: Africa room was great, the bed really comfy! lovely spacious shower room. some noise in the morning...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaypoleFarmBB, Owner at Maypole Farm B&B, responded to this review, 15 August 2012
We are glad you enjoyed your stay, and hope to see you on a return vsit to this area. Regards Jeff & Sue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cawood
4.7 mi away
Parsonage Hotel & Spa
Parsonage Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Escrick
4.0 of 5 bubbles 929 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cawood Guest House
Cawood Guest House
#1 of 2 in Cawood
5.0 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
2.6 mi away
Dairymans Cottage B&B
Dairymans Cottage B&B
#1 of 5 in Riccall
5.0 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Hazeldene Guest House
4.1 mi away
Station Farm Guest House
Station Farm Guest House
#1 of 1 in Church Fenton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
2.4 mi away
Harmony House
Harmony House
#1 of 1 in Stillingfleet
5.0 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maypole Farm B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maypole Farm B&B

Property: Maypole Farm B&B
Address: 14 Wistowgate | Selby, Cawood YO8 3SH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Selby District > Cawood
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Cawood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Maypole Farm B&B 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Maypole Farm offers basic accommodation on a room only basis. All rooms have en-suites with digital tv's, free wi-fi, tea/coffee making facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd so you can book your Maypole Farm B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing