We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not an Hotel, More a High Priced B&B” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Ingham Swan

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Ingham Swan
Ranked #1 of 3 Ingham B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Not an Hotel, More a High Priced B&B”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

Arrived for a three day stay at 17:30 for a 18:00 check in, Hotel was all locked up. Staff arrived 17:45 to open up? first impression of room 2 was very positive. Then on a practical note, no storage space, being a mid sixties couple we thought our days of living out of a suitcase on the floor was over. Sanitary bin was not emptied from the previous occupant, makes you wonder what else is not checked? The room is well equipped with coffee machine and kettle, the problem is the cups do not fit the machine and the large kettle does not fit under the tap. Still we manged to have a drink before freshening up before dinner. The there is a nice toilet shower room on-suite, the bizarre thing is the extractor fan switch is at ceiling level outside the bathroom, which I did not find before filling the room full of steam ( looks like an after thought and this was the simplest place to put the switch without damaging the plaster) if you are a smaller person you would not reach the switch. The room is like a TV show makeover room looks fantastic, but not practical and room 2 is not disable friendly.
Throughout our stay we never had the same level of room cleaning, servicing, toilet cleaner left in the bowl, no body wash or shampoo refill and having to ask at the bar for toilet paper is not what we expected to have to do?
The restaurant is of a very good standard and the staff are excellent, It appears to us that this is a very well run restaurant with a bolt on high cost B&B.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brownie-Stalham, Public Relations Manager at The Ingham Swan, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to review us on Tripadvisor. We are disappointed you did not enjoy your stay with us. We would like to point out that we are a proudly a Restaurant with Rooms and do not advertise being a 'hotel' this is why we do not offer all day check-in midweek as we are closed between the hours of 3 and 6. We personally contact each guest to inform them that we can welcome them before 3pm or after 6pm and what time to anticipate their arrival so consequently if you arrive at 5.30 we are not open. We would also like to point out that we do not state nor sell our rooms as being disabled friendly.
We apologise profusely for the bin not being emptied, which of course is unacceptable, your bathroom had been serviced but unfortunately the member of the cleaning team is new and the bin evidently missed her attention. As soon as you mentioned this to us, your bathroom was completely re-cleaned with new towels and toiletries provided to replace those you had just used. We apologised sincerely at the time and you lead us to believe you were satisfied with our actions and everything else was to your liking.
We are pleased you liked the room aesthetics and enjoyed your dining experience in our restaurant and hope that we can welcome you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    85
    23
    8
    6
    6
See reviews for
13
85
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
49 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014 via mobile

We've just had a tremendous evening meal with friends, the courses were well prepared and presented and the staff were very attentive and helpful. I would recommend a meal here and I'm sure most people would be very well pleased.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Kevin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brownie-Stalham, Public Relations Manager at The Ingham Swan, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Thank you so very much for your kind comments which will be shared with the team. We are delighted you and your friends enjoyed your recent dining experience with us at The Ingham Swan and hope to welcome you all back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sproughton, null, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014

Stayed one night in a beautiful room - had dinner in the evening which was exceptional very relaxed atmosphere and staff very professional and helpful - well worth the price as very high standard. Would definitely recommend and return.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sioux67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brownie-Stalham, Public Relations Manager at The Ingham Swan, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
We very much appreciate you taking the time to leave a review and are delighted you enjoyed your recent stay with us in our newly renovated bedrooms. Thank you for your kind comments which will be shared with the entire team. We hope that we can welcome you to stay with us again at The Ingham Swan in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southern England
Level Contributor
43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

Excellent food in a lovely old pub with very pleasant staff. Accommodation in the adjoining building had obviously been newly renovated at great expense, but there was no storage space in any of the rooms-no drawers, no wardrobe, merely a row of six hooks on the wall holding three coat hangers. Also the bed in the cheapest room was positioned such that one person must climb over the other to get in and out of it. Wifi connection was impossible at times.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vairey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brownie-Stalham, Public Relations Manager at The Ingham Swan, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Thank you very much for the feedback in your Tripadvisor review which we use constructively to constantly improve our business. We apologise for the lack of storage space, the rooms were designed with previous customer feedback in mind. However, regarding the positioning of the bed in our Loft room, we clearly show this in the pictures of the room on our website and the room is sold as a Single Loft room that can sleep two guests on our website. We can only apologise if you were unaware of this at the time of reservation and hope to welcome you again to stay in one of our larger rooms in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sudbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

Booked an overnigt stay for my boyfriends birthday treat. Staff were extremely helpful and accomodating both prior to and on arrival. Warm welcome received. Beautiful , light, airy room across the courtyard, top quality with a very comfortable ambience. A great base to explore the local area. I had booked the 7 course taser menu as a treat and it did not dissapoint. Fantastic flavours and a joy to try..
I cannot recommend highly enough and we will definately be going back.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JulesK47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brownie-Stalham, Public Relations Manager at The Ingham Swan, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Thank you so much for the wonderful comments in Tripadvisor review. We are so pleased you both enjoyed your recent stay for your special occasion in our newly renovated bedrooms. We are delighted you also enjoyed our seven course Taster Menu which we hope adds to a lovely dining experience in our restaurant. We hope to we able to welcome you back to The Ingham Swan again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

We stayed two nights, with old friends, at the Swan. We arrived earlier than expected and were shown to our room by a charming chef, who broke off from his prepping to greet us.

The room was well appointed and very comfortable,,as was that of our friends. We ate dinner in the restaurant on both evenings and the food was delicious, well presented and served. We particularly recommend the fish.
As we walked back to our room we passed the open door of the kitchen, from where emanated sounds of chat and laughter. Indeed a happy kitchen.
In conclusion we thoroughly recommend the Swan and hope to return soon.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dougclunie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brownie-Stalham, Public Relations Manager at The Ingham Swan, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Thank you kindly for your lovely review. We are so delighted you and your friends enjoyed your recent stay with us and also your dining experience in our restaurant. We very much hope to be able to welcome you back to stay in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2014

Excellent food with lots of help in preparing for our college reunion of 25 people. Good friendly service and food came out fast and with friendly service. The occasion was memorable thanks to well served meal and brilliant service.

Room Tip: A great place to have high quality food.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 45colin_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brownie-Stalham, Public Relations Manager at The Ingham Swan, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Thank you very much for the kind comments in your review. We are so delighted you and your party enjoyed your special evening with us and hope that we can welcome you all again to The Ingham Swan in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ingham
2.7 mi away
Wayford Bridge Inn
Wayford Bridge Inn
#1 of 2 in Stalham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 464 reviews
8.5 mi away
The Norfolk Mead Hotel
The Norfolk Mead Hotel
#1 of 1 in Coltishall
5.0 of 5 bubbles 822 reviews
7.4 mi away
Beechwood Hotel
Beechwood Hotel
#1 of 2 in North Walsham
5.0 of 5 bubbles 766 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Scarborough Hill Country Inn
Scarborough Hill Country Inn
#2 of 2 in North Walsham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
10.5 mi away
The Old Rectory Hotel
The Old Rectory Hotel
#1 of 1 in Crostwick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
1.8 mi away
Dairy Barns Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ingham Swan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ingham Swan

Property: The Ingham Swan
Address: Sea Palling Road, Ingham NR12 0TW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Ingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Ingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Ingham Swan 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Book Direct Rooms, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your The Ingham Swan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing