We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Birthday meal ” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Ingham Swan

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Ingham Swan
Ranked #1 of 3 Ingham B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Birthday meal ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014 via mobile

We went here to celebrate my birthday. We both had the tasting menu and we were not a bit
disappointed. It was really lovely. The staff were good and the restaurant has a nice atmosphere. We would highly recommend giving this restaurant a visit.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank helen p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brownie-Stalham, Public Relations Manager at The Ingham Swan, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Thank you very much for your review and kind comments. We are so pleased you both enjoyed our taster menu which we hope reflects the seasonal highlights of our current menu and which changes fortnightly. We hope to welcome you both to dine with us again at The Ingham Swan in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    85
    23
    8
    6
    6
See reviews for
13
85
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Staffordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

We stayed there for one night and also booked an evening meal. The rooms at first glance appeared very nice, however it was a warm evening and there was no air conditioning in the loft rooms so they were very hot and muggy. When getting ready for the meal there was no dressing table and mirror I was told people usually bring their own travelling mirror. Can't say I've ever had to do that before. The food... The starter was lovely I had a mixed seafood, the steak was ordered as med to well done(don't mind a little pink), it arrived a little on the blue side so it had to be returned to the kitchen, the waitress agreed it wasn't how I ordered it. When it returned it still had the appearance of jelly in the middle and by this time I was uncomfortable at sending it back again.. Having said this the staff were lovely and about the only good thing it's got going for it. Breakfast was nice the sausages were lovely and seeing as we were going boating on the broads for a week thought I'd ask where they got them from(thinking they'd be sourced locally) I was told they buy them frozen in bulk from a local catering company. I think that said it all. They try fine dining but don't know the provenance of their food.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Joanna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brownie-Stalham, Public Relations Manager at The Ingham Swan, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Thank you for the feedback regarding your stay with us, we take all feedback seriously and use it constructively. We are very disappointed you did not enjoy your stay with us and can only offer you our sincere apologies. Unfortunately you have misinterpreted the sourcing of our breakfast sausages which are fresh Dingly Dell Suffolk sausages that we buy directly from our meat supplier which is a company that trades solely with businesses and guests can therefore not
purchase the products, they most certainly are not a frozen catering sausage.The provenance and quality of our ingredients is a main priority to us and we receive daily deliveries of fresh produce which is reflected in our menus.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rollesby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

Stayed overnight and had dinner, bed and breakfast. Food amazing and comprehensive choice. Great ambience, friendly attentive staff, beautiful building. Best restaurant ever! Will definitely be going back!



  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maxine F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brownie-Stalham, Public Relations Manager at The Ingham Swan, responded to this review, 13 July 2014
Many thanks for taking the time to write a review and for the lovely comments. We are so pleased you both enjoyed your recent overnight stay and dinner in our restaurant and hope that we can welcome you back to stay again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014 via mobile

We had a lovely family meal here recently. Every course was tasty and well cooked. If you are a table of four, ask for the snug room- it's part of the main restaurant but is tucked away. Perfect for a quite meal.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank joyandnick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brownie-Stalham, Public Relations Manager at The Ingham Swan, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Thank you so very much for taking the time to leave a review. We are delighted you and your family enjoyed your recent dining experience and liked our little snug room which as you say is perfect for a quiet and personal meal. We hope to be able to welcome you back to the Ingham Swan soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minety, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

We live over 200 miles away from Ingham but when we are in the area, we always do a pilgrimage to the Swan. We went for lunch again last week and we were not disappointed. Service was efficient and friendly; the food was (as always) excellent and given the standard of cooking the prices are very reasonable. They always have a couple of local beers on tap as well and they were also well kept. We will be back again when we are in the area.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GDL2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brownie-Stalham, Public Relations Manager at The Ingham Swan, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Thank you very much for visiting us once again and for taking the time to leave a review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your recent lunch at The Ingham Swan and the local ales that we offer. We hope that you will return to The Ingham Swan when you are next in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

Arrived for a three day stay at 17:30 for a 18:00 check in, Hotel was all locked up. Staff arrived 17:45 to open up? first impression of room 2 was very positive. Then on a practical note, no storage space, being a mid sixties couple we thought our days of living out of a suitcase on the floor was over. Sanitary bin was not emptied from the previous occupant, makes you wonder what else is not checked? The room is well equipped with coffee machine and kettle, the problem is the cups do not fit the machine and the large kettle does not fit under the tap. Still we manged to have a drink before freshening up before dinner. The there is a nice toilet shower room on-suite, the bizarre thing is the extractor fan switch is at ceiling level outside the bathroom, which I did not find before filling the room full of steam ( looks like an after thought and this was the simplest place to put the switch without damaging the plaster) if you are a smaller person you would not reach the switch. The room is like a TV show makeover room looks fantastic, but not practical and room 2 is not disable friendly.
Throughout our stay we never had the same level of room cleaning, servicing, toilet cleaner left in the bowl, no body wash or shampoo refill and having to ask at the bar for toilet paper is not what we expected to have to do?
The restaurant is of a very good standard and the staff are excellent, It appears to us that this is a very well run restaurant with a bolt on high cost B&B.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brownie-Stalham, Public Relations Manager at The Ingham Swan, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to review us on Tripadvisor. We are disappointed you did not enjoy your stay with us. We would like to point out that we are a proudly a Restaurant with Rooms and do not advertise being a 'hotel' this is why we do not offer all day check-in midweek as we are closed between the hours of 3 and 6. We personally contact each guest to inform them that we can welcome them before 3pm or after 6pm and what time to anticipate their arrival so consequently if you arrive at 5.30 we are not open. We would also like to point out that we do not state nor sell our rooms as being disabled friendly.
We apologise profusely for the bin not being emptied, which of course is unacceptable, your bathroom had been serviced but unfortunately the member of the cleaning team is new and the bin evidently missed her attention. As soon as you mentioned this to us, your bathroom was completely re-cleaned with new towels and toiletries provided to replace those you had just used. We apologised sincerely at the time and you lead us to believe you were satisfied with our actions and everything else was to your liking.
We are pleased you liked the room aesthetics and enjoyed your dining experience in our restaurant and hope that we can welcome you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
49 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014 via mobile

We've just had a tremendous evening meal with friends, the courses were well prepared and presented and the staff were very attentive and helpful. I would recommend a meal here and I'm sure most people would be very well pleased.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Kevin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brownie-Stalham, Public Relations Manager at The Ingham Swan, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Thank you so very much for your kind comments which will be shared with the team. We are delighted you and your friends enjoyed your recent dining experience with us at The Ingham Swan and hope to welcome you all back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ingham
2.7 mi away
Wayford Bridge Inn
Wayford Bridge Inn
#1 of 2 in Stalham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 464 reviews
8.5 mi away
The Norfolk Mead Hotel
The Norfolk Mead Hotel
#1 of 1 in Coltishall
5.0 of 5 bubbles 824 reviews
7.4 mi away
Beechwood Hotel
Beechwood Hotel
#1 of 2 in North Walsham
5.0 of 5 bubbles 767 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Scarborough Hill Country Inn
Scarborough Hill Country Inn
#2 of 2 in North Walsham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
10.5 mi away
The Old Rectory Hotel
The Old Rectory Hotel
#1 of 1 in Crostwick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
5.0 mi away
The Keswick
The Keswick
#1 of 1 in Bacton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ingham Swan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ingham Swan

Property: The Ingham Swan
Address: Sea Palling Road, Ingham NR12 0TW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Ingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Ingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Ingham Swan 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Book Direct Rooms, HotelsClick, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda and Ebookers so you can book your The Ingham Swan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing