We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AmericInn - Inver Grove: Great Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
AmericInn Hotel & Suites Inver Grove Heights
Reviewed 13 June 2012

First time staying at an AmericInn... Three nights as in-town for a family wedding in the Inver Grove Heights area. This hotel is south of St Paul and less than 15 minutes from the MSP airport and Mall of the America's. Interstate 494 runs to the south of the twin cities and traffic is reasonable. Note that during the summer months various interstates are under construction or are closed down for periods of time at night and weekends. Be careful where you stay as you could spent quite some time in stop-n-go traffic on the interstates and other main roads (now Rt 5 just outside the airport...). Good reception hosts and 'clean' rooms! Most of the rooms have two queen beds. All have a fridge, micro, coffee pot and good size flat screen TV and enough room to move around without feeling cramped. One caution... Don't get a room next to the elevator... Too much noise from it's operation and the sound travels through the walls of the room. Only negative - disappointed in their breakfast offerings. No eggs (hard boiled only) or meat products. Basic muffins, cerials, etc. Outside dining is great with a Applebee's sharing the same parking area. There's also a steak house and pizza parlor in walking distance. Will definitely book a stay here the next time I'm in town.

Room Tip: Second or higher floors... NOT next to the elevator!
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank M H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (211)
There are newer reviews for AmericInn Hotel & Suites Inver Grove Heights
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

206 - 212 of 212 reviews

Reviewed 18 May 2012

I stayed at AmericInn in Inver Grove Heights in May 2012. The staff was great, always available, always friendly. I had a double queen bed room, everything was clean and worked. It's nice to have a refrigerator in the room for leftovers or other foods. AmericInn is close to a variety of restaurants, and not far from a bus line that takes you to downtown St. Paul. We spent time in the pool and hot tub, really enjoyed it. All very clean. No one else was there at the time, so it was quiet. They even have outdoor seating for the indoor pool. Cool to do on a hot summer's night.
The windows actually open, so I could sleep with fresh air on a night that wasn't too hot. Loved it!

Room Tip: I was on third floor, faced East and saw the sun rise. Loved it!
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mary D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2012

The breakfast wasn't very good. Not much to choose from.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Knots15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2011

When we need a hotel in the vicinity of an Americinn, we always consider it first because most Americinns are clean, modern, soundproof and inviting. This hotel appears to be an Americinn retrofit of another hotel property. The place is worse than we could have imagined. I have the impression that they are on the verge of collapse.

We had a reservation for two nights, Dec. 17 & 18, 2011. The rooms are very small. Rather than a desk, there is a small corner table about 30 inches square. The bathroom is cramped and the sink and vanity which are located outside of the toilet/shower room is also cramped. The beds were average.

On our first morning, the guest above us was in the shower, and the ceiling above our tub leaked like a sieve as long as the shower above was running. The ceiling was stained and who knows how much mold was up there. The tub faucet was torqued so tight that it was very difficult to open. It leaked a steady stream when closed normally. I complained in the morning and the desk clerk offered to move us to another room, but we had to leave for an appointment and said we would put up with the problems for another night.

We left the hotel at 9:00 A.M. and returned at 3:00 P.M. and stayed until 3:45 P.M. The room had not been made up from the night before. When we returned at 9:00 P.M. the room still was not made up. I complained again, and this time we accepted a move to a comparable room across the hall. There were no leaks in this room, but the tub was dirty and gross.

This is a place that the management of Americinn should shut down before the Health Department does!

Room Tip: Avoid this place!
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Packer_Backer_too
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2011

Room smelled like a wet dog and didn't feel clean. Continental breakfast had yogurt that was expired. Would not stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JSG320
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2011

After reading reviews before booking at this AmericInn, I realized I would have to lower my standards some but still was hopeful that the reviewers might be exaggerating--no such luck. This hotel property was in much need of some TLC outside and in. Carpets were stained, beadspreads had holes in them (looked like cigarette burns), old style TV... The room was clean but all the other eyesores made it appear unkept. I was, however, impressed with the shower--lots of pressure and plenty of hot water. We went down for breakfast at 7:30 a.m. and could not find a seat so took our food back to our room. The hotel lobby served as the breakfast area so many sat at tables to read the newspaper and visit which left no room for those wanting to sit and eat. I usually am more trusting of Trip Advisor reviews but the selection was minimal in this area and we book on short notice.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RansRider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2005

We booked a airline-hotel package deal to St. Paul October 1-3, 2004, because we wanted to see the Campbell's Invitational Figure Skating Competition. The hotel that came up as part of the package was the AmericInn in Inver Heights. They aren't found in our part of the country and so we took a chance it would be OK. It was a nice drive to the Hotel from the airport and although we overshot it and ended up about twelve miles down the road, it was our fault for not paying more attention. The hotel room was comfortable for our two night stay and the indoor swimming pool was especially inviting. They have a lovely fireplace in the lobby and the desk personnel and maid service were very friendly. The Complimentary Enhanced Breakfast was very good the one morning we tried it. The location near Minneapolis and St. Paul was convenient and we visited the Mall of the Americas and Mystic River Casino while we were there, both nice drives from the hotel. It was also very easy to find the Xcel Center where the skating was held. Across the steet from where we were located were two very fine restaurants, Damons Grill and Mrs. Rich's Bakery. and we even had two meals at the Restaurant-Bakery. Our trip was short, because my wife was still teaching school, but now that she is retired we have already booked a five day trip for this October, 2005, once again around the Campbell's Invitational. My wife demanded that we use this hotel once more, even though a few came up less expensive in the package deal. That shows she feels the facility has a lot to offer, in both comfort and convenience. We are looking forward to our return.

Stayed: October 2004
3  Thank BillandJoyce7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Inver Grove Heights
0.2 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Inver Grove Heights/Minneapolis
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham...
#1 of 3 in Inver Grove Heights
483 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express St Paul S - Inver Grove Hgts
Holiday Inn Express St Paul S - ...
#2 of 3 in Inver Grove Heights
65 reviews
3.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Eagan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
EnVision Hotel St. Paul South
EnVision Hotel St. Paul South
#1 of 1 in South Saint Paul
33 reviews
5.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Minneapolis / Eagan
5.9 mi away
Hyatt Place St Paul / Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AmericInn Hotel & Suites Inver Grove Heights? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AmericInn Hotel & Suites Inver Grove Heights

Address: 5861 Blaine Ave, Inver Grove Heights, MN 55076-1401
Region: United States > Minnesota > Inver Grove Heights
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Inver Grove Heights
Price Range: £73 - £97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — AmericInn Hotel & Suites Inver Grove Heights 2*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your AmericInn Hotel & Suites Inver Grove Heights reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
AmericInn Hotel & Suites Inver Grove Heights MN - Minneapolis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing