We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reviews (48)
Filter reviews
48 results
Traveller rating
31
9
5
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
31
9
5
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews fish small breakfast down the road state park pizza guide summer weekend fun pets atv lake dog cook brand ice grounds
Filter
Updating list...
24 - 29 of 48 reviews
Reviewed 6 August 2014

My wife and I wanted you to know how pleased we were with our experience yesterday.
We were particularly impressed with our guides on the afternoon trip - we even caught fish!
The were personable, professional, knowledgeable and friendly. Had a great time.
The resort was clean and well ran. The personnel was friendly and professional in
person and on the phone. We plan to be back.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
Thank Vicki S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Staff couldn't have been more accommodating - had a great time with 119 of my relatives 7-24/27-2014. Katie & Mike provided us with every request we had. We will be back next year with 150!! THANKS it was perfect!!!!!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank harleygirlsue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014

Very disappointing stay.
We checked in late after 10 hour being on the road and we were really looking forward to a good night sleep. Unfortunately we had really bad neighbors who sounded like were drunk and extremely loud, running and shouting on the hallway and slamming the doors. Oh, did I forget to mention that it all was happening at 3:30 am? Yes, 3:30 am-5:00 am. My husband opened the door znd looked what was happening and saw some big guys running around. So he went down to the main lobby to complain but unfortunately nobody was there (by that time it was 5:30 am). When we were checking out we were not even asked how our stay was so we just mentioned it. Well, the lady didn't even apologize for a terrible night but she did say she would give us 10% off the bill (which by the way we really didn't care about). She than said that she could not give us more since we didn't follow the policy! The policy is to call and wake up the owner. She said thats what we were supposed to do. And who know that? Oh, I guess you are supposed to look for instructions at 4 am.
The room was also very dated, from the 80's. Old Zenith tv, green old carpets, old beds, old everything. Not a pleasant place at all. Maybe their cabins are nicer.
The bottom line is we will never ever stay at Mcquoid's again and would not recommend it go anybody.
Old dated place and not nice staff.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank MJTJMT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014

My significant other and I only stay at McQuoid's when we visit Mille Lacs. We have never been up there in the winter, only in the summer. Over Valentine's Day weekend we went up to do some snowmobiling. and it was great! The staff at McQuoid's is always friendly and helpful, whether you are talking to them on the phone or in person. Even one of the maids said good morning to us when we were walking down the hallway. The guys at the front desk gave us ideas of where to go to eat and also gave us directions on where to go for snowmobiling. The owner, Terry, even sat down with us on Sunday morning to chat. We had never met him before so it was nice to chat with him.

The room, as always, was clean and comfortable. The best thing I like about this hotel is it's QUIET. We never hear anything from other rooms or in the hallway. And the beds are comfortable.

I would highly recomment staying here if you are visiting Mille Lacs.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dibella32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2014

We are snowmobile novices. After researching online and talking to local outlets, we chose McQuoids. It was a fantastic day. We did the daylight rental, with a Guide for the first three hours. They have any necessary gear non-snowmobilers don't have for a trip up North in the Winter. The sleds were newer models, easy to start, and the handwarmers worked so well, had to turn them down to medium on a 12 degree day in Minnesota. Our guide Terry showed us the trails, the right way to pass other snowmobilers and groomers while on the trails, and answered all of our dumb questions with a friendly and understanding manner. The resort is just across the street from the Soo Line Trail which you can take to some great places to eat in Waukon or novice friendly trails through the woods at Red Top. 6+ hours and we used $25 of gas per sled. Rest of the staff was friendly and accommodating. If you want to try snowmobiling at Mille Lacs. you are in good hands with McQuoids.

Room Tip: We did not stay at McQuoids so no ratings on the room aspects.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tammy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews