We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unexpected cuisine inside an unassuming building”
Review of Suzette's

Suzette's
Ranked #1 of 12 Restaurants in Jordan
Price range: US$12 - US$35
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings
Dining options: Reservations
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Unexpected cuisine inside an unassuming building”
Reviewed 20 January 2014 via mobile

My wife and I had driven past this unassuming building several times and were intrigued with the European cuisine sign out front. We made a reservation and stopped for an early dinner. We were not disappointed as we found the fish specials and menu with a nice variety. The menu leans Italian and French and they serve wine and beer. We had the halibut fish special and the cranberry pork tenderloin. Both were served with garlic mashed potatoes. Portions were perfect with the food fresh and perfectly prepared. The dill sauce with the halibut was tasty and the pork very tender and the sauce was a nice complement. We split the bread pudding for desert and it was awesome! The pudding is served in a brandy sauce. Service was attentive and friendly. Would certainly stop in again.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank GAMeyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    13
    5
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
St. Paul
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The focus is on the food”
Reviewed 11 August 2013

Outstanding preparation and presentation served professionally in a building that I'm told is a former Bridgeman's restaurant. The decor is friendly with views of window boxes of seasonal flowers; even so, this is not an "ambiance" restaurant. You come for the food-- many seafood selections expertly prepared though my friend thoroughly enjoyed her rack of lamb. The Neopolitan dessert was delish-- berries were perfect and the filling and pastry respectively creamy and crisp with neither being overly sweet.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Beth W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jordan, Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“An unexpected surprise!”
Reviewed 29 July 2013

Wonderful food in a small restaurant really was a surprise. Elegantly served and displayed. Have not heard a bad comment on this gem outside Jordan MN.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Jordanite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
Reviewed 28 July 2013 via mobile

Best meal I have had the chance to enjoy on our round the USA trip. The tenderloin was fork tender and oh so flavorful! My hubby had the bread pudding for desert. He does not normally care for bread pudding, but this was excellent. A definite must! Oh yes - a very nice wine selection too!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank dancingsams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shakopee, MN
Level 6 Contributor
405 reviews
250 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1,115 helpful votes
“French influenced restaurant - great lunch!”
Reviewed 26 July 2013

We visited on Friday, July 26, 2013 at noon. We were greeted promptly and seated in a comfortable booth with a window.

I ordered the soup de jour, shrimp bisque, and the "crepe princess", a savory crepe stuffed with shrimp and scallops in a cream sauce and butter. My wife had pasta and meatballs.

The bisque was served piping hot and was so rich in flavor with a creamy finish. The salty, briny taste was spot on. The crepe was soft and flavorful with some caramel color from cooking. The filling of shrimp and scallops was so perfectly cooked that I savored each bite with great appreciation. The cream and butter sauce was perfect - the right balance of savory, salty, and sweet. I loved this dish!

My wife was very impressed with her pasta and two meatballs. The pasta was obviously fresh-made and the sauce was tasty. The meatballs were light and flavorful.

As to the prices: we had water for our beverages, the cup of soup was $3.45, the crepe was $11.95, and the pasta dish was $7.95. With tax, before tip, $24.49.

This restaurant is in the middle of nowhere, but is a true gem! We will definitely return.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
7 Thank Steve0315
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Suzette's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing