We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wedding day review from best man” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Deer Park Country House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Deer Park Country House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Buckerell
Certificate of Excellence
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wedding day review from best man”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

Well what can one say about this country manor other then pure bliss from start to finish your experience will both exceed your every wish I was best man at the wedding oh what a great few days it has been. You could not ask for a more helpful team no request was to big and done with such care and detail I would like to say a huge thank you for all the help that was given to me with making sure the day went off with no problems faultless efforts from everyone thank you guys for all your hard work it made all the difference from start to finish.
If anyone is thinking of booking a wedding or a relaxing stay then this would be the place.
My room was called Hazel beautifully appointed room had everything I needed for a relaxing stay only wish my bed was as good as this one.
Just to finish of my review the food was out standing from breakfast to lunch and dinner and drinks prices was very good too.
Would I return back a huge yes
Thanks again to you all for making many happy memories for everyone

Room Tip: Hazel was my room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

663 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    484
    121
    28
    14
    16
See reviews for
168
281
20
78
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (209)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Fareham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

We recently stayed at deer park hotel and im pleased to report that it was fantastic from start to finish, the hotel its self is a fantastic old country manor house, it exudes old English style and has a warm and cosy feling to its décor.

There are a good choice of lounge areas and plenty of places to sit and chill out within the hotel and the grounds are huge with swing seats hammocks and many seated areas.

We stayed in the main hotel and the room was spacious with an extremely comfortable bed, the lounge area of the room was perfect for two and the brandy on the dresser was a nice touch.

The service was great throughout and breakfast was excellent with local produce and plenty of choice, we enjoyed this each morning and again greeted with excellent service throughout.

The location is great for exploring Exeter, Lyme Regis, Sid mouth etc, and there's a nice local pub down the road called the Otter which dose good pub grub and has a large beer garden by the river.

All in all an excellent hotel that I would highly recommend.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Neil I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

What Ho! The whole experience could be taken from a PG Wodehouse novel but one written for the needs of todays travellers.
From the minute you arrive at this beautiful property you feel nothing but warmth . The front of house manager mixes humour and personality with sheer professionalism. And this ethos has certainly rubbed off on the rest of the team who could not have done any more.
The grounds were magnificent, hidden dells and secret gardens. The walks sublime and the whole experience reflecting Country House glamour without the associated pomp found in many establishments. Top marks for food and the Plymouth Sloe Gin which itself was a revelation.
My room Hazel was lovely however very hot which in this rainy weather was not a great problem but may be alittle issue on a scorching day, however the response when I mentioned that to the reception team was as expected. "Thankyou for bringing that to our attention. We will look into this as we certainly do not wat that to be a problem in the future". Although this may be a trained response I do believe that they will do just that.
I had two firsts on my stay- a European Eagle Owl sitting proudly on my arm and a successful shot with Clays. All availble to prebook for your visit.
Deer Park really is a delight. I shall be returning.

Room Tip: Hazel was lovely but very warm,.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jill r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

We stayed here for the night exactly one year ago and as we were on a similar run back to Exeter Airport the next day we thought we'd try it again. Much work has been done to the place these past twelve months with plenty more still under way. We stayed in one of the recently refurbished garden rooms which was spacious and comfortable though with obviously some teething problems with heating and ventilation still to sort out. But the greatest difference was the restaurant where the food really was top class this time, both at breakfast but especially at dinner the night before. Get this place on an off-season midweek evening and it's very good value indeed.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Murrayfield-on-tour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014

Deer Park must have invested quite a lot to turn it into a proper 'boutique hotel' and generally they have done a great job. Excellent food, great breakfast in a lovely light and airy conservatory, beautiful gardens, very friendly and helpful staff. We stayed in something that was mysteriously called 'Garden Room' - it was modern, clean, tastefully decorated projecting the whole boutique hotel image. However, why it was called the Garden Room remains unknown. It was in what seemed like ex-service block and overlooked a construction site... No wonder we couldn't find any images while booking.

One more thing: there is no internet/wi-fi not only in the rooms but even in the main house's sitting rooms. We thought it's highly unusual for a 'boutique hotel'.

Other than that, they are doing a really a good job and will no doubt be there as a proper 'boutique hotel' - perhaps with a spa and a swimming pool? And certainly with access to the internet!

Room Tip: 'garden rooms' are modern and clean inside but the building itself is quite off-putting!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vera_tsareva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hailsham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014

My wife and I stayed just one night but found the accommodation to be just superb and the location perfect.

The service was first class and the team on site could not do enough for us during our short stay. As the hotel restaurant was full on the night of our visit the staff recommended some local eateries and then made and confirmed the reservations for us.

The recommendations were spot and the evening was fantastic.

The hotel accommodation was very comfortable, a lovely room and the following day was just as good with a fantastic breakfast and again such helpful staff.

This was a delightful setting, we left feeling not just relaxed but very happy with our stay. I would recommend the hotel and would go back again.

E Tidbury

Room Tip: Accommodation away from the function rooms would be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EDWARD T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
114 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2014

The approach drive to the Hotel really set the scene for the whole experience ahead. We were given one of the best rooms in the house overlooking the front grounds with a connecting room for our two children which was well received by all. Room was spacious with a good sized bathroom. Bathroom was clean and modern. Nice touches in the room including the temping brandy in a decanter - managed to refrain! Grand staircase down to dinner with some excellent rooms for relaxing including some great outside furniture and games for the children inc mega Jenga blocks. We stayed for four nights that allowed us plenty of time to relax and enjoy the many local attractions. Dinner options were excellent with the exception of the choice on the menu for younger children who like simplified menu options - this was address however the choice was limited to chicken breast or sausages and mash.

Breakfast was taken in a separate room at the end of the dining room that was spacious and airy.

Excellent experience - have recommended already!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ripleytrain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Buckerell
1.3 mi away
Premier Inn Honiton
Premier Inn Honiton
#3 of 5 in Honiton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
4.8 mi away
Lakeview Manor
Lakeview Manor
#4 of 5 in Honiton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
7.9 mi away
Woodlands Hotel
Woodlands Hotel
#1 of 13 in Sidmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 mi away
Sidmouth Harbour Hotel - The Westcliff
11.4 mi away
Dower House Hotel
Dower House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rousdon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 304 reviews
23.8 mi away
The Orestone Manor
The Orestone Manor
#7 of 89 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Deer Park Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Deer Park Country House Hotel

Property: Deer Park Country House Hotel
Address: Weston | Honiton, Buckerell, Honiton EX14 3PG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Honiton > Buckerell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Buckerell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Deer Park Country House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique Hotel in Devon...Perfectly Positioned Hotels in HonitonThis 18th Century Georgian country house is one of few hotels in Devon situated within 80 acres of unspoilt countryside. Elegant interiors represent everything you would expect from a quintessentially English country house hotel with classic furnishings and grand paintings.From the moment you arrive up the mile long drive you’ll find that everything, from the attentive service and accommodation to the exquisite food and family friendly atmosphere, is created to make you feel right at home at one of the most charming Devon hotels.Countryside Devon Wedding VenuesWith stunning grounds, classic interiors and attention to detail, the Deer Park offers one of the most romantic wedding venues in Devon. Accommodating up to 50 wedding guests in the main house, or up to 130 wedding guests in the marquee, this historic house offers a venue perfect for all types of wedding celebrations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Deer Park Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Deer Park Country Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing