We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wow what a transformation.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Deer Park Country House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Buckerell
Certificate of Excellence
Kendal, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wow what a transformation.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

This is the fourth time I have stayed here, enjoying the experience each time. It had been 2 years since my last visit and boy was I in for a surprise, the place having been transformed in my absence with a major makeover which has improved the place no end, not that it was not OK before as I always felt comfortable & welcome. The food and service are excellent, dinner is not cheap but well worth trying, breakfast is also an experience not to be missed with plenty of choice both continental & cooked whilst looking out over the re-developed garden from the new breakfast room.Once again due to work commitments I never seem to have time to take advantage of the sites amenities such as shooting, fishing or just having a good look round the estate walled garden and vast parkland. I do not hesitate to recommend this Hotel if you are in the area and like places with old style character.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bigyun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stuart B, Front Office Manager at Deer Park Country House Hotel, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Dear bigyun,

Thank you very much for your review of the Deer Park Country House Hotel.

Sometimes it is easy for us to forget just how much we have done in the last 18 months as we see it every day, so to have someone visiting us again who was last here just before any work started and makes comments such as yours really does give us a real sense of achievement.

This is not only down to the fact we have spent over £2m in 18 months but to the hard work and dedication of our outstanding team, without whom none of this would have been possible.

You really must make the effort to come down and enjoy Deer Park on some leisure time, you won't be disappointed.

I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future, should I be able to help in anyway at all please do not hesitate to contact me.

Kind regards

Stuart Burridge
Front of House Manger

stuart@deerparkcountryhotel.co.uk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

672 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    492
    122
    28
    14
    16
See reviews for
171
283
20
81
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (211)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cullompton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

We have eaten lunch at the Deer Park several times recently and the food and value for money are unbeatable. I also arranged a lunch for 28 Probus members and they were astounded at the quality of the food and the service they received. - not to mention the value for money at £25 for two courses for two people including wine.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mr W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stuart B, Front Office Manager at Deer Park Country House Hotel, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Dear Mr W,

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave such a nice review.

Its not about getting it right, its about getting it right consistently and I am very happy to ready that we not only do that for you but also when you wanted to show us off to your Probus members we also did it for them too.

I look forward to welcoming you back for another lunch soon. We only have limited dates left in July and August as these are so popular and also being high wedding season.

Stuart Burridge
Front of House Manager

stuart@deerparkcountryhotel.co.uk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West midlands
Level Contributor
165 reviews
111 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

Our room was the Rose room No 2, it had a good frontage, but the side window overlooked the early morning delivery lorries. The hotel is going through refurbishment in certain areas, and could have noise. Also this time of year there are flies in the room when the windows are open (we got spray given) The restaurant was fully booked for the evening meal available about 9-15 pm too late when travelling all day and want to chill , so had to go else where I was told this was Laterooms fault ? for not being contacted earlier before our arrival. End of moan!!!!! We took DVDs with us as there is only so much footie to watch This is a beautiful hotel, the grounds in this wonderful weather are magical, with swings, hammocks, games to play and the wall garden is stunning, All staff are well trained, . great breakfast and would love to return when in the area again, the gripes I have mentioned have been reported to Mr S Refurbished bathroom There is no bath just a shower in room 2 and a little step up to the loo. Great king size soft bed, and maybe a change of duvet for this time of year whilst it lasts. Beautiful just beautiful if I wasn't married June 30th this year for 41 years I would go there and do it

Room Tip: We thought the rooms overlooking the walled garden and fountain looked lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ohdearmeWestmidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herefordshire
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

We booked last minute using TripAdvisor and booking.com and had a terrific deal. We chose the king room with garden view and were allocated "Fir". This was in a separate block from the main hotel and appeared to be fairly recently refurbished. The room and bed were both very comfortable and the usual tea / coffee / water facilities were provided. According to our confirmation, there should also have been a DVD player and bathrobes however these were not evident. My guess is that, had we asked for them, they would probably have been provided. The weather was lovely and, as the room had a sunny aspect, it was extremely warm most of the night even though the windows were left open. One interesting point (at least from a female perspective) was access to mirrors and plugs. The (not full length) mirror in the bedroom was behind the door and resting against the wall with no nearby plug sockets. These were in another area with no mirror and, although the bathroom had a socket for a shaver, this wasn't suitable for hair drying / styling. As the hotel is a popular wedding venue, this may be something to consider. Breakfast was great with both hot and cold options available and service throughout the hotel very friendly. Would certainly stay here again if in the area.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rossian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014 via mobile

Beautiful place, I'm so fussy about where I stay, but the finish and attention to detail was fab. Fantastic staff, so friendly and helpful . Amazing breakfast, the eggs benedict was to die for, my husband had the full English and said the sausage was very good. Would love to go again for a longer stay and enjoy the gardens and pizza oven.

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank lindsay P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stuart B, Manager at Deer Park Country House Hotel, responded to this review, 21 June 2014
Dear lindsay P,

Thank you very much for your review of the Deer Park Country House Hotel.

I really am so proud to be part of the team that continues to deliver marvellous memories for our guests, from the bricks and mortar that make the building to the team members that create the atmosphere. Combine that we the food and Deer Park truly is an experience.

Thank you once again for your review, I will ensure the team all receive the recognition that they deserve.

Kind regards

Stuart Burridge
Front of House Manager

stuart@deerparkcountryhotel.co.uk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon
Level Contributor
83 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

I had a text from my Significant other Monday morning to say we were booked in here that same night-SURPRISE! When we arrived we were offered an upgrade as a superior room was available for an extra few pounds and after seeing it we didn't even bother to look at the room that had been originally booked. Overlooking the beautiful garden the room was huge with a wonderfully comfortable bed ( the duvet could have been thinner or just a sheet would have done as it was so hot) the window had window seats which was a brilliant vantage point for looking at the stars in the night and watching the squirrels and bunnies in the morning.
The walks around the river are lovely and as we came back up the drive we had to try the wooden swing ( built for two) which hangs off a large tree and further along a double hammock.
The food , staff and service were faultless which makes this hotel a definite ' return to' !

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SandieDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stuart B, Manager at Deer Park Country House Hotel, responded to this review, 21 June 2014
Dear SandieDevon,

Thank you very much for your review of the Deer Park Country House Hotel.

I was very pleased indeed to read that you had enjoyed your stay and that you wished to share these moments with the Trip Advisor community!

Yes our Superior Bedrooms are rather smashing, Ill pass your comments on to our Head Housekeeper as now that it looks like summer is finally here we may well need to look at lighter bedding.

I am glad you found our swinging seat as this is really located in a very romantic spot. I am sure your Significant other has earned some brownie points for this stay!

We look forward to welcoming you both back in the near future.

Kind regards

Stuart Burridge
Front of House Manager

stuart@deerparkcountryhotel.co.uk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Praze-An-Beeble, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

Firstly may I put anyones mind at rest about the quality of the driveway fully surfaced in tarmacadam from start to finish ,we were greeted at reception and shown to our room which was in the garden annex next to the hotel ,it was large, airy and very well decorated and the bed was enormous all the staff were most helpful and polite,the breakfast was excellent I would recommend this hotel without hesitation, the grounds are stunning with a lovely walk by the river otter,the only downside was the price of drinks plus no draft beer but all hotels seem to be expensive for alcohol

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Terry P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stuart B, Manager at Deer Park Country House Hotel, responded to this review, 21 June 2014
Dear Terry P,

Thank you very much for your review of the Deer Park Country House Hotel.

I am very pleased to read that you enjoyed one of our brand spanking new Garden rooms, recently refurbished and having £600k spent on them. The drive its self was completed in two stages one in April 2013 and the second stage in October 2013 and the difference it has made is outstanding, long distant are the memories of the previous drive.

I personally enjoy the River Otter walk daily with my dog Storm and I never grow tired of the views.

Thank you once again for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards

Stuart Burridge
Front of House Manager

stuart@deerparkcountryhotel.co.uk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Buckerell
1.2 mi away
Premier Inn Honiton
Premier Inn Honiton
#3 of 5 in Honiton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
4.7 mi away
Lakeview Manor
Lakeview Manor
#4 of 5 in Honiton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 272 reviews
7.8 mi away
Woodlands Hotel
Woodlands Hotel
#1 of 13 in Sidmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Home Farm Hotel
Home Farm Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wilmington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 28 reviews
8.1 mi away
The Belmont Hotel
The Belmont Hotel
#2 of 13 in Sidmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 489 reviews
11.4 mi away
Dower House Hotel
Dower House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rousdon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Deer Park Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Deer Park Country House Hotel

Property: Deer Park Country House Hotel
Address: Weston | Honiton, Buckerell, Honiton EX14 3PG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Honiton > Buckerell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Buckerell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Deer Park Country House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique Hotel in Devon...Perfectly Positioned Hotels in HonitonThis 18th Century Georgian country house is one of few hotels in Devon situated within 80 acres of unspoilt countryside. Elegant interiors represent everything you would expect from a quintessentially English country house hotel with classic furnishings and grand paintings.From the moment you arrive up the mile long drive you’ll find that everything, from the attentive service and accommodation to the exquisite food and family friendly atmosphere, is created to make you feel right at home at one of the most charming Devon hotels.Countryside Devon Wedding VenuesWith stunning grounds, classic interiors and attention to detail, the Deer Park offers one of the most romantic wedding venues in Devon. Accommodating up to 50 wedding guests in the main house, or up to 130 wedding guests in the marquee, this historic house offers a venue perfect for all types of wedding celebrations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Odigeo, Evoline ltd, Agoda and Cancelon so you can book your Deer Park Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Deer Park Country Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing