We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful wedding weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Deer Park Country House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Buckerell
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Our daughter's wedding here in mid April was fabulous! The hotel provided us with a private dining room on the Friday night, which was a lovely way to begin the celebrations. We choose to have exclusive use of Deer Park for the Saturday of the wedding and this proved to be an excellent choice and well worth the money. The house and grounds are a beautiful setting for a wedding and our guests thoroughly enjoyed the experience, with the Civil Ceremony in the house and a Hand-fasting in the grounds. Despite the marquee looking a little tired, it decorated up beautifully and gave ample room for 90 guests and a good dance floor in the evening. The food provided for the afternoon tea and the wedding breakfast was excellent and catered well for our daughter's dairy intolerance. Similarly the cheese and pasties,which appeared late evening, were delicious.
All guests seemed to rate their rooms and ours (Honeysuckle) was particularly comfortable. We could not fault the staff, with Sophie and Stuart being particularly attentive.
The only minor negatives were that some of the windows in the bedrooms were painted closed, some guests complained of quirky showers and maybe the marquee needs a revamp. Also bill paying on the Sunday was a little disorganised, but in fairness to Deer Park they dealt with this in a very generous way. However we would recommend sorting as much bill paying as possible in advance.
Overall it was a glorious celebration in a beautiful setting - thank you Deer Park!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank j w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (746)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

458 - 464 of 746 reviews

Reviewed 3 July 2014

There is a long drive up to the Hotel, passed lovely grounds and finally through the gate of the entrance, plenty of room for parking. The Hotel is how you imagine a country Hotel to be, wooden floors, rugs, easy chairs. Small Bar leads to Dining Room, a lovely light airy room. The Menu is varied and the food was absolutely delicious. After Lunch we had our Coffees served outside, with a beautiful view of the gardens from our chairs, a really relaxing time spent in wonderful surroundings..

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue780
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

This is the fourth time I have stayed here, enjoying the experience each time. It had been 2 years since my last visit and boy was I in for a surprise, the place having been transformed in my absence with a major makeover which has improved the place no end, not that it was not OK before as I always felt comfortable & welcome. The food and service are excellent, dinner is not cheap but well worth trying, breakfast is also an experience not to be missed with plenty of choice both continental & cooked whilst looking out over the re-developed garden from the new breakfast room.Once again due to work commitments I never seem to have time to take advantage of the sites amenities such as shooting, fishing or just having a good look round the estate walled garden and vast parkland. I do not hesitate to recommend this Hotel if you are in the area and like places with old style character.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bigyun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stuart B, Front Office Manager at Deer Park Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

Dear bigyun,

Thank you very much for your review of the Deer Park Country House Hotel.

Sometimes it is easy for us to forget just how much we have done in the last 18 months as we see it every day, so to have someone visiting us again who was last here just before any work started and makes comments such as yours really does give us a real sense of achievement.

This is not only down to the fact we have spent over £2m in 18 months but to the hard work and dedication of our outstanding team, without whom none of this would have been possible.

You really must make the effort to come down and enjoy Deer Park on some leisure time, you won't be disappointed.

I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future, should I be able to help in anyway at all please do not hesitate to contact me.

Kind regards

Stuart Burridge
Front of House Manger

stuart@deerparkcountryhotel.co.uk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

We have eaten lunch at the Deer Park several times recently and the food and value for money are unbeatable. I also arranged a lunch for 28 Probus members and they were astounded at the quality of the food and the service they received. - not to mention the value for money at £25 for two courses for two people including wine.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mr W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stuart B, Front Office Manager at Deer Park Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

Dear Mr W,

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave such a nice review.

Its not about getting it right, its about getting it right consistently and I am very happy to ready that we not only do that for you but also when you wanted to show us off to your Probus members we also did it for them too.

I look forward to welcoming you back for another lunch soon. We only have limited dates left in July and August as these are so popular and also being high wedding season.

Stuart Burridge
Front of House Manager

stuart@deerparkcountryhotel.co.uk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Our room was the Rose room No 2, it had a good frontage, but the side window overlooked the early morning delivery lorries. The hotel is going through refurbishment in certain areas, and could have noise. Also this time of year there are flies in the room when the windows are open (we got spray given) The restaurant was fully booked for the evening meal available about 9-15 pm too late when travelling all day and want to chill , so had to go else where I was told this was Laterooms fault ? for not being contacted earlier before our arrival. End of moan!!!!! We took DVDs with us as there is only so much footie to watch This is a beautiful hotel, the grounds in this wonderful weather are magical, with swings, hammocks, games to play and the wall garden is stunning, All staff are well trained, . great breakfast and would love to return when in the area again, the gripes I have mentioned have been reported to Mr S Refurbished bathroom There is no bath just a shower in room 2 and a little step up to the loo. Great king size soft bed, and maybe a change of duvet for this time of year whilst it lasts. Beautiful just beautiful if I wasn't married June 30th this year for 41 years I would go there and do it

Room Tip: We thought the rooms overlooking the walled garden and fountain looked lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ohdearmeWestmidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

We booked last minute using TripAdvisor and booking.com and had a terrific deal. We chose the king room with garden view and were allocated "Fir". This was in a separate block from the main hotel and appeared to be fairly recently refurbished. The room and bed were both very comfortable and the usual tea / coffee / water facilities were provided. According to our confirmation, there should also have been a DVD player and bathrobes however these were not evident. My guess is that, had we asked for them, they would probably have been provided. The weather was lovely and, as the room had a sunny aspect, it was extremely warm most of the night even though the windows were left open. One interesting point (at least from a female perspective) was access to mirrors and plugs. The (not full length) mirror in the bedroom was behind the door and resting against the wall with no nearby plug sockets. These were in another area with no mirror and, although the bathroom had a socket for a shaver, this wasn't suitable for hair drying / styling. As the hotel is a popular wedding venue, this may be something to consider. Breakfast was great with both hot and cold options available and service throughout the hotel very friendly. Would certainly stay here again if in the area.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rossian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014 via mobile

Beautiful place, I'm so fussy about where I stay, but the finish and attention to detail was fab. Fantastic staff, so friendly and helpful . Amazing breakfast, the eggs benedict was to die for, my husband had the full English and said the sausage was very good. Would love to go again for a longer stay and enjoy the gardens and pizza oven.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
2  Thank lindsay P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stuart B, Manager at Deer Park Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2014

Dear lindsay P,

Thank you very much for your review of the Deer Park Country House Hotel.

I really am so proud to be part of the team that continues to deliver marvellous memories for our guests, from the bricks and mortar that make the building to the team members that create the atmosphere. Combine that we the food and Deer Park truly is an experience.

Thank you once again for your review, I will ensure the team all receive the recognition that they deserve.

Kind regards

Stuart Burridge
Front of House Manager

stuart@deerparkcountryhotel.co.uk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Buckerell
5.1 mi away
Home Farm Hotel
Home Farm Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wilmington
61 reviews
4.7 mi away
Lakeview Manor
Lakeview Manor
#4 of 5 in Honiton
303 reviews
1.2 mi away
Premier Inn Honiton
Premier Inn Honiton
#3 of 5 in Honiton
377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
Woodlands Hotel
Woodlands Hotel
#1 of 13 in Sidmouth
476 reviews
8.1 mi away
Padbrook Park Hotel
Padbrook Park Hotel
#1 of 3 in Cullompton
226 reviews
11.4 mi away
Dower House Hotel
Dower House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rousdon
387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Deer Park Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Deer Park Country House Hotel

Address: Weston | Honiton, Buckerell, Honiton EX14 3PG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Honiton > Buckerell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Buckerell
Price Range: £107 - £120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Deer Park Country House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique Hotel in Devon...Perfectly Positioned Hotels in Honiton. This 18th Century Georgian country house is one of few hotels in Devon situated within 80 acres of unspoiled countryside. Elegant interiors represent everything you would expect from a quintessentially English country house hotel with classic furnishings and grand paintings.From the moment you arrive up the mile long drive you’ll find that everything, from the attentive service and accommodation to the exquisite food and family friendly atmosphere, is created to make you feel right at home at one of the most charming Devon hotels.Countryside Devon Wedding Venues With stunning grounds, classic interiors and attention to detail, the Deer Park offers one of the most romantic wedding venues in Devon. Accommodating up to 50 wedding guests in the main house, or up to 200 wedding guests in our stunning Georgian orangery, this historic house offers a venue perfect for all types of wedding celebrations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Agoda, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Deer Park Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Deer Park Country Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing