We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home near Escot Park”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Greyhound Country Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 March 2013

I found this Inn while looking for accommodation near Escot Park where I had a short term job. What a delight. The pub section on the ground floor was a good old fashioned comfortable pub with timber beams, fireplace and strings of hops hanging from the ceiling. It immediately felt like the kind of place that catered to locals as well as welcoming to travellers like myself, going for good beer, good food and good atmoshphere as opposed to the "boutique decore" effect

Easy to find off the A30 and with plenty of parking, I was able to enter through the back entrance and immediately shown registration and my room. The bedrooms are upstairs and instead of numbers, have names. Mine was the Ottery. It was ensuite with a view out front and had all the expected features: tea/coffee facilities, freeview TV, toiletries. The decoration seemed realtively new and comfortable.

I had my evening meals in the puib and took full advantage of the evening specials: pie & pint one night, two steak meals for one on another (I was with a business colleague). I was sorry I missed the Sunday Roast as I was working during the day but the special Greyhound Inn burgers in the evening made up for it. That and a pint of Otter Ale and I was well satisfied.

What really made this place special were the people. I was well looked after by Kim and Tom who chatted when I wanted company, left me to my own when I was busy. Janice took care of the booking and registration, always had a smile and the time to exchange pleasantries and served a lovely breakfast. When I explained that I had to be out at 6.30 one morning they still offered to do breakfast. I didn't want to drag anyone up that early and declined but ended up compromising when they brought a tray with cereals, milk and juice to my room so I could have a bite while getting ready to leave. They even made me a sandwich for lunch, which came in very handy when I was working flat-out later that day.

I stay in so many hotels for business that it is a welcome treat for me to stay in a place like the Greyhound Inn where I can feel comfortable and well looked after and never felt like just a "unit" checking in or out of a souless place.

Room Tip: The only thing I would mention about my room facing the front of the hotel was the outside light whi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JammyWeasel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (211)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

197 - 203 of 211 reviews

Reviewed 22 October 2012

We stayed here for three nights to be close to Combe House for a wedding. It was fantastically located and the friendly welcome and excellent service made all the difference. Janice and her team were all so accommodating and ensured we were well looked after, Janice even offering us a lift back up to the venue the morning after the wedding to collect our car. Breakfast was delicious and plentiful and all freshly cooked.

The rooms are lovely and have everything you need; it's obvious that the place is still gradually being worked on but it was a pleasure to stay there and we'd certainly recommend it to others.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Vicky S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2012

a charming period country inn,in wonderful rural countryside..we had a lovelly two day break with comfortable room.the menu is extensive and tremendous value.the ambience and staff are very accomadating and friendly.the local town is charming and within easy access.we wil be recommending it to all our family and friends and look forward to returning someday soon.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank trisha r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2012

I originally booked into the Greyhound for a couple of nights but I ended up staying for weeks while working in nearby Ottery St Mary. The Inn is a family run business and they could not be any more friendly and helpful, nothing is ever a problem. I ate there almost every night during my stay and the food was very good and very generous portions. If i have ever have to work in the area again I will definately return to the Greyhound.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dandoyler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2012

We arrived at the Greyhound after 80 miles of hard cycling in the pouring rain and howling wind, trying our best to raise money for Cancer Research! Whatever we threw at the Greyhound, they helped us out from accomodating the 6th person in our team, ensuring that our kit was securely locked away in their garage and filling us with ample portions of really good food.....The rooms were comfortable and warm and nothing was too much trouble for the friendly staff

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mark L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2012

Please ignore earlier reviews as they relate to earlier times when the pub was being poorly managed and was allowed to fall into a little bit of disrepair. It reopened in January 2012 under new management and has been given a completely new lease of life. The tatty thatch has been replaced and everything inside is a vast improvement. Food quality and service are both fantastic and the new owners are obviously working hard to bring this wonderful location back to its former glory. I look forward to this returning to a busy and vibrant pub & B&B - it deserves to go far!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank JulianHall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2012

Having seen some poor reviews I was compelled to let you know the new owners are doing great things with the Inn. Good honest pub food, Sunday carvery was fab. Really nice family run business. Even got a petting Zoo - Loads of parking and easy to get too near Honiton Devon - Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Nigel F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fenny Bridges
2.8 mi away
Premier Inn Honiton
Premier Inn Honiton
#3 of 5 in Honiton
395 reviews
6.5 mi away
Home Farm Hotel
Home Farm Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wilmington
61 reviews
1.7 mi away
Deer Park Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Lakeview Manor
Lakeview Manor
#4 of 5 in Honiton
304 reviews
11.3 mi away
The White Hart Inn
The White Hart Inn
#3 of 3 in Wilmington
81 reviews
6.4 mi away
Wellington Farm Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Greyhound Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Greyhound Country Inn

Address: Fenny Bridges, Honiton EX14 3BJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Honiton > Fenny Bridges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Fenny Bridges
Price Range: £66 - £87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Greyhound Country Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Book Direct Rooms, Expedia, HotelsClick, Ebookers and getaroom.com so you can book your Greyhound Country Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Greyhound Hotel Honiton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing