We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely friendly atmosphere” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Greyhound Country Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Greyhound Country Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Lovely friendly atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2014

Under new management from tonight a lovely pub with such potential that new owners have ideas of!
Really enjoyed a couple of hours here and look forward to many more. Look forward to them finding a good chef to come in and bring quality food to this lovely establishment

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank roxy1486
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    103
    35
    6
    8
    10
See reviews for
39
51
6
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2013

Stayed here for a wedding! Rooms were cold cramped and poorly accommodated! Breakfast was terrible, freezing cold toast, bacon that was so hard u couldnt pick it up with a fork. ! Very un organised. ! My daughter was left waiting for her toast even though we ordered hers first. ! Over priced drinks. ! Would definitely NOT recommed this place to anyone

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tgvb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
honiton
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2013

Poor staff worse food dirty cramped rooms we booked all the rooms here and ordered food for 60 people including veggies. We were told we would receive a group discount but were charged full rate, they even charged for children who were either put up on camp beds or had to sleep on the floor. The food for 60 turned out to be 30 sausages and 30 rashers of bacon plus a few rolls and 1 tray of chips ( there was no veggie option even though we had asked them to cater for veggies this ment a pregnant lady was unable to eat) The rooms were cramped and dirty some had no hot water some had no cold making showering impossible. I'm summing up this place is a dump that needs lots of money and decent staff to put right. I will never ever visit this place again and I'm embarressed and angry that my friends were ripped off by staying here!!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank craiggyg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kirmit123, Manager at Greyhound Country Inn, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
We don't understand why you or your wife have written this review.!!!
YOU approached us early in 2013 to provide a catering package for your wedding reception. A number of cost packages were discussed with you.
You decided to spend less than £5 per head & it was YOUR preference to have sausage & bacon rolls; initially for 110 guests. The week before the wedding you came in to say only 60 people were expected to attend the evening function & NONE of them required a vegetarian option. You again confirmed only sausage & bacon rolls were required.
Prior to the event YOU inspected all the B & b rooms and confirmed they were more than adequate for the occasion. A discounted price of £30 per person was agreed with you.
Both on the evening of the reception and the next morning YOU
1. Admitted you had mis-informed yomily and friends as to the price of B & b, i.e. £30 per room instead of per person.
2. YOU & your wife thanked us for all our help and effort, stating how much everyone had enjoyed themselves.
3. COLD TOAST was specifically ordered by members of your family.
The only issue mentioned was one lady did not have enough hot water for a shower. As explained [and apologized for] at the time; this was due to everyone using the showers and the kitchen dishwasher at the same time. Your guest said they understood and it was not a problem.
For the sum of £300 you had unlimited, exclusive use of The Greyhound including electric [band played all evening] staff and cleaning [it took 6 people all morning to clean up children's sweets and confetti, etc.] This price was based on 110 guests attending, but we held it, despite less than half attended AND you had FREE use of the four poster bridal suite for the night.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2013

The customer service was ok.

The food was reasonably priced but sadly very poor quality.
We stayed and the (full English) was a sausage, 2 pieces of bacon, fried egg and mushroom.

The rooms were overpriced, dated and in need of modernisation. It looks like they'd tried and not completed it. The rooms weren't clean to the standard I'd expect of a bed and breakfast.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank robo12007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2013 via mobile

Rooms are tatty , need lots of repairs and some money spending on them to bring them up to date!

Over priced drinks and food that wasn't great and slow service with the staff not knowing what anyone was doing.

Wouldn't recommend and wished we had spent the ridiculous amount we were charged for food and stayed somewhere else!

If you ask for a price,double check as we were told one price and charged another

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Julia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kirmit123, Manager at Greyhound Country Inn, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
We don't understand why you or your husband have written this review.!!!
YOU approached us early in 2013 to provide a catering package for your wedding reception. A number of cost packages were discussed with you.
You decided to spend less than £5 per head & it was YOUR preference to have sausage & bacon rolls; initially for 110 guests. The week before the wedding you came in to say only 60 people were expected to attend the evening function & NONE of them required a vegetarian option. You again confirmed only sausage & bacon rolls were required.
Prior to the event YOU inspected all the B & b rooms and confirmed they were more than adequate for the occasion. A discounted price of £30 per person was agreed with you.
Both on the evening of the reception and the next morning YOU
1. Admitted you had mis-informed your family and friends as to the price of B & b, i.e. £30 per room instead of per person.
2. YOU & your husband thanked us for all our help and effort, stating how much everyone had enjoyed themselves.
3. COLD TOAST was specifically ordered by members of your family.
The only issue mentioned was one lady did not have enough hot water for a shower. As explained [and apologized for] at the time; this was due to everyone using the showers and the kitchen dishwasher at the same time. Your guest said they understood and it was not a problem.
For the sum of £300 you had unlimited, exclusive use of The Greyhound, including electric [band played all evening] staff and cleaning [it took 6 people all morning to clean up children's sweets and confetti, etc.] This price was based on 110 guests attending, but we held it, despite less than half attended AND you had FREE use of the four poster bridal suite for the night.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kiev, Ukraine
Level Contributor
65 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2013

We'd booked months in advance and the Inn seemed to have changed hands when we arrived - and got a shock as the price had doubled! The staff were fabulously helpful and friendly and the beer very well kept...The food we had including a mixed grill and steak with pepper sauce weren't awful but they weren't as good as average. Breakfast the next morning was of similar quality with a suspiciously entry level pork sausage.The rooms are perfectly functionality and comfortable although they could do with some redecoration and updating - especially the bathrooms!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2013

Make sure you don't get the collumpton room as it has the smallest double bed in the world. I am 5ft 7ins and my husband is 5ft 8ins and we both spent a very uncomfortable night with both feet hanging out of the bottom of the bed. Other than that the food was good, place was clean and quite pleasant. A bit expensive at £88.00 a night but ok

Room Tip: Avoid the collumpton room with a very small 4ft double bed, unless you are on the short side
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elayne O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fenny Bridges
0.0 mi away
Premier Inn Honiton
Premier Inn Honiton
#3 of 5 in Honiton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
0.0 mi away
Deer Park Country House Hotel
0.0 mi away
Lakeview Manor
Lakeview Manor
#4 of 5 in Honiton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Pig - at Combe
The Pig - at Combe
#2 of 5 in Honiton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 297 reviews
0.0 mi away
Home Farm Hotel
Home Farm Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wilmington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 28 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Belfry at Yarcombe
The Belfry at Yarcombe
#1 of 2 in Yarcombe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Greyhound Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Greyhound Country Inn

Property: Greyhound Country Inn
Address: Fenny Bridges, Honiton EX14 3BJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Honiton > Fenny Bridges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Fenny Bridges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Greyhound Country Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Book Direct Rooms, Priceline, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Greyhound Country Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Greyhound Hotel Honiton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing