We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Greyhound Country Inn
Nearby Hotels
Deer Park Country House Hotel(Buckerell)(Great Value!)
US$154
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
The Tumbling Weir Hotel(Ottery St. Mary)
US$147
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Premier Inn Honiton(Honiton)(Great Value!)
US$85
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$210
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$123
US$119
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lakeview Manor(Honiton)(Great Value!)
US$139
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Home Farm Hotel(Wilmington)
US$133
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$171
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$157
US$151
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Woodlands Hotel(Sidmouth)
US$189
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (225)
Filter reviews
225 results
Traveller rating
145
45
10
10
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
145
45
10
10
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe pubottery st maryate herebed was very comfortablewarm welcomestayed here for one nightvaried menuthatched roofsunday lunchplenty of parkingfeel very welcomefull englishlovely foodgenerous portionsgreat place to stayhome madefish and chips
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
199 - 204 of 225 reviews
Reviewed 28 March 2014

I have just come back from spending three nights in this lovely Pub, having stayed with three other friends. The new management team, Wayne and Tina, are working extremely hard to get the Pub up and running again with the introduction of a new Chef and staff. We were introduced to the new Chef and he did us proud with the breakfasts we had. The pub, at present, does not serve lunch or evening meals but I understand this will change from April 4th and from what I've seen of the menu the Chef showed me it will be worth the wait. The accomodation is currenty undergoing refurbishment but the rooms my friends and I stayed were clean and cosy. We liked the touch of having a fresh bottle of water in the room as well as the tea and coffee. I venture down to Cornwall a number of times each year and this Pub, being so close to the A30, will certainly be a stopping point for me in the future.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MaceyB2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014 via mobile

Under new management with Tina & Wayne, Warm & friendly welcome, Temp opening times due to major refurb but looking good already ! Kitchen will be opening soon for food orders etc with a brand new team of staff, Bar staff friendly, helpful & efficient also. They offer accommodation which again the rooms are under refurb but are still clean, warm, comfortable & spacious enough for me, my wife & daughter & suitcases lol. Plenty to do locally, Honiton has a small high street, Sidmouth was approx 20 mins away and had a lovely day by the sea, Ice cream, a coffee etc, Weekend finished with a party night & DJ, Great time had by all and look forward to staying and seeing the management, staff and the finished refurb again soon :-)

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Yougos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2014

Under new management from tonight a lovely pub with such potential that new owners have ideas of!
Really enjoyed a couple of hours here and look forward to many more. Look forward to them finding a good chef to come in and bring quality food to this lovely establishment

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank roxy1486
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2013

Stayed here for a wedding! Rooms were cold cramped and poorly accommodated! Breakfast was terrible, freezing cold toast, bacon that was so hard u couldnt pick it up with a fork. ! Very un organised. ! My daughter was left waiting for her toast even though we ordered hers first. ! Over priced drinks. ! Would definitely NOT recommed this place to anyone

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tgvb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2013

Poor staff worse food dirty cramped rooms we booked all the rooms here and ordered food for 60 people including veggies. We were told we would receive a group discount but were charged full rate, they even charged for children who were either put up on camp beds or had to sleep on the floor. The food for 60 turned out to be 30 sausages and 30 rashers of bacon plus a few rolls and 1 tray of chips ( there was no veggie option even though we had asked them to cater for veggies this ment a pregnant lady was unable to eat) The rooms were cramped and dirty some had no hot water some had no cold making showering impossible. I'm summing up this place is a dump that needs lots of money and decent staff to put right. I will never ever visit this place again and I'm embarressed and angry that my friends were ripped off by staying here!!

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank craiggyg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kirmit123, Manager at Greyhound Country Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2014

We don't understand why you or your wife have written this review.!!!
YOU approached us early in 2013 to provide a catering package for your wedding reception. A number of cost packages were discussed with you.
You decided to spend less than £5 per head & it was YOUR preference to have sausage & bacon rolls; initially for 110 guests. The week before the wedding you came in to say only 60 people were expected to attend the evening function & NONE of them required a vegetarian option. You again confirmed only sausage & bacon rolls were required.
Prior to the event YOU inspected all the B & b rooms and confirmed they were more than adequate for the occasion. A discounted price of £30 per person was agreed with you.
Both on the evening of the reception and the next morning YOU
1. Admitted you had mis-informed yomily and friends as to the price of B & b, i.e. £30 per room instead of per person.
2. YOU & your wife thanked us for all our help and effort, stating how much everyone had enjoyed themselves.
3. COLD TOAST was specifically ordered by members of your family.
The only issue mentioned was one lady did not have enough hot water for a shower. As explained [and apologized for] at the time; this was due to everyone using the showers and the kitchen dishwasher at the same time. Your guest said they understood and it was not a problem.
For the sum of £300 you had unlimited, exclusive use of The Greyhound including electric [band played all evening] staff and cleaning [it took 6 people all morning to clean up children's sweets and confetti, etc.] This price was based on 110 guests attending, but we held it, despite less than half attended AND you had FREE use of the four poster bridal suite for the night.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews