We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Magical and fantastic!”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
9 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
11 Bedrooms, 10 Bathrooms, Sleeps 24
Marsh, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 9 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Enigmatic...
Bristol
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Magical and fantastic!”
Reviewed 28 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015
2
people found this review helpful

This property is amazing. I will try not to gush too much, but if you enjoy historical buildings and manicured gardens, coupled with space, exploration, countryside and friends - then you HAVE to go here.

Went as a group of 18 adults and 5 children varying from ages 30 - 78 (Kids 3 - 14) for a 40th Birthday celebration Friday - Monday. Looking at the pictures we hoped it would be brilliant, but the pictures simply don't do it justice.

I found it to be very clean, no bathroom surprises. Well maintained, which is certainly NOT easy for a building of the magnitude, and comfortable. I have literally never stayed away from home in a comfortable bed. This was, and all the other guests were making the same comment.

We were concerned about fridge/food storage space with us all. Should never have worried. Two very large fridges, one chest freezer and a traditional pantry/larder which was cool.

There is a central drawing room with slow internet connection (but you aren't going for that) and seating for a good 20 with wood burning fire (and Tv, but again - not important). There are lots of nooks and crannies to explore, plus information on the place. The barbecue they have is very large and very efficient! The outdoor seating is great. There is a play room for the little ones, with toys and games etc. Also a VHS (yes....VHS) but it works.

What else can I say? Go. Just go!

How helpful were the directions to the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Cracked slates on the floor of the patio area.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 May 2015
Thank you very much for your wonderful review of Sheafhayne Manor. It sounds like you and your family had a fantastic time and we are delighted that the house surpassed your expectations.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James C
West Molesey, United Kingdom
1 review
“Amazing weekend in an Amazing Manor House”
Reviewed 27 January 2015 for a stay in January 2015

We stayed three nights in Jan 2015 to celebrate several Capricorn birthdays. As usual we couldn't make decision and lost out on a property we had our eyes on. Thank goodness for indecision. Sheafhayne was way more than we could have hoped for. 10 adults 9 kids 5 families. All the adults and kids had a great bedroom and bathroom, no one felt they had the bum deal. Everything we could have wanted was there, the drawing room with a fantastic wood burner (with plenty of logs supplied), the Snooker room for several drunken long long frames, the gardens and surrounding fields for walks to clear the fuzzy heads each morning and plenty of hidy holes for hide and seek games!! Oh and not forgetting the massive games room for the kids, you could have one major shin dig in that place. I would recommend this place to all and we will return. Thank you Nicola for letting us stay in your wonderful house!!

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Apr 2015
Many thanks for your kind feedback and great review of Sheafhayne Manor. We are so glad that we could help you find somewhere so well suited to the occasion, it sounds like you had a really fantastic time. We look forward to hearing from you in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve G
Long Crendon, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Ideal for large group of friends”
Reviewed 7 January 2015 for a stay in December 2014

Spent four days celebrating the New Year with a large group of friends at this property. It is huge, with more than enough space and rooms to accommodate 20-30. It has great character, with many very old, original features and an interesting history. You can play snooker, on a full size table, in one room, slump in a sofa warmed by the wood-burner in another, watch TV or play board games in another. Then there are the games rooms with table tennis, air hockey, bar football etc.
If you like modern facilities, new furniture and contemporary style, this is not the place for you. But if you like a unique, historical house with old-fashioned comforts then rent Sheafhayne Manor for your special event, family get-together, or as a base in a beautiful part of the country.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Room for everybody to socialise together or do their own thing
Liked least: Fixtures and fittings were well used
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Apr 2015
Many thanks for taking the time to write a great review for Sheafhayne Manor, it sounds like you had a fantastic New Year here with your friends. I’m so pleased you enjoyed your stay and made full use of the excellent facilities that this property has to offer.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salesgang
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Breathtaking!”
Reviewed 29 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We had a fantastic stay, house is beautiful and the grounds breathtaking. We had children with us and I was worried they would be scared staying in such an old place but they absolutely loved it, it was very relaxed and they felt right at home, the large games room was just fabulous for them but most of all they had amazing fun investigating the gardens and fields.

Would love to return one day.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Oct 2014
Thank you very much for your kind feedback. I'm glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Sheafhayne Manor. I can understand the concerns about children, but I'm glad that these were soon put to rest. It's a beautiful old house, and we feel it perfectly combines history and the warmth of a family home, with plenty of scope for adventure at all ages.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle...
Bridgend, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Brilliant time”
Reviewed 2 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

This was our second visit here. There were 18 of us this time. We had a 1980's disco night on the Saturday, it was hilarious!! Beautiful place; we stayed all week and the weather was lovely so we enjoyed relaxing around the gardens. The house is stunning and has everything you need. Nothing is too pristine, it's all very relaxed so you don't have to worry too much if you smash the odd glass. Would highly recommend this as a venue for a large party or even a wedding.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Aug 2014
Thank you very much for your review of G1. I'm glad to hear that you had such a fabulous time - the disco party sounds wonderful! You're absolutely right; this is a favourite venue for so many events, including beautiful weddings.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephanie...
Kent England
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“90th Celebrations”
Reviewed 31 March 2014 for a stay in March 2014
3
people found this review helpful

We took our mum to stay here to celebrate her 90th birthday. In the war she was in service at Sheafhayne Manor and was really surprised when we told her we had hired it. I was very fortunate to stay in a wing with both my new grandchildren. Under the house, what was once a ballroom, is now a playroom which was ideal for the children. The dining room is amazing and was fantastic when we all sat down to breakfast which the men had cooked.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: That most the family could stay.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Apr 2014
Thank you very much for your kind review. What a wonderful story! I hope your Mum is taking away with her more happy memories of this lovely property, and I hope we will see you again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing