We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic B&B, fantastic breakfast!”
Review of West Colwell Farm

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Offwell
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
West Colwell Farm
Ranked #1 of 1 Offwell B&B and Inns
Surrey, England
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Fantastic B&B, fantastic breakfast!”
Reviewed 12 September 2009

Stayed at West Colwell in July for a friends wedding - they were getting married just down the road. We knew is would be in the middle of no where, and it is, but that is one part of its charm. Fantastic welcome, and fab cake and tea. We have one of the rooms up in the roof, and it was a perfect size with perfect furniture, my only downside was it did get a little warm, as you could not have the windows open if it rained. So we were a little stuck. But loved the fab steps to see the cool view and the stars at night!

Breakfast was just spot on with amzing local food and yummy bread - kept me going throughout the whole wedding on the saturday!

I would have loved to have stayed here longer and gone for walks etc, however shame the village did not have a local pub!

Perfect B&B for our trip - many thanks

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BertieB49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
20
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2009

Received a warm welcome on arrival with some homemade cake and drinks. Rooms were spacious and in pristine condition, felt like we were the first people to stay there. Windows gave wonderful views of countryside and we had a private patio area. Excellent choice of breakfasts that were all freshly prepared. Entirely comfortable and relaxing stay.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Reviewer1106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2009

A brief two night stay in the Blossom Room, a cheery welcome & introduction from Carol complete with tea & Frank's home made cake, a really was a nice touch together with a concise explaination of what & where which covered all essential points. Breakfast is excellent & cooked to order with many delicious & locally sourced options.

Our room Blossom was located above the ground floor B&B accomodation in the well planned & attractive eaves of the B&B barn conversion with some creaky floorboards we were conscious of not trying to disturb our fellow downstairs guests after 9pm. My wife claims she heard the header tank dripping all night, so perhaps that filler valve needs some adjustement to fill it quicker & kill the drips?

Our attractive & very clean room was well presented with the touches expected from a quality B&B the queen size bed was Oh so comfy. The room is enhanced by exposed beams emphasising the country barn style of the accomodation & it works very well. Natural light in the Blossom room comes from various small but adequate skylights, the modern bathroom is enhanced by a good sized shower cubical, quite suitable for two.....

A well managed quality B&B in a tranquil location with fine attention to detail with owners who are quite charming, we would willingly return & endorse this B&B for those seeking quality a peace.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VanguardAction
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertfordshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 July 2009

This lovely quiet B & B set in rolling countryside is superb for a holiday. Frank and Carol are wonderful hosts and really make you feel like a family friend rather than a paying guest. Our room 'Captain' was a good size with its own terrace outside and very comfortable. Breakfast was a lovely leisurely affair and so scrumptious we didn't need lunch. We really enjoyed our week here and will certainly recommend it to our friends.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DipsHerts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2008

Lovely little b&b in east devon.
Hubbie and I stayed in Captains room, an abs fab room only gripes with the room, a little close to the breakfast room and owners quarters for my liking, takes me a while to relax anywhere new especially if i think folks can hear me pottering about, but thats prob just me. Also rooms do have great showers, but unfortunatly no bath. Great points rooms have their own decking area outside for supper al fresco and bbq's. The bed, I have to say is the comfiest i've ever been in. Decor and furnishings top notch. Oh and loved the welcome tea on arrival with homemade cake. Owners very helpful in advising on the local area and whats going on and I love the fact that you can have brekkie when you want (we had a long journey down and a next day breakfast of 9:30 was much appreciated) breakfast options fresh fruit salad, porridge, granola, cereals, american options, full english (bacon, hash brown, eggs, mushrooms) oh and toast from homemade bread finishes things off a treat.
All in all go there, great place :)

  • Liked — the bed and being able to have breakfast at a time to suit!
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank charmouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2007

My wife and I have just returned from our second short break at West Colwell Farm. Ideally located for exploration of East Devon and the Jurassic Coast, this peaceful place can be recommended for many reasons apart from just where is happens to be. Located close to the village of Offwell near Honiton (signposted from the A35 road) the Farm is convenient for road transport to other areas within the region and far enough from busy thoroughfares without being remote.

Proprietors Frank and Carol Hayes will give the visitor a warm welcome with freshly made tea or coffee. The en suite rooms are in what is a tastefully converted outbuilding adjacent to the main farmhouse and just a few steps from the car park. Descriptive directions to the farm are provided and are easy to follow. We have stayed in the “Farmer” and “Captain” rooms (names after some 1920s working horses) and both are decorated to a high standard and are faultlessly clean and are inspected daily. The big shower is great for the larger person (or two!). Tea and coffee facilities are available in the rooms. A visit to the Farm’s website will give more details of the accommodation.

Bed and breakfast are provided and a menu is provided to suite most tastes. Frank’s fine cooking must be mentioned here. Local restaurants are checked out and a recommended list provided together with local countryside walks and details of other places of interest. A visit to nearby Joshua’s is a must if you like traditional and natural foods.

Suitable for couples it should be remembered that this is a working farm with a handful of lovely Devon Ruby cattle. I recommend the purchase of some meat at the end of any stay – the finest steak I have ever eaten.

If you need a relaxing break away from it all then this is the place to stay. The AA rating is richly deserved. And this is a better alternative to the out of town hotel chains for the same price.

Stayed October 2007
Helpful?
3 Thank Southendian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South West, England
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2006

We stayed at West Colwell Farm in Jan 2005. We specifically wanted to stay in the Wilmington/Offwell area as we were looking to relocate here.

I found West Colwell Farm on the web [----] and immediately liked the look of it.

We arrived late afternoon to a warm welcome from Frank and Carol, the owners. I was starting to come down with a cold and Carol immediately made afternoon tea for us in the lovely dining area which had large patio doors overlooking the beautiful East Devon countryside.

We had booked 'Farmer' which is a lovely cosy room with patio doors onto its own private terrace, as it was January we didn't bother with this much but its a wonderful addition for those visiting in the summer months!

Our room was large with a lovely comfortable bed. The room and ensuite were spotlessly clean and had good quality furniture and fittings throughout. What we loved best was the warm and homely feeling you got when you stepped in the room which had been thoughtfully designed and furnished by Frank and Carol.

The guest accomodation are all away from the main house, our room had its own entrance and we were given a key which was great as we could come and go as we pleased.

We both agreed that this was the best hotel/B&B/accomodation we had ever stayed in and came away completely relaxed from our visit.

We thoroughly recommend it!

  • Stayed January 2005
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank z1ppy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to West Colwell Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Colwell Farm

Property: West Colwell Farm
Address: Offwell, Honiton EX14 9SL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Honiton > Offwell
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Offwell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing