We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Position, Accommodation and Hosts Perfect.”
Review of West Colwell Farm

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Offwell
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
West Colwell Farm
Ranked #1 of 1 Offwell B&B and Inns
Reviewed 21 June 2010

West Colwell Farm B&B is in an idyllic setting. The room we had was just lovely and having access to a seating terrace outside of the bedroom an added bonus, especially as the weather was warm and sunny. To sit outside with the beautiful view across the peaceful valley created the iceing on the cake. The hosts were so hospitable and the breakfasts excellent.

Stayed: June 2010, travelled with friends
Thank footlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (30)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

21 - 27 of 30 reviews

Reviewed 28 March 2010

Owners very friendly and went out of their way to be helpful to the point of even arranging a surprise birthday cake for my husband as it was his birthday on the night we arrived. Communication prior to the stay was excellent and owners directions to the B&B were clear. We stayed in the Blossom room which was very clean and pretty. Bed was very soft and comfy.
Cooked breakfast was made for us in the morning and scenery is magnificent.
Jackie

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MOLLY_CHICK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2009

Stayed at West Colwell in July for a friends wedding - they were getting married just down the road. We knew is would be in the middle of no where, and it is, but that is one part of its charm. Fantastic welcome, and fab cake and tea. We have one of the rooms up in the roof, and it was a perfect size with perfect furniture, my only downside was it did get a little warm, as you could not have the windows open if it rained. So we were a little stuck. But loved the fab steps to see the cool view and the stars at night!

Breakfast was just spot on with amzing local food and yummy bread - kept me going throughout the whole wedding on the saturday!

I would have loved to have stayed here longer and gone for walks etc, however shame the village did not have a local pub!

Perfect B&B for our trip - many thanks

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BertieB49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2009

Received a warm welcome on arrival with some homemade cake and drinks. Rooms were spacious and in pristine condition, felt like we were the first people to stay there. Windows gave wonderful views of countryside and we had a private patio area. Excellent choice of breakfasts that were all freshly prepared. Entirely comfortable and relaxing stay.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Reviewer1106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2009

A brief two night stay in the Blossom Room, a cheery welcome & introduction from Carol complete with tea & Frank's home made cake, a really was a nice touch together with a concise explaination of what & where which covered all essential points. Breakfast is excellent & cooked to order with many delicious & locally sourced options.

Our room Blossom was located above the ground floor B&B accomodation in the well planned & attractive eaves of the B&B barn conversion with some creaky floorboards we were conscious of not trying to disturb our fellow downstairs guests after 9pm. My wife claims she heard the header tank dripping all night, so perhaps that filler valve needs some adjustement to fill it quicker & kill the drips?

Our attractive & very clean room was well presented with the touches expected from a quality B&B the queen size bed was Oh so comfy. The room is enhanced by exposed beams emphasising the country barn style of the accomodation & it works very well. Natural light in the Blossom room comes from various small but adequate skylights, the modern bathroom is enhanced by a good sized shower cubical, quite suitable for two.....

A well managed quality B&B in a tranquil location with fine attention to detail with owners who are quite charming, we would willingly return & endorse this B&B for those seeking quality a peace.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VanguardAction
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2009

This lovely quiet B & B set in rolling countryside is superb for a holiday. Frank and Carol are wonderful hosts and really make you feel like a family friend rather than a paying guest. Our room 'Captain' was a good size with its own terrace outside and very comfortable. Breakfast was a lovely leisurely affair and so scrumptious we didn't need lunch. We really enjoyed our week here and will certainly recommend it to our friends.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DipsHerts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2008

Lovely little b&b in east devon.
Hubbie and I stayed in Captains room, an abs fab room only gripes with the room, a little close to the breakfast room and owners quarters for my liking, takes me a while to relax anywhere new especially if i think folks can hear me pottering about, but thats prob just me. Also rooms do have great showers, but unfortunatly no bath. Great points rooms have their own decking area outside for supper al fresco and bbq's. The bed, I have to say is the comfiest i've ever been in. Decor and furnishings top notch. Oh and loved the welcome tea on arrival with homemade cake. Owners very helpful in advising on the local area and whats going on and I love the fact that you can have brekkie when you want (we had a long journey down and a next day breakfast of 9:30 was much appreciated) breakfast options fresh fruit salad, porridge, granola, cereals, american options, full english (bacon, hash brown, eggs, mushrooms) oh and toast from homemade bread finishes things off a treat.
All in all go there, great place :)

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank charmouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to West Colwell Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Colwell Farm

Address: Offwell, Honiton EX14 9SL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Honiton > Offwell
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Offwell
Price Range: £70 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing