We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best B&B for warmth & friendliness”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Luppitt
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Dolish Farmhouse Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 1 Luppitt B&B and Inns
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Best B&B for warmth & friendliness”
Reviewed 10 April 2013

We received a very warm, friendly welcome, how lovely to have home made cake and a cup of tea after a long journey. Jane & Jonathan were extremely helpful and informative about the area, which is really wonderful and well worth a visit. The bedrooms are large and such comfortable beds. Breakfast was not too early, it was amazing the amount of food that we could have and was really delicious, you can't beat home made bread! We highly recommend staying at this delightful B&B, you will enjoy yourselves.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ninettedevalois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JonathanSoar, Owner at Dolish Farmhouse Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 11 April 2013
Thank you so much for your very positive comments. I always "eye up" Jane's home-made cakes when she is preparing them for guests (I only get the tail-ends and the broken bits but that's good enough for me!). Glad you enjoyed the home-made bread too. We try and use the very best and freshest and most local ingredients that we can.Taste to us is paramount and the smell of fresh bread does get the taste buds going! Thank you for choosing Dolish Farmhouse. We look forward to welcoming you back very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    49
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
31
Solo
0
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2013

Dolish Farmhouse is in a wonderfully quiet setting away from the world and managed by wonderful helpful people. You are catered for and looked after, but service is not over bearing and you are free to come and go as you please. Rooms are cosy and comfy, not over furnished and more than suitable as a B&B. Breakfast was lovely, choices of cereals, hot and cold food and even an offer of "take-a-way" on the basis we needed to leave early, so helpful. There is a good choice of room types and ample space for feeling comfortable. If you have a large vehicle, watch the drive in as it's single track roads, this is no problem, just be prepared.

Room Tip: Check with the owners but the separate self catering rooms look great (but we didn't try these).
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SiV26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JonathanSoar, Owner at Dolish Farmhouse Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 11 April 2013
So glad you enjoyed your stay at Dolish so much. Yes, we are blessed with an exceptionally peaceful environment here in Luppitt. For the benefit of other future guests, the route to Luppitt from the A30 at Monkton via the hamlet of Beacon (10 mins) is all on narrow single track lanes - very rural and quaint with some lovely views - but narrow! There is an alternative route to Luppitt from the A30 junction at Honiton following the signs north towards Dunkeswell/Smeatharpe. This route is nearly all on wider 2-way roads except for the village street down through Luppitt....better for wider vehicles but still with some lovely views.
Many thanks for your trouble to submit your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2013

We have stayed in many B&B's and have just come back from spending a wonderful 2 nights at Dolish Farmhouse and it is the best B&B that we've ever stayed in! The owners - Jane & Jonathan were charming, friendly and extremely hospitable - you felt as if you were staying with friends.
We arrived after a 5 hour drive, to some delicious, freshly made, lemon drizzle cake (still warm) and some lovely tea & coffee.
The farmhouse has been renovated to exceptionally high standards and is really tastefully decorated. We stayed in the Hartridge room and had the best nights sleep that we've had in a very long time. We had a superking sized bed - perfect for my 6'4'' husband! The mattress was memory foam - the first time we've slept on this and it was extremely comfortable. The bedroom was large, with plenty of wardrobe & drawer space. There was also a sofa and little table, which was great, so we didn't have to just sit on the bed. There were tea & coffee making facilities and Jane would frequently bring us little flasks of fresh milk up to the bedroom.
The bathroom was a really great size, with a fabulous large shower, sink & toilet. There was also the welcome addition of a chair in the bathroom too. There was always plenty of hot water, no matter what time of day or night.
The entire farmhouse is warm and cosy and it's spotlessly clean and there are lots of little personal touches throughout.
Jane's breakfasts are to die for! The best cooked breakfast that we've ever had. Not greasy, full of flavour and cooked to perfection, all of which I believe is sourced locally. They have their own hens and you can really taste the difference between their hens eggs and the supermarket eggs that we're used to. Jane also makes fresh bread each morning, which is delicious and the preserves are locally produced. She also provides cereals, yogurt and fresh fruit.
Dolish Farmhouse is in blisfully quiet surroundings, down a really quiet country lane with nothing to hear but birdsong - a perfect location to get away from it all. We have certainly come away feeling really refreshed & relaxed.
Jane & Jonathon also showed us around their other rooms available to book in the future, including self catering accomodation, which we're considering about using in the future if we come again with our children. All the rooms are tastefully furnished and decorated to as high a standard as our room was. So which ever room you book - you will not be disappointed.
We booked the farmhouse as a base to stay at, whilst we attended a wedding in a nearby village and our only disappointment was that we couldn't have stayed at Dolish Farmhouse longer. We really didn't want to leave!! When we are next in the area, we will without doubt book the Dolish Farmhouse to stay in again.
We cannot recommend it highly enough....Book...You will NOT be disappointed! We initially booked it, after reading the previous glowing reports on here. Just check out all the previous reviews - we can't all be wrong!!!!
Thank you Jane & Jonathon for making us feel so welcome & providing us with a wonderful slice of much needed rest and relaxation.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RMAR75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JonathanSoar, Owner at Dolish Farmhouse Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 14 February 2013
Well that's the most detailed review we have ever received! Thank you so much for the time and effort you have put into that. It means a great deal to us as owners to have such positive feedback and gives us renewed energy! More importantly of course it's enormously informative for prospective future guests.
I'm glad we had the opportunity to show you our self-catering "Cider Loft" hide-away too (which is now listed separately on Trip Advisor under Honiton Holiday Rentals.) Looking forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herts
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2012

We stayed 2 nights at this fantastic bed and breakfast and would highly recommend to anyone. Our room was great, massive bed, although the memory foam mattress was not to our liking, but this is purely a personal thing. Bathroom spotless with good shower and plenty of hot water. As someone else has said, a lovely touch with the chair in the bathroom and coat hooks on the bedroom wall. Masses of space in the wardrobes too. This really is a quality b & b and we will not be going anywhere else when visiting our relatives close by. The breakfast was superb, on the first morning I mentioned I did not like smoked bacon and the next morning Jonathan had got some in especially, which was a lovely touch and much appreciated. The homemade bread was to die for as was all the food. The only thing missing for us was a TV in the room, but can understand the reasons that TV's were not in the rooms (in case other guests came in late and had the sound up high to disturb other guests). Although maybe a polite note would suffice?

Room Tip: All rooms were great (we had a guided tour) Although one is not ensuite but private bathroom opposit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnieMHerts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JonathanSoar, Owner at Dolish Farmhouse Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 10 December 2012
Thank you so much for your comprehensive appraisal. Jane & I are delighted that you plan to return to Dolish. Sorry that the memory foam mattress in Hartridge didn't suit you. If there's one thing we've learnt after 35 years in tourism it's that in B&B the bed is important and so is the breakfast... but there is no bed that suits everyone! We've based our furnishing choices on what we believe suits most visitors most of the time and try to offer some choice. e.g. our 6 foot super-king link bed with memory foam mattress, which nearly all our visitors find supremely comfortable, and two regular double beds with good quality pocket sprung mattresses, one a bit firmer than the other. We've made sure that all these details are clear on our website. We've found that most people prefer smoked bacon too..but understandably not everyone! We use best dry-cure back bacon but one or two prefer streaky..some like it fleshy. some prefer it so crispy it pings off the plate! We just aim for the best quality we can afford, in everything. Yes, TV in rooms is a tricky one. I know you understand that this is a deliberate decision on our part (not of course out of meanness!) - we do market Dolish specifically as a rural 'retreat' where you can expect tranquility & peace, surrounded by nature. We've tried using polite notices re TV volume late at night & early in the morning at past establishments with mixed results I'm afraid. It could be very upsetting for guests that have come for a complete rest to be disturbed by a TV in an adjoining bedroom, so to avoid this risk our compromise is a guests' dedicated TV lounge downstairs. Many of our guests find this arrangement a relief. Our new Self-Catering "Cider Loft" apartment does have a TV, as this is further away from our B&B rooms.
Very helpful to have raised the issue though and thank you for your understanding on this.
(P.S. I've noted your bacon preference ready for your next visit!)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 November 2012

We were served with tea and biscuits on arrival, a gesture much appreciated after several hours on the road. Our room was a delight with an enormous and very comfortable bed. The bathroom was pristine. The additional small touches of a chair in the bathroom, coat hooks on the bedroom wall and fresh milk in a thermos to make your own tea were very thoughtful. Breakfast was excellent. Jane and Jonathan were the perfect hosts, friendly and charming to chat with. Unfortunately, we were only able to stay one night.

Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank John J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JonathanSoar, Owner at Dolish Farmhouse Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 19 November 2012
Jane is also a 'dab hand' at making really delicious lemon drizzle cakes and chocolate cakes. She always offers guests on arrival either warm cakes or at least tea and biscuits. (This is why I'm often found hovering hopefully near the kitchen around 4pm!) Thank you very much for all your helpful feedback. It's the mention of the smaller details that helps paint a picture for other potential guests. We hope you'll be able to stay longer on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Godstone
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 September 2012

Some of the best B & B accommodation we have ever stayed at: we felt almost part of the family with Jane and Jonathan's warm friendly approach. Lovely, comfortable and airy bedrooms, good size bathrooms with modern fittings and powerful showers in a large old farmhouse renovated to a very high standard. Comfortable lounge with TV and selection of DVDs and books. All this in a peaceful rural setting. Excellent tasty breakfasts using locally sourced produce where possible.
They offer self-catering too with a huge kitchen. Can Google it for more info. We enjoyed it so much we have stayed twice in succession.

Room Tip: Check their website for details
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JonathanSoar, Owner at Dolish Farmhouse Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 5 October 2012
..and we hope you will return again soon for your 3rd visit! We'l have to line up another Bollywood DVD for you! It was a great pleasure to have you stay once again and thank you for helping to give future guests some first-hand insights. Glad you liked our home-pressed apple juice..despite the poor year for apples, we nearly have enough for another pressing. We also plan to replant the old apple orchard this winter.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Austell
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2012

What an excellent place to spend the night. A very warm welcome to this beautifully renovated farmhouse. Our room was spacious, spotless and very tastefully decorated. The recommended pub for dinner did not disappoint and the breakfast was lovely. Would definitely rate this 5 star!!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roy067
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JonathanSoar, Owner at Dolish Farmhouse Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 20 September 2012
So glad you enjoyed your overnight stay with us and thank you so much for reviewing your experience. We're finding that we're pretty ideally situated for a peaceful stop-over for those en route to or from Cornwall or West Devon..as you now know, once in the Luppitt valley, it's hard to believe that you're just 10 minutes from the A30 at Honiton and 20 minutes from the M5 at Wellington!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Luppitt
1.4 mi away
Lakeview Manor
Lakeview Manor
#4 of 5 in Honiton
288 reviews
4.6 mi away
Deer Park Country House Hotel
4.8 mi away
Rose Farm B&B
Rose Farm B&B
#2 of 3 in Wilmington
43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Barn Park Farm
Barn Park Farm
#2 of 3 in Stockland
17 reviews
2.3 mi away
Monkton Court Hotel
Monkton Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Monkton
189 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Old Kennels
The Old Kennels
#1 of 1 in Dunkeswell
32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dolish Farmhouse Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dolish Farmhouse Bed & Breakfast

Property: Dolish Farmhouse Bed & Breakfast
Address: Luppitt EX14 4RT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Luppitt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Luppitt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quality Farmhouse B&B and Self Catering retreat in tranquil Devon valley. Set in 4 acres traditional barns and land. Lovely gardens.Tasteful comfortable warm en-suite rooms. Beautifully restored using traditional materials. Dining Hall with flagstones, inglenook & woodburner. Guest's Sitting Room & small terrace.Delicious home-made bread and our own free-range eggs! Renewable energy sources. Wonderful walking. Wildlife. Winding lanes. Village inns. World Heritage Jurassic Coast 25 mins. Honiton and A30 10 mins. M5 20 mins. Exeter Airport 25 mins. Eco-aware friendly relaxed hosts. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing