We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet and Cozy”
Review of Island View Resort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Knife River
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Island View Resort
omaha, nebraska
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Quiet and Cozy”
Reviewed 20 August 2012

We stayed here before and after Grandma's Marathon 2011. The resort is located at about Mile 5 of the marathon route. The resort was perfect. The cabins were clean and warm (it's still chilly up there in June!). The kitchenette was perfect for cooking in and had all the utensils we needed. The bathroom was small and the shower/tub was very small, but it worked, had hot water, and the pressure was just fine. The owners are friendly and low key. If you need a nice quiet place to stay, for Grandma's Marathon or not, I cannot recommend Island View enough!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank amy c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    33
    8
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
24
15
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fargo, North Dakota
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2012

We reserved four cabins for a family reunion; our family included grade school children through grandparents and we stayed in five cabins on the property. The largest is a converted mobile home that can sleep six; it has a large living room and kitchen. The smallest cabin had a combined sleeping area and kitchen, separate bath and a cute porch that looks out on Superior. Cabins were immaculate and well stocked with paper goods and kitchenware. The family that owns the resort is friendly, helpful and unobtrusive. Basically, we only saw them when we needed them. They truly welcomed us and wanted us to enjoy our stay.

The cabins are situated in a wooded area that borders on an open field that looks out onto Superior. The resort is great for a quiet time with family and for quick trips to Duluth or Gooseberry falls. You are about a 20 minute drive from Duluth and from Gooseberry falls, but you are not on the Lake. You must walk about 20 minutes to a public, pebble beach to reach Superior. There is a fire pit for evening bonfires and many charcoal grills, but don't expect a lot of activity at the resort. I get the sense, though, that people do return year after year. Unlike many Minnesota cabins, you can rent these by the day instead of the week.

Room Tip: If traveling with a group, try to reserve the mobile home so that you have a place to gather.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EconProf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mpls, mn
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 May 2012

We love the Island View Resort. This charming collection of nine fully-furnished, spotlessly-maintained, early 20th-century cabins really make us feel like we are "up north". While still maintaining old-fashioned charm, they do have modern modern amenities, e.g.,TVs and DVD players for rainy days. Prices are great!

Room Tip: Each of the cabins is charming, Check out the photos on their web site to choose the right one. Th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bryn_Mawr_Mpls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eagan, Minnesota
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2012

Cabins are older but clean. Right by the lake. Nice stay.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EaganMN55123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Knife River
8.5 mi away
Superior Shores Resort
Superior Shores Resort
#4 of 6 in Two Harbors
419 reviews
17.4 mi away
Grand Superior Lodge
Grand Superior Lodge
#2 of 6 in Two Harbors
502 reviews
6.7 mi away
Country Inn of Two Harbors
Country Inn of Two Harbors
#3 of 6 in Two Harbors
186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Two Harbors
6.8 mi away
Voyageur Motel
Voyageur Motel
#6 of 6 in Two Harbors
43 reviews
19.3 mi away
Park Point Marina Inn
Park Point Marina Inn
#2 of 33 in Duluth
495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Island View Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island View Resort

Property: Island View Resort
Address: 249 Scenic Drive, Knife River, MN 55609
Region: United States > Minnesota > Knife River
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Knife River
Number of rooms: 11

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing