We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Island View Resort
Nearby Hotels
Larsmont Cottages on Lake Superior(Two Harbors)(Great Value!)
US$76
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Two Harbors(Two Harbors)(Great Value!)
US$111
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$107
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Country Inn of Two Harbors(Two Harbors)(Great Value!)
US$104
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$100
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Voyageur Motel(Two Harbors)
US$82
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lake Breeze Motel Resort(Duluth)(Great Value!)
US$155
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$128
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$117
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$119
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$89
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$79
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$73
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$193
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Grand Superior Lodge(Two Harbors)(Great Value!)
US$100
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$77
Groupon.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (46)
Filter reviews
46 results
Traveller rating
36
8
2
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
36
8
2
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfire pitnorth shoregas stovetwo harborsnice ownersrustic settingsmall kitchenstayed heregracious hostscomfy bedgooseberry fallssherylkennellake
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
38 - 43 of 46 reviews
Reviewed 8 May 2013

Convenient to Duluth, comfortable but not extravagant, and cozy is how I would describe the cabins at Island View. I've stayed here many times and have brought many friends and family here and will continue to do so. They are dog-friendly which is great, leaving part of the family at home is never fun!

The cabins we've stayed in mostly are #10 and #11. They're always super clean, have everything you could possibly need for cooking, plenty of fresh towels, and the only time you see the owners is checking in and checking out. It's very relaxing, and the view down the hill of the lake is beautiful. Some cabins don't have the best view, but just a very short walk outside your cabin and there's Lake Superior!

If you're looking for a place that's "homey-feeling", where you can bring fido, and is just a short and scenic drive to Duluth, this is your place!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank thegbelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2012

We have been coming to Island View for about 8 years now. We LOVE it! We have come to see cabin # 3 as our home away home. Small and sweet, every thing we could ever need for rustic holiday up north. Shut off your phones, leave your computers at home and get ready to listen to the sounds of lake Superior as it sings you to sleep. Enjoy the community fire pit, expertly prepped by Bob himself. Take a walk to buy some Candy from the Candy shop, and stop for a drink at Emily's, all within walking distance from the sweet little yellow cabins by the lake. The best part yet, you can bring your dogs! No more having to board them at a kennel, thinking to yourself how much they would love, and you would love to have them there with you. Go to Island View and ENJOY!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sara J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2012

We stayed in cabin #9 with our two little dogs, watched old movies on tv and enjoyed the Lake Superior shore. The cabin was spotless, a comfy bed, rocking chair and couch. We didn't cook , but the kitchen is complete and a plus - a gas range! We ate dinners a the Rustic Inn and enjoyed wonderful beef and mashed potatoes nd mussels and crab in a wine, garlic and cream sauce over pasta.

We had a nice view of the lake through the picture window and it snowed just to make it a winter wonderland. Privacy, beauty and woods, and the lake. It does not get any better than this! We are returning in July 2013!

Room Tip: Great for families, couples, or singles who want time away. There are gift shops, coffee shops and just interesting people to talk to along the scenic route.
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Nancy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2012

My husband and I just returned from the Island View Resort. We really enjoyed our stay. The resort owners were very friendly and helpful. We stayed in one of the cabins facing Lake Superior. What a view! We enjoyed a bonfire on the first night. The resort was quiet and peaceful. It is also a short walk from a beautiful beach and the Knife River Marina. Also, we loved that the resort is pet friendly. It was nice to be able to bring our dog with and not worry about finding someone to watch her. We enjoyed our stay and would definitely come back.

Room Tip: When reserving a cabin, try to get one with a lake view. It is such a nice view!
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank smoregirl27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2012

We stayed here before and after Grandma's Marathon 2011. The resort is located at about Mile 5 of the marathon route. The resort was perfect. The cabins were clean and warm (it's still chilly up there in June!). The kitchenette was perfect for cooking in and had all the utensils we needed. The bathroom was small and the shower/tub was very small, but it worked, had hot water, and the pressure was just fine. The owners are friendly and low key. If you need a nice quiet place to stay, for Grandma's Marathon or not, I cannot recommend Island View enough!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank amy c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews