We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“LOVED IT..RELAXING- RUSTIC- GREAT LAKE VIEW”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Lake City
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
John Hall's Alaskan Lodge
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Lake City
Certificate of Excellence
eagan, mn
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“LOVED IT..RELAXING- RUSTIC- GREAT LAKE VIEW”
Reviewed 12 October 2011

My husband and I visited Lake City early in September and had only a one night stay here. Wish it would have been longer. This place is beautiful. The owners definately take pride in their establishment and it shows. We had a fireplace whirlpool suite and the room was spotless! The furnishings were rustic and the bed was oh so comfortable. It was a gorgeous night and the view of the lake was great. The staff here are extremely friendly and helpful .This is one of my favorite towns to visit in the Fall..and this lodge is now my favorite place to stay when visiting Lake City! Great place - you will love it!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sammieann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    46
    26
    6
    0
    2
See reviews for
13
45
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2011

We came here for a 3 night stay. It was a really inexpensive getaway only $80 a night for this two person suite. The staff were very accomodating suggesting things to do and places to eat. You gotta check out the Chickadee restaurant in the house, it had great home cooked breakfasts and great peach hot tea! Also, the pizza place Toroninos is great too. There are 2 rooms - one room has a tv, mini refridgerator, microwave, table, comfy couch and queen size bed. The other room has a tiny bathroom and queen size bed. For the price, it's nice.

The only things we really did not like, is that we could hear the traffic as it's right smack on highway 61. The view is great - across the hwy is Lake Pepin but the traffic noise was noticeable especially when the air conditioner was not on. The other thing is the air conditioner unit is in the bedroom with the bathroom so the other bedroom didn't feel it as much at night. Thirdly, the bathroom is TINY. If you are a big person, it won't work. The shower is tiny -hardly room to move, and the bathroom is tiny too...hardly room to move. It worked for us because we are medium sized people. :) Also, when the maid made up our room, she didn't really remake the beds... so, if you want her to do that, you need to specify. Finally, our first night stay, the toilet was leaking but we let staff know and they fixed the issue immediately.

All in all for the money, it's to be expected that it's not perfect. But it was still a nice time together and away from the cities. :) I love lake city, the town is adorable and has a small town Boston feel. Really nice..

PS ask a resident about the lockless monster in Lake Pepin too! :)

Room Tip: I'd ask for a bigger couple's suite...to get more for the money. We stayed in a standard sui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank My1destiny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, Minnesota
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2011

I stayed in room #2 (a superior whirlpool suite) and watched the Lake City fireworks display from the parking lot. The bed was very comfortable, the whirlpool jets were very strong and felt good after a walk along the Lake Pepin river walk prior to the fireworks. The kitchenette includes a refridgerator, coffee maker, toaster, microwave, an adequate amount of dishes, glasses, coffee cups and silverware.

I also loved the two chairs with a small table attached outside the room. Sat there and ate breakfast this morning while enjoying the beautiful view of the lake across the street. I took the advice of another reviewer and wore earplugs while sleeping so the traffic on the highway wouldn't wake me up.

There were two suites available when I arrived (one standard and one superior). I asked to see them and the office gave me both keys and let me go take a look. Another big plus in the service category. I went for the superior to treat myself.

Would stay again with no hesitation and would recommend it to friends.

Room Tip: Ask to see available rooms prior to check in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tootflute
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pequot Lakes, Minnesota
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2011

Two couples traveling together stayed in separate Superior Suites on the main floor of the Alaska Lodge! Rooms were very spacious, clean, and cozy with all the comforts of home plus a jacuzzi and a fireplace and a great view of Lake Pepin! What a deal for the price! We would highly recommend staying here. The only drawbacks were some occasional highway noise from a passing truck and the lack of a table suitable for playing cards.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank N0rthernMNTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
66 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2010

We were driving by on the Great River Road trip and tired, and decided to check the rooms for the night. For what we thought was a decent rate, we were given a large superior suite room (#1 - end of the second building corner room), and were astounded after opening the door. The room was huge - apartment sized, with a gas fireplace, leather sofa, flat screen tv, kitchen with larger fridge, micro, coffemaker, and lots of dishes, as well as a "breakfast bar" for eating at. The bathroom was also mammoth - with one of the best hotel showers we've ever had (the spray was strong and felt great!), a large Kohler whirlpool bath, and separate water closet. The room also came with a DVD player - nice touch! Free wi-fi too!

Outside the room were two chairs to sit and view the beautiful Lake Pepin.

The owners live on site - so what appears to be upstairs rooms are really their homes. Yes this hotel is located right next to the Hwy, but the noise really didn't bother me much, and I'm easily distracted and a light sleeper (always travel with ear plugs).

The only cons, other than traffic, were the bed - kind of soft, and with all those other amenities, a king would surely be appreciated!, and the windows have wood blinds only. Would be nice to have heavy drapes to drown out light and add additional privacy.

We'd stay here again in a heartbeat. Thank you to the owners for building such a great place!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ms_Miltown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
spring ,texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 August 2010

I 've stayed twice. I asked to stay in the SUPERIOR SUITE which is one of the new ones with jacuizzi, large spa-type shower, flat screen tv, fireplace, sitting area and bar area. The decor is alaska and cozy. The property is nicely maintained and is across from the Lake. A great value for a lovely hotel room.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank llovetotravel60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mendota, Illinois
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2010

Spent the first hour killing flies~the bathroom was ridiculous~so small and everything felt damp~air conditioner in bedroom was noisy,and didn't begin to cool the living area~bed was o.k. for comfort~makes me wonder if the "luxurious suites"are all they say~won't find out,because won't stay there again~wish we had gone down the street to Americinn.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank badtrip1054
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lake City
0.1 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Lake City
14.7 mi away
St. James Hotel
St. James Hotel
#1 of 9 in Red Wing
4.0 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
15.6 mi away
Best Western Rivertown Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.4 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Red Wing
15.8 mi away
Super 8 Red Wing
Super 8 Red Wing
#6 of 9 in Red Wing
3.5 of 5 bubbles 318 reviews
18.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Red Wing
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to John Hall's Alaskan Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about John Hall's Alaskan Lodge

Property: John Hall's Alaskan Lodge
Address: 1127 N Lakeshore Dr, Lake City, MN 55041-1147
Region: United States > Minnesota > Lake City
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Lake City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All lake view suites. Two types of suites- Standard and Superior Suites. Superior suites feature whirlpool jacuzzi tubs, flat screen TVs, kitchenettes, fireplaces, private deck- perfect for a romantic getaway. Standard suites are Alaskan cabin style featuring full or mini kitchens with two rooms suites and leather furniture. Most comfortable beds on Lake City! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
John Hall`s Alaskan Hotel Lake City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing