We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint and Great”

Chickadee Cottage Cafe
Ranked #2 of 24 Restaurants in Lake City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$12
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Chickadee Cottage Cafe, Lake City, Mn On the Great River Road
Eden Prairie, Minnesota
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Quaint and Great”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

What a great way to start your day! This restaurant is like eating in your best friend's kitchen. The food was great and the staff was friendly. You could tell that it was also a favorite place of the locals. Chickadee Cottage has created new ways of fixing the old standards. The Special Scrambled eggs are delicious and there is always a wonderful coffee cake of the day. Don't forget about their carmel rolls either. It's nice to find a restaurant that is not part of a chain and that is clean, bright and cheerful with great food.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sandi and Pete T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    89
    27
    2
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
154 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“coffee cake of the day”
Reviewed 26 June 2014

what a way to start a day. Great food, especially the hash browns, and bacon and a cute gift shop, too! The cottage atmosphere and service were a delight!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank janetn56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, Minnesota
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Cute but disappointing.”
Reviewed 25 June 2014

This is a very cute restaurant! They have a wonderful parmesan salad dressing, but the quiche was not very good. The crust was squishy, like it had been warmed in the microwave and the filling was rubbery. One of the worst quiches i have ever had. We also had a couple ants crawl across our table. The waitress was nice and friendly. I would definitely get something else if i went back.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank clrwltrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake City, Minnesota
Level Contributor
31 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Always a good place for breakfast”
Reviewed 17 June 2014

The family style breakfast served on Sundays is excellent. We have brought many visitors to the Chickadee for the Sunday breakfast and they have always enjoyed it.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank mnnorske
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wauconda, Illinois
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Charming atmosphere, great food, nice people”
Reviewed 10 June 2014 via mobile

Staying in Rochester for Mayo visit, decided to drive to the Mississippi.
Started our "tour" in Lake City for breakfast. We were warmly welcomed by owner Joan. All of the wait staff could not have been more helpful in terms of giving ideas for where we should visit along the river. But, don't forget the abundant and delicious food....homemade cinnamon rolls, yum.
The restaurant decor was very bright and cheerful. Would definitely shop again.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank 309debk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Chickadee Cottage Cafe also viewed

 
Lake City, MN
Lake City, MN
 

Been to Chickadee Cottage Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing