We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The View and Atmosphere will bring me back!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Willows on the River

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Willows on the River
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Lake City
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
97 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“The View and Atmosphere will bring me back!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2012

Wanted a getaway that was not that far from the Twin Cities. I wanted to be on the water so this met both needs. Stayed in a 2nd floor condo with unbelievable views. Full Kitchen ang great restaurant attached right onthe property. The riverwalk in 2.5 miles and takes you right along Lake Pepin. No Taxi's in town but, that didn;t stop us. Fun night life and there is a $15 river boat cruise that takes you down the MN side and back up the WI side. 90 minute cruise with bar and snacks available. I didn't want to leave! Highly recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 34pc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    47
    10
    2
    0
    5
See reviews for
8
27
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Berlin, WI
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2012

Spent 3 nights at the Willows in a 2nd floor, 1 bedroom unit. Unit was very spacious with large bathroom, walkin closet (with washer/dryer) and nice kitchen open to the living room. Appliances seemed new. Floor to ceiling windows made you feel like you were right over the water. The views of Lake Pepin are extraordinary. Would recommend the Willows for those looking for space, privacy and great views.

Room Tip: 2nd floor unit with small balcony was great. You can hear some noise from the unit above you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank p05dbon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johana1917
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2012

This place is wonderful, we had a delighful time, we come every year and the staff couldnt be more friendly or helpful. We will definitely be back. Lovely sunrise, and very good coffee for a hotel!
Makes me want to stay longer. Came with several friends on a boat and already have my reservation for next year.

Room Tip: Dont get the room over the restaurant and bar it can get noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Johanna1917
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2012

Beautiful view but that's as far as it goes! The management are incredibly rude people. I have never been treated so poorly. As stated in another review, the customer is always WRONG. I stayed there with a group of 5. We are all profession women with careers and families. We were charged for a broken bar stool that we noticed was broken upon our arrival. Really? I think breaking a bar stool was the last thing on our minds. Had we broke it on accident i would gladly admit our mistake and pay for it. This was not the case. The management did not even allow us to explain the stool was broken BEFORE we entered the place. There were many things we could have complained about...siding missing from the patio, the filthy dollar store patio funiture, the hole on the side of the love seat with stuffing coming out the side, the rude staff, etc. What a big mistake! Don't waste your time or money. How many more times will they charge the customer for a bar stool that has obviously been broken for a long time!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jho2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2012

At the beautiful Willows on the River the customer is always wrong. Poor management accompanied by rude customer service, this lovely place to stay can turn your vacation into a major disappointment.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lizzylizliz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nancy N, Owner at Willows on the River, responded to this review, 8 August 2013
They say the customer is always right, but some say it’s the right customer that counts. We are a quiet family oriented business. We are not for all night partiers who break things, and then scream obscenities at the staff and management. The person signing for the room understood and signed paper work indicating they would be responsible for damages. She claimed 2-3 minutes after signing the check in slip she went to her condo to find a broken stool.
Most people who upon signing they would be responsible for damages walk into a condo and find a broken stool would contact the desk at their earliest convenience and report it. Her claim was relayed to us after they checked out and were charged. Also if it were that obvious our cleaning staff would have noticed it. Even if she told us they didn’t notice it until 2 am when someone sat on it, we would have understood, things happen. This group had issues in prior years as well. Someone was playing a trick on her and took her money. She stood at the front desk literally screaming at the staff, as well as myself, demanding that we do something, blaming our staff for taking money from the room. Our cleaning staff, many of whom have been with us for 10 years are trusted employees and were not involved, in fact the incident actually happened after they had left for the day. I was really taken aback by the language and shrieking as it is a very rare occasion when someone chooses to handle a situation in that manner. In fact in my entire life I have never been called some of those names. Even after discovering the friend had taken the money and set her up, no apology for the episode at the front desk. We are happy the group found a more suitable all night party place this year as that is not the kind of people we can ever please because they are not the right customer for us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chaska, Minnesota
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2012

We were looking for a place last minute for 4 couples riding down to Lake City on motorcycle. Willows had a 2 bedroom condo still available and it couldn't have been more perfect. The staff is amazing from Anna at the front desk to the young lady bartending Saturday night who called the owner and arranged a ride for us to "downtown" Lake City so we could have some fun and leave the bikes parked. PERFECT WEEKEND!!

Room Tip: Higher floors have an wonderful view of Lake Pepin.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RShanahan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2012

Outstanding hotel. Beautiful view. Located right on the shore of Lake Pepin. Floor to ceiling windows provide a unobstructed view. Very clean,well equiped condo. Restaurant located on sight is nice. Great pizza.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Plaen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lake City
0.3 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Lake City
14.3 mi away
St. James Hotel
St. James Hotel
#1 of 9 in Red Wing
4.0 of 5 bubbles 297 reviews
17.8 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Red Wing
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.0 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Red Wing
15.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Rivertown Inn & Suites
15.0 mi away
Nichols Inn Red Wing
Nichols Inn Red Wing
#5 of 9 in Red Wing
4.0 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Willows on the River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Willows on the River

Property: Willows on the River
Address: 100 Central Point, Lake City, MN 55041-3248
Region: United States > Minnesota > Lake City
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Lake City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Willows on the River 3.5*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Willows on the River reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Willows On The River Hotel Lake City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing