We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wildwood made for a wonderful weekend!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites St. Paul NE - Lake Elmo
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Lake Elmo
Certificate of Excellence
Minneapolis - St. Paul
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wildwood made for a wonderful weekend!”
Reviewed 20 February 2012

We stayed at Wildwood in Lake Elmo to celebrate our 17th wedding anniversay and we were surprised when upgraded to a beautiful suite! The staff was awesome, the room clean and well appointed - and room service from the adjacent restaurant was terrific! HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!

Room Tip: Rooms not immediately adjacent to pool will be quietest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ealakart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    50
    37
    11
    4
    1
See reviews for
40
17
4
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Eau Claire, Wisconsin
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2011

We had a nice clean room with modern and up to date furnishings. The pool area is nice and big and served us well when entertaining relatives. Not much for a continental breakfast, just prepacked bars and juice. But who would want a continental breakfast when your right next to "The Machine Shed" restaurant. That is the best part of all, very similar to Cracker Barrel, but much better food. But enough about the restaurant, this is a hotel review. The front desk people were very nice and worked with us to get an early check-in time for my dear ol' mother. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheSots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mfrenchhoari, Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites St. Paul NE - Lake Elmo, responded to this review, 29 November 2011
Thank you so much for your comments on Trip Advisor we sincerely appreciate your kind words. Please contact me personally if you choose to stay with us again as it would be my pleasure to upgrade your room.

Sincerely,

Mo French
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2011

This place is really, really nice. Everything is clean, new, well maintained, in a nice location, with a restaurant (though we didn't try it) and close to the highway, shopping, and a short distance to all kinds of things to do. Our room opened to the pool area, which is kept spotless, which we loved. The room was decorated tastefully, everything is new. Big thumbs up to the management for enforcing the quiet policy. Awesome. Just 2 problems though: Uncomfortable beds and a slippery bathroom floor. How could a nice, new hotel with everything going for it install the most uncomfotable beds that jabbed me all night with springs? My only other gripe was the floor in the bathroom being slippery. The shower stall design is awkward. Even with a towel in front of the door, water goes everywhere when you open the shower door, making the floors a little slick. Be careful. --Those 2 things aside, this is a great hotel for a getaway with young children. Ask for a room that opens to the pool, which is super convenient.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sylvrunr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2011

We've stayed at the wildwood at least 3 or 4 times over the past few years, during visits to the area for family gatherings. Overall, it has a lot of positive features (very nice pool, good restaurant with fast room service, attractive rooms and lobby), but this time we had an experience that was, in my mind, pretty unforgivable. We have a one year old baby and reserved a crib or pack and play for him upon reservation, which was done months in advance. When we checked in, there was no pack and play in the room. We called down to the front desk and about 30 minutes later we got a call back stating that all the cribs were in use and the desk attendant couldn't find one anywhere. We were forced to set up a makeshift bed on the floor out of pillows and rolled up bed covers (probably the filthiest items in ANY hotel room) with just kind of an "oh well" attitude and no offer (as yet, at least) of any compensation or refund. Up until now, we were fans of the wildwood, but I can't say I'd ever stay again. As a last resort in a situation like this, they should be sending an employee to a nearby 24 hour Target and picking up a cheap pack and play. Anything would've been preferable to the NOTHING that was done about it. Anyone traveling with a baby or young child should avoid staying here, because you can't rely on them to provide the most basic of necessities. Very disappointing.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Somafree77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
twbtcaptain, VP Hotel Operations at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites St. Paul NE - Lake Elmo, responded to this review, 1 August 2011
Thank you for bringing this to my attention. It is only with this kind of feedback that we can deliver the level of service to which we strive. I wish to apologize for the fact thaat the hotel did not accomodate your request for a crib for your child. I will investigate this incident and direct the hotel to find a way to correct this situation so future guests are not incovenienced, and to find a way to set this right with you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winneconne, WI
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2010

Clean, beautifully decorated comtempory hotel with close proximity to dining, etc. Staff at front desk were very friendly and helpful -- always had a smile on their faces. We were traveling with another couple and had requested 2 king exectutive rooms and to our surprise, one of us had been upgraded to a suite when we arrived.

My husband and I won the luck of the draw and this room was fabulous! Not only did it have a separate living and dining/conference areas but the bath was absolutely as luxurious as we experience at home. My husband suffers from arthritis and he found the oversized jacuzzi (in addition to a standard tub and shower) to be a great relaxing experience that evening. Luxurious robes were there for our use as well and we found the Aveeda toiletries a nice touch.

The bedroom was elegantly appointed with black and white linens. I also want to mention the bigger coffee pot...what a treat! We are used to the one or two cup models typically found in hotel rooms today.

Other restaurants were within walking distance but we chose to dine at The Machine Shed which is connected to the hotel that evening. This was very conventient for us. The morning we left we were anxious to get on the road early and found the fresh fruit, breakfast bars and coffee provided in the lobby adequate.

Yes, indeed we plan to return and I am sure we will be happy in a king executive room like the friends traveling with us had!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Livinmydream
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MN
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 July 2010

Enjoyed our stay. Clean spacious rooms, large pool, helpful staff. Great location for visiting St Paul, St Croix Valley and Shopping. Good restaurant attached to hotel. Our rate included $8 coupon for breakfast at the hotel. This hotel appeared to cater to business travelers but suited us perfectly.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LakeVickie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Dakota
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
114 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2009

We stayed at the Wildwood for a family Christmas Party. A large group of children, teens and adults. The party room just off the pool area worked well and the pool and poolside rooms allowed for easy access and supervision of the kids. The rooms were clean and well maintained. The staff were friendly and efficient. The dinner was catered by the adjoining restaurant and was good. The hotel provides an $8 off coupon per person for breakfast.

The negatives--

The pool was fine on Friday evening and Saturday morning, but became very crowded on Saturday afternoon (other partys) with lots of kids. They must have increase the chlorine level on Saturday, as several of our young ones developed a rash and red, burning eyes.

If you sit together in a large group for breakfast, the restuarant will automatically tack on an 18% tip, even for the buffet. Some members of our group ended up with a tip charge that was triple the cost of the breakfast.

All in all, a fun time and we would go back.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank muskrat2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lake Elmo
2.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, St. Paul East
0.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn St. Paul/Oakdale
1.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites St. Paul-Woodbury
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Best Western Regency Plaza Hotel - St. Paul East
0.4 mi away
Residence Inn St. Paul Woodbury
2.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Minneapolis/St. Paul-Woodbury
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites St. Paul NE - Lake Elmo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites St. Paul NE - Lake Elmo

Property: Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites St. Paul NE - Lake Elmo
Address: 8511 Hudson Blvd N, Lake Elmo, MN 55042-8702 (Formerly Wildwood Lodge)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Minnesota > Lake Elmo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Lake Elmo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites St. Paul NE - Lake Elmo 3*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay just 10 minutes from downtown St. Paul at the Holiday Inn and Suites - St. Paul, Lake Elmo. Recently renovated, this property offers a welcoming decor and modern furnishings. Located conveniently close to downtown St. Paul, we are within minutes to the 3M Headquarters, Bremer Financial, Andersen Windows, Target, and Hartford Insurance/Woodbury Financial. We are also close to great shopping and dining in Woodbury, and the Xcel Energy Center in St. Paul. Enjoy our amenities such a complimentary Wi-Fi throughout the property, our 24-hour business center, new redesigned fitness center, large indoor pool and spa, and the award winning Machine Shed Restaurant. Our elegantly appointed guest rooms and suites are perfect for the busy business traveler or a family traveling to the St.Paul/Minneapolis area. With over 6,000 square feet of event space, Holiday Inn & Suites Lake Elmo offers the perfect space for corporate events, business meetings, weddings, and various social gatherings. Our unique ballroom, The Pavilion at Lake Elmo, provides guests luxury and comfort with its vaulted ceilings, large windows and wooden beams. Our professional event planning staff and full service catering team are here to make each event a memorable experience. Traveling frequently with Holiday Inn? Ask to sign up for IHG Rewards on your next visit to earn points for your travels! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites St. Paul NE - Lake Elmo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Lake Elmo
Wildwood Hotel Lake Elmo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing