We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Douglas Lodge Four Season Suites”
Review of Douglas Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Lake Itasca
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Douglas Lodge
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Lake Itasca
Reviewed 19 August 2013

The two room suites are very nice. You enter via screened porch that has a table and 4 chairs. There are two queen beds and sink in the bedroom. The large bathroom has tub / shower. The other room is a living room (with TV) / kitchenette, with small refrigerator, microwave, cook top, dishwasher. The kitchen has dishes, pots and pans, utensils, dishwasher detergent and dish soap. All linens and towels are provided. Very clean. Right in the park near Douglas Lodge. Our group of 4 adults stayed 2 nights. It was very convenient for everything we wanted to do in the park. We brought our food and had most of our meals here. I was very impressed with the suites and will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank MNTraveler56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (51)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

34 - 40 of 51 reviews

Reviewed 16 August 2013

I was traveling out west, and wanted to see the Mississippi Headwaters. I stayed for one night. The location was excellent, being within the state park. One could hike trails right outside the lodge complex.

The staff was friendly and courteous. The room was small but cozy and clean. It should be noted that the bathroom was not attached, but rather there were 3 common bathrooms on the floor, which were clean, and never busy. The bed itself was a little stiff, and creaky, but not bothersome enough from keeping me from sleeping. The room was well climate-controlled and without odor. The doors were a little thin, and I could hear a crying baby from another room, but fortunately I am an early riser, and this did not wake me up. Wi-fi was free, and was reliable.

The price was good for its location, and so I think this was an excellent value. I would stay here again in the future.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bandurriaman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2013

Wow. Just returned from trip to Itasca Park with family. We had a blast. Stayed in lodge on night 1, then had two in campground.
Lodge was super clean, our meals there were great too.
It was such a great experience all the way around. What a great get away! A must do Minnesota experience.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnotherIceman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2013

We stayed here for two nights, and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. The staff was nice and helpful. The rooms in the lodge do not have private baths, but even though the place was full I hardly ever ran across anybody in the hall when I needed the bathroom. There was always one free. Decent showers in the upstairs bathrooms.

The peace and quiet and the immediateness of nature was just what we needed.

The bed was quite comfortable and the room was plenty big for all our stuff. Nice table and chairs to lounge in and read.

The malt in the downstairs restaurant was amazing.

Room Tip: Room 8 has a bit of a view and has windows on two sides.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lillesommerfugl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2013

So it's a lovely setting but don't try to sit on the beautiful outdoor deck during certain time periods and eat because it seems to upset the whole karma of the restaurant. Inside the views can be very nice. Our dinner food was not gourmet but we did enjoy it. Our steak, chicken, and Alfredo sauce were all well prepared. There is no bar, so it's only Minnesota wine and beer. Ummm...we like Minnesota but the wine and beer were very bad. Really.
We did not stay at the lodge but took the boat ride along the lake. It was relaxing. You have a high likely hood of seeing a bald eagle and maybe a loon. Nice to have someplace to take my elderly mother who is in a wheelchair. Friendly attentive service on the boat.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MBB66066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2013

My husband and I and our 3 boys stayed in the Douglas Lodge Suites for 3 nights in May. The suites consist of a very small living room with a couch and a chair, TV, a full kitchen, bathroom, and a bedroom with two double beds. We brought a cooler up with us so the kitchen came in handy so we could cook all of our meals there. The kitchen also had dishes, soap, etc provided so we didn't need to bring that. The downfall - outside of the suite is a screened in porch. This is lovely in theory, but going into the screened porch from outside is a swinging screen door that is extremely loud if you let it bang shut. We unfortunately were next to a family that kept going in and out all evening, banging the door shut each time. The other downfall is that the rooms state that it would fit 6 people - but this is not possible. The "pull out" couch is very small, barely accomodated by 11 year old son. So be conscious of that if you have more than 4 people. Other than that, conveniently located within Itasca State Park, walking distance to Douglas Lodge and the lake.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AngelinaCh22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2013 via mobile

We found this place to be very special. Built in the early 1900s but how they keep it so nice is hard to believe. Probably the nixes gift shop we have been in. Once inside take a minute to study the stone work.

We stayed in cabin 11, very quiet and away from the lodge. Inside you think you are in 1940, with the logs and stone fireplace. We could walk to breakfast which was in the main lodge

In the main lodge make sure you look at the common room, very nice.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lake Itasca
0.0 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Bemidji
0.0 mi away
Candlewood Suites Bemidji
0.0 mi away
Best Western Bemidji Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Bemidji
0.0 mi away
Chase on the Lake
Chase on the Lake
#2 of 7 in Walker
408 reviews
0.0 mi away
C'mon Inn Park Rapids
C'mon Inn Park Rapids
#2 of 8 in Park Rapids
87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Douglas Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Douglas Lodge

Address: Lake Itasca, MN
Region: United States > Minnesota > Lake Itasca
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Lake Itasca
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Turn-of-the-century Log hotel located in Itasca State Park and overlooking the lake. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing