We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value Stay”
Review of Quest Alphington

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Quest Alphington
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Alphington
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Value Stay”
Reviewed 28 April 2014 via mobile

Pleasantly appointed facilities. Spacious and light. Friendly & thoughtful service. Good location; everything we needed was within a 30 minute drive. Value for money. Clean and neat. Reasonably easy to find. Good parking. Great accommodation for families or small groups.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Annie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
peterr1629, Owner at Quest Alphington, responded to this review, 3 May 2014
We are very glad to hear you found our facilities clean & neat. We will pass your compliments on to our housekeepers. Our rooms are very spacious and we believe good value, especially for families and groups like yourselves. It also sounds like this was your perfect location. Thank you very much for your feedback and we hope to see you back next time you are in town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    0
    1
    6
    8
    6
See reviews for
10
2
Solo
0
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2014

We spent seven days at the Alphington Quest. There were ten of us in our group spread over four apartments. Each one was riddled with problems.

My first two nights were spent on a mattress on the floor, with the family of ants from the kitchen. The pillows were like lumps of cement, and there were short, dark hairs inside my pillowcases...

The traffic noise was loud - "situated in a quiet residential area with everything you need at hand" (direct quote from the Quest website) was obviously written about a different Quest because Alphington is miles from anywhere, with no shops or restaurants nearby. Our first reaction upon arrival was (collectively) that this could not be a Quest hotel, and couldn't possibly have been awarded so many stars.

The website says the hotel is "set amidst landscaped gardens" but our "garden" was a sandpit with broken picket fencing that looked like it was being eaten by white ants or termites, and the garden furniture was covered in dust and dirt.

The bathrooms were a mess - a flatmate cut her foot open on the broken tiles in her bathroom - most of the grout was missing, which is dangerous as the tiles moved when walked on. The downstairs toilet was badly chipped and the vanity in the "powder room" was impossible to use due to it's ridiculous proportions. paint had peeled away from the walls around the door frames, or hadn't even been painted over.

We arrived on the Saturday, and our apartment was not cleaned until Tuesday morning - this included emptying the bin, and we survived on two towels between three people. Cleaning was half hearted - we were met with an attitude of "do we have too" when asked for anything, and it looked as though the carpet hadn't been vacuumed in some time. We had one useable sofa - the second collapsed in on itself and was stained brown.

The kitchen was poorly equipped, with a stove that only half worked - this was fixed on our third day. The ants were in residence before we arrived, and when reception were advised of the problem, we were given an almost empty, broken can of insect spray and told that this would have to do, and that the ants were "because of the garden...", a cryptic excuse.

As to the "services, features/amenities" listed on the hotel site, yes, there is onsite reception, but don't expect any help there. We were charged for internet connection - some people had to pay $6 per hour, others were not charged at all when they insisted that it was free. The balcony would have been fine for an extremely small person, breathing in! The windows to the apartment either didn't open (missing latches), or didn't close, meaning security was not good.

Alphington Quest was a bitter disappointment - as a visiting sports group, food and rest, and security were a priority - with no shops, restaurants or working kitchen, traffic noise, dreadful pillows, missing beds and non locking windows, this place failed dismally.

Perhaps the hotel has avoided health and safety inspections somehow, but someone needs to have a good look around, amend the rating, and amend the misleading blurb on their website.

A refund would have been completely appropriate.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sara L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
peterr1629, Owner at Quest Alphington, responded to this review, 23 March 2014
Thank you for your feedback, as we appreciate both negative and positive responses. Our vision at Quest Alphington is to provide a professional and pleasurable experience for sporting groups and apologise that on this occasion we did not meet your expectations.

With respect to your concerns mentioned in your review, we are in the process of re-landscaping the front gardens of the town houses that front Coate Ave. This improvement is still in progress, with formed garden beds now in place, including mulch, in preparation for re-planting in autumn. This has resulted in some bare patches on the grassed area, which is still in the process of regrowth and a few pickets from the fence to be repaired and reattached.

We are aware of the “Ant” issue, which according to our Pest Control provider has been caused by the recent re-landscaping undertaken. We do have a monthly Pest Control inspection and prevention activities, where items such as pesticide spraying are undertaken. Given your feedback during your stay, we organised for our Pest Control service to return immediately and undertake another round of preventative spraying.
One of the group guests staying with you in your apartment did report to us on Monday 10th March that one of the stove elements was not working. Our maintenance person was called and he repaired this item on the same day. In regard to the other items you mention, we have our maintenance person attending to these items.

There are cafes/restaurants/supermarkets within a 5 - 15 minute walk of the apartments. We have reviewed and updated our compendium to ensure this information is clearly highlighted. Thankyou for making us aware that this information was not clear.

Our apartments, as typical industry standard, are not serviced on Sundays or Public Holidays. As Monday was a public holiday in Melbourne, your first service was on Tuesday. Additional towels are always available on request and we have followed up with our housekeepers and reception staff to reinforce this understanding. We apologise if this was not clearly explained on your arrival.
Our standard internet charge is $6 per hour and not usually free unless part of a package. According to our account records, no one in your group was charged a fee.

As you were part of a group, we are directed by the organisers on rooming arrangements and continually seek their feedback on the group stay. While feedback from the lead organiser was positive, it appears this wasn’t the situation with all members of the group, given your feedback. We did provide additional bedding (mattress and base) downstairs in your apartment and received feedback that this arrangement was appreciated, given the group booking circumstances.
We have many sporting groups stay at Quest Alphington, including international sporting groups, and pride ourselves on the services we can provide to these groups. Thank you for your very honest and valuable feedback, we hope to be able to meet your expectations in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2013

Friends had recommended Quest apartments for when we visited Melbourne - but I don't think they had the Alphington property in mind. As other reviewers have pointed out, these apartments are tired, shabby, over-priced and located next to a busy freeway (don't be fooled by the approach drive which gives the impression of seclusion - the freeway's at the back!). On the plus side, the apartment was spacious, all facilities worked, and the office staff were helpful and friendly. The apartment is about ten minute's walk from the station for the commute into the city. Nevertheless, I would not return.

Room Tip: If possible, choose from the buildings adjacent to the access road - not those at the back which bor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PDC44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2012

This property was a bit of a disappointment. Photos on web site looked much better than the actual property. Apartments look great on the outside, but inside they are tired and in need of refurbishment. Beds very uncomfortable and pillows hard as a rock. I had 2 pillows stuffed into one slip. However, the rooms were at least clean. Staff are very friendly and helpful. Don't leave anything behind though. Even with 2 emails and a phone call they still can't tell me if they found my missing items? Hate to say it, but I never trust the cleaners in any hotel in any country, the world over.

Room Tip: Apartments at the font on Coates Avenue would be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JWren08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2011

The apartment was large and had good facilities, but the traffic noise made it almost impossible to sleep. The place needs doubIe glazing, as apart from the noise the windows were drafty. I wouldn't recommend it to anyone. We wished we'd stayed in the city.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ROSELLA_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2011

This property was a huge disappointment. Despite being advertised as being on a "quiet street", our apartment was on the side of a major road with 24 hour noise and trucks. Truly horrible.

Everything was broken, washing machine, dryer, dishwasher, all the windows and doors downstairs. One window was wedged open and about 50 mosquitoes came in when the sun went down. The door to bedroom #2 doesn't close where we were due to bed being in the way.

The apartments are badly in need of a refit. The original fittings are cheap and tacky and now they are badly worn, peeling and not nice. No way you could call this 4 star accommodation.

The cleaner left our door unlocked and kept taking towels away and not leaving new ones.

Stay away - not worth the money.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Munchkin2311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2010

The staff were friendly and helpfull, but..............
Unit is in need of renovation. Cracked toilet bowl, cracked tiles in bathroom, cracks in walls and peeling paint, skirting boards water swollen, vanity doors peeling edges, mould in bath, and I killed a cockroach in the kitchen on day 1. The heater failed one night, the hot water failed on another. Find another place if you want quality.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nonreturn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alphington
2.7 mi away
BreakFree Bell City
BreakFree Bell City
#3 of 3 in Preston
1,179 reviews
1.3 mi away
Quest Ivanhoe
Quest Ivanhoe
#1 of 1 in Ivanhoe
253 reviews
2.4 mi away
St. Georges Motor Inn
St. Georges Motor Inn
#1 of 1 in Thornbury
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Greensborough
Show Prices

Been to Quest Alphington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quest Alphington

Property: Quest Alphington
Address: 35 Coate Ave, Alphington, Yarra, Victoria 3078, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Greater Melbourne > Yarra > Alphington
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Alphington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Quest Alphington 3.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Quest Alphington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing