We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great restaurant”
Review of Romantic Vineyard

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Romantic Vineyard
Ranked #1 of 1 Amherst B&B and Inns
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
“Great restaurant”
Reviewed 8 May 2013

Over three consecutive nights, we had three radically different dinners at Renee's extraordinary rural restaurant. A vegetarian and fish dinner for five (lentil and mushroom entree followed by fillets in a Spanish sauce) on Good Friday, wood-fired pizzas for six and more on Saturday (including some brilliant tofu blending for the non-dairy eaters, and an amazing New Orleans-inspired 'muffalata', which needs to be eaten rather than described) and for Easter Sunday, a traditional-style roast lamb with oven vegetables and perfectly timed 'challa' bread. Though our group doesn't drink much alcohol, the merlot-tampanillo blend red wine and Czech-style pilsener beer, both made on-site at Renee's and Dave's vineyard, perfectly matched our meals and mood. Renee is a welcoming host who invests great effort and expertise in all her meals. The strong international flavour of her intimate country restaurant is perhaps surprising in such a setting – but this is the Goldfields, after all! Strongly recommended.

Room Tip: The cottage is really romantic. Best bed ever
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    33
    12
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
28
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 29 December 2012

My partner and I stayed for a couple of nights and enjoyed starry nights at the campfire with Dave and Millie. We enjoyed the amazing hospitality of Dave. He lent us two bikes. So we were able to ride and take Millie on a run. We also appreciated the warmth and time Dave gave us, sharing his music while sipping some great local wine infront of the campfire. He also allowed me to play with his great music!
We felt completely refreshed by the time we got back to Melbourne. We will definitely be back again!!! Thank you both for your wonderful hearts and warmth.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rovielle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vinaromantica, Owner at Romantic Vineyard, responded to this review, 31 December 2012
Thank-you so much for your kind review. I am sorryi wasn't able to meet you, but very happy to know Dave and Millie took such good care of you. Hope you can come again to visit us soon. All the best for the New Year. Renee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
70 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2012

My partner and I stayed for 2 nights in the self-contained cottage. What a delight this place is. They are pet-friendly, and our dog had a fabulously lazy weekend sitting in front of the fireplace. Renee and Dave are the perfect hosts. 2 breakfasts and one dinner was included in our package and the meal was to die for. Renee is a chef and takes great pride in food, wine and service. The view of the vineyard in the morning is breathtaking. The cottage is large with kitchenette, DVD player and fireplace. There is plenty of wood to fire up the fireplace. Should you need supplies, it's a short 10 minute drive to Talbot [general store], or around 25min to Maryborough [large supermarket]. Millie the dog had a litter prior to our arrival and they were adorable sitting by the fireplace, as we ate dinner in the main residence. Dave loves a chat, and brews his own beer. Would highly recommend to anyone seeking an affordable break from Melbourne.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TAAMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 April 2012

My wife and I go away once a year with no kids so we wanted a quiet spot that was comfortable and pleasant. Romantic Vineyard was a home away from home. The food was fantastic (thanks Renee) and I still think about it when I am hungry. The wines were great and Dave ensured we always had enough. The bed was awesome and we were very comfortable. An en-suite would have been great but it was not too much of a hassle. We stayed in the cottage and loved the view in the morning. If you want to spend time together but also meet some great people then then is the place. Dave and Renee, thank you. We loved our time with you and on the farm as well.

Room Tip: We stayed in the cottage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Craigcom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 October 2011

Renee and Dave could not have done more for us in the planning for our recent family reunion. Seventy people catching up with one another in that beautiful Talbot area from which our pioneering ancestors came. An awesome project but nothing seemed too much trouble and Renee's amazing cooking and Dave's fantastic wines (as well as home brew to die for) made the day a wonderful success. My wife and I had stayed overnight some weeks before and thoroughly enjoyed the beautiful, quiet environment, the well appointed rooms and again the genuine warmth and excellent service provide by our hosts.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Judy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2011

We stayed at Romantic Vineyard recently and had no advance expectations of the place. We were blown away by Dave and Renee's friendly hospitality, the relaxing accommodation and the amazing food and wine we were served. This place is a real home away from home. Don't come here if you love 5 star hotels where the service and accommodation is impersonal. If you like meeting new and interesting people, don't mind sharing your dinner table and enjoy the serenity of the Victorian countryside then this place is for you. Renee is a superb chef and Dave's wine is excellent. Little dog Millie is adorable. The ambiance around the fire was fabulous. Pity Romantic Vineyard is booked up for the next year coz we can't wait to come back.

Room Tip: Upgrade to the cottage if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank a_zohar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hanoi, Vietnam
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2011

Nestled about ten minutes from Talbot is Romantic Vineyard. An eclectic homestead with a folksy feel. Renee and Dave are the ultimate hosts and make you feel comfortable.
Dave happily shares his home brew and his time. We sat in front of a roaring outdoor fire before dinner. Food was flavoursome and plenty of it. The red wine that was part of the package was surprisingly good. We had one of the rooms at the house and shared an ensuite with another family. That didn't pose any problems except for my forgotten dressing gown. So make sure you pack one as the walk to the loo/shower is outside the house. Bed was comfortable, no sore backs. Breakfast was plentiful and the home made oat bread was delicious. So was Dave's coffee. Plenty to do on day trips and at wineries around the area. The addition of five new puppies entertained everyone.

Room Tip: Upgrade to the cottage if available. Very cute.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fran_terry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Romantic Vineyard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Romantic Vineyard

Property: Romantic Vineyard
Address: 280 Lillicur Road, Amherst, Victoria 3371, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Victoria > Amherst
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Amherst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Romantic Vineyard 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The cottage at the Romantic Vineyard is a large studio with everything you might need to relax and rejuvenate. A very comfy king sized bed with latex topping. Your own private bathroom and shower. (Outside the room along the covered terrace.) The cottage has a very comfortable down sofa, Sony TV with FoxtelDVD player plus a large DVD library,a wood burning fireplace in the winter (Wood is supplied at no extra cost.)There is a small refrigerator,sink complimentary selection of teas, kettle, coffee pod machine and milk frother with organic coffee pods. A large terrace surrounds the entire cottage with tables and chairs and a rocking glider to sit back in and sip your wine from the Vineyard. (The cottage sits on top of the wine cellar). No wandering down in the middle of the night)!!! In addition we have 2 guest rooms in the main house with their own entrance. One room (Cabernet Room) offers a queen bed and sofa with private ensuite. The Merlot room has 2 single beds. Down comforters and pillows are provided although we do have non-feather pillows for those that prefer them. The Cabernet room has a private ensuite. The Merlot room shares a bath with the owners. The Vineyard sits on 19 acres, 3 km down a dirt track. Very private, located in the Pyrenees wine region with many wineries to visit within 20 minutes of our Vineyard. Maryborough, Clunes and Avoca are just a 20 minute drive from the Romantic Vineyard. We are fully licensed and offer dinner to our guests and the public for just $35 for a 2 course gourmet dinner. We also cater for special events and can seat up to 50 people weather permitting. The owners (Renee and Dave) live on premise and are here to make sure you have a pleasant and unforgettable visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Romantic Vineyard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing