We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Darkness on the Edge of Town”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn & Suites
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Lakeville
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, IL
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Darkness on the Edge of Town”
Reviewed 9 July 2013

This Holiday Inn served it's purpose, which was to provide a comfortable place for out of town guests to stay for a wedding. So given that our needs were met, it should get a top rating. Beds are extremely comfy in newly refurbished Holiday Inns. You have a choice of pillow firmness, all labeled and in your room, ready to go. All in all it's there and your needs are met for a restful night. We had shuttle service to our wedding reception, by kind and helpful drivers who were right on schedule. All of that being said, the age old hotels that surround swimming pools (Holidomes?) are dark. The interior rooms have no natural light. If you get an outer room you have no worries, but poolside rooms may bring out the claustrophobic in you! If you have little ones you may want to risk it because the pool area looks inviting for kids, but you definitely want to request natural light. There is a restaurant attached that serves a very good basic breakfast. Very few negatives, but not a show stopper.

Room Tip: Ask for an outer room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelbugs5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 1 August 2013
Dear travelbugs5,

Thank you for leaving a comprehensive review, highlighting not only the bad but also the good points of your stay. It is our goal to consistently provide superior service and accommodations at our hotel and your comments are very important to us. We rely on you, our guest, to let us know how we are doing and how we can better meet your needs.

Again, thank you for your comments. If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    102
    51
    21
    5
    6
See reviews for
97
22
2
41
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Level 6 Contributor
68 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2013

This property is stereotypical Holiday Inn with a few interesting twists. The big difference is the indoor covered pool area, very unique. Families can enjoy swimming year round and from the sounds coming from my window folks were having a lot of fun. Rooms surrounding the pool have direct access to this area so if you plan to make use of the pool facilities this is a big bonus. Business travelers would be wise to request a room not facing the pool for two reasons: the noise of the pool users and rooms facing the pool receive no sunlight. The room was average but the beds and water pressure were very good. Cleanliness was good and service was very good. Location is good with easy access to the interstate with several restaurants nearby as well as a Wal-Mart and a movie theatre. The bonus is an attached restaurant that is very good with good service. Work out area is small. I'll stay here again.

Room Tip: If you don't want access to the pool select a room away from the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RVingNolefan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 24 July 2013
Dear TexasNolefan,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your comments online. It is pleasing to know that you found our service to be at par with standards and location convenient. It is always hugely motivating to receive positive feedback from valued guests like you. Further, I am glad that the restaurant service you received was good for your needs.

Again, thanks for the candid feedback and see you soon!

Regards,

Pam G
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ames, IA
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2013

There are lots of things to like about this hotel. It's clean, fairly new, has nicely-appointed rooms, and a decent indoor waterpark and pool.

But it's got Internet issues right now. And that's potentially a big problem if you're traveling. Normally, Internet login is simple: a web page pops up, you enter a code, you're done. Here, however, in both Chrome and Firefox, instead I had to create an Internet browser exception just to get to the login screen. I've never had to do that anywhere else (and I travel often). That's very uncool, beyond the capabilities of some, and confusing to many. I'm not using a VPN. I don't have firewall or other security software. It's the hotel, not my computer or browsers.

Even if you can figure out how to get connected, however, Internet speeds are anemic. Simple web pages take forever to load. For example, the home page of speedtest.net took nearly 2 minutes to load. Download speed = 0.95 Mbps. Color me unimpressed.

Internet login was a bit easier on my iPad, but the speed issues remained. It shouldn't take 90 seconds for a web page to load. Gmail shouldn't time out before it opens.

If they can get the Internet issues fixed, this is a decent place. I've stayed here before and had no issues. But right now, it's a digital devices dud.

Room Tip: Room 270 is having major Internet issues...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank techleadprof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 16 July 2013
Dear techleadprof,

Thank you for your recent stay with us and reviewing our property. It is nice to know that you noticed the cleanliness of the property. However, I'm sorry your stay was negatively affected by the the unsatisfactory internet connection. Rest assured that your comments will be reviewed by our team and take actions accordingly and we will use your comments to improve our efforts. We appreciate your feedback as this is our best resource for improving guest services. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is. We appreciate your feedback as this is our best resource for improving guest services.

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rosemount, Minnesota, United States
1 review
Reviewed 24 June 2013

When I first heard about this hotel I was a little worried how the condition of the rooms would be because of the low price. When we got to the room I was shocked at how great the room looked, there was 2 plasma screen tv's, 2 queen sized beds, one pullout couch, and alot more great things. The second thing I worried about was the pool, which I also discovered was pretty nice. Overall, if you are looking to stay at a nice hotel for a great price, look no further. Did I mention the conveniently located Rubys Redeye Grill attached to the hotel?

Room Tip: I really don't know what the normal rooms are like so I guess I would recommend one of the suite...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Johnny D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sioux Falls, South Dakota
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2013 via mobile

This is a very nice Holiday Inn just south of the Twin Cities on interstate 35. There is a very nice restaurant connected to it and a new Walmart across the interstate for quick pick up of anything needed. I have a very fair negociated that is always honored no matter what time of the year it is. The staff is always very friendly and helpful. There is no continental breakfast offered but there is a McDonald's just up the street.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Purrplehelmet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rapid City, South Dakota, United States
1 review
Reviewed 31 May 2013

Our daughter and son-in-law had their wedding reception at the Holiday Inn & Suites and the staff was very helpful, professional and on top of everything. They made it a very memorable experience. My husband and I stayed one week at the Holiday Inn & Suites during this time and was very pleased with all of the staff and the service. We would definately recomend this Holiday Inn to any one. Also there was a block of rooms reserved for out of town guests and it was a perfect location for out of town guests to get to very easy access. Thanks to everyone at the Holiday Inn!!!!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jo L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2013 via mobile

If I could rate this place higher I would. We stayed there over the Easter long weekend with 3 other families. Staff was very friendly and helpfull. The woman managing the front desk and the guy who was doing pool duty were fantastic. Even though they were obviously very busy they always took the time to smile and ask if there was anything they could do for us!!!

The rooms were very clean and quiet even with us having pool side rooms.

Access from the freeway was very easy.

I'm pretty sure we already booked again for next year.

Sorry no pictures, but the ones online at their website are exactly as the hotel is.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Proudly_Manitoban
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lakeville
3.2 mi away
Quality Inn Lakeville
Quality Inn Lakeville
#3 of 4 in Lakeville
53 reviews
6.9 mi away
GrandStay Hotel & Conference Apple Valley
6.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Minneapolis/Burnsville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Best Western Premier Nicollet Inn
6.6 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Minneapolis Burnsville
14.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Bloomington Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn & Suites

Property: Holiday Inn & Suites
Address: 20800 Kenrick Ave, Lakeville, MN 55044-8201
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Minnesota > Lakeville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Lakeville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn(R) Lakeville, Minnesota Hotel!Of all Twin Cities hotels, the award-winning Holiday Inn(R) Hotel Lakeville, MN offers the most appealing accommodations for guests of any agenda. This hotel's location near Mall of America, just 15 miles away, attracts shopping fans, and Twin Cities businesses bring corporate guests, too. If you're looking for area hotels near Mall of America or the Twin Cities, opt for our Lakeville, Minnesota hotelLeisure travelers appreciate this Twin Cities hotel's location near popular area attractions. Not only is our hotel near Mall of America, but we're also just 25 minutes from downtown Minneapolis and St. Paul. Valleyfair, the Minnesota Zoo, Buck Hill Skiing, Canterbury Park, county fairgrounds and the Minnesota Twins are also nearby.This always accommodating Lakeville Minnesota hotel, just off I-35, is close to St. Paul River Center and the Minneapolis Convention Center, ideal for those attending conventions. We offer event space, perfect for meetings or Lakeville weddings, and a Business Center. It's hard to find other Twin Cities hotels with this many corporate options.Whatever brings you to the Twin Cities area, this hotel's location in Lakeville, MN promises the ultimate in convenience and quality service. Unlike many hotels in Lakeville, MN we boast an indoor water park, perfect for the kids. Choose a name you can trust and stay at the Holiday Inn(R) Lakeville, Minnesota hotel.Features An indoor water park, free Wi-Fi and convenient access to the Twin Cities, Buck Hill, Valleyfair, the zoo and Mall of America make the Holiday Inn(R) Lakeville hotel the best among area hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Hotel And Suites Minneapolis-Lakeville
Holiday Inn Lakeville
Lakeville Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing