We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Relaxation with a capital "R"”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
4 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Varaignes, Dordogne, Nouvelle-Aquitaine

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 4 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Colin S
Millom, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Relaxation with a capital "R"”
Reviewed 5 August 2016 for a stay in June 2016

From the very offset the experience that is Le Claud d'Amour is relaxing, with a short 1 hour 20 minute hop from Manchester to a very compact and efficient Limoges airport where it appeared that Sue had put on an air show for us. Car hire quick, then onto the very quiet French roads.
We arrived at Le Claud d'Amour about another hour and 20 minutes later to the site of a lovely large maison with fields and marvellous views as far as the eye could see, a truly stunning location. Once out of the car all that could be heard was the sound of birds letting the bird community know that the Brits have arrived, telling them to put on a good show and they'll fill up the bird feeders (we didn't disappoint them).
Once inside it was not possible to stop the jaw from dropping at the shear size of the rooms and the high level of appointment of the fixtures and fittings. On the ground floor there are rooms to chill, to shower, to store suitcases, but the main area is the huge kitchen/relaxation room which is magnificent, and as would transpire, we would spend a lot of our evenings there cooking, eating and sampling the huge selection of French rouge vin on offer throughout the area and of course playing dominoes.
The upper floor just enhances the experience, there are three large bedrooms with the master having its own large en suite bathroom and the two other (also large) bedrooms share a second bathroom. All beautifully appointed.
Sue and John greeted us on arrival, two lovely people who can't do enough to make your stay an experience. Sue and John also have the most talented footballing dog to grace the world stage since Pele burst onto the scene, this is the one and only Axel who has the most precise dribbling skills I have ever witnessed, Roy Hodgson missed a trick here, if he had added Axel to his squad the history books could have been so different.
So other than eating and drinking over the week what else is there to do in the area, short answer...lots. Visits are a must to Varaignes for cakes and bread at the boulangerie, top quality. Montbron is the nearest town to allow you to fill up with supplies...including vin rouge at the intermarche and Aldi.
Day trips are a must to Sarlat-la-Caneda for the magnicent cathedral and the medieval town, La Rochefoucauld for the castle which is truly magnificent, Brantome for the river cruise and the caves, Piegut for the massive Wednesday market and if you feeling energetic then the go karting is a must at Teyjat, where the track and setting is out of this world. If you are interested in WW2 history then on the way back to Limoges airport leave two or three hours to visit the village of Oradour, chilling but very interesting.
All in all Le Claud d'Amour and the area is a magnicent experience and I would recommend anybody that wants a relaxing break to book now.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Aug 2016
Wow thank you Colin. We are so happy you had a lovely stay it was a pleasure, I know Axel loved having you play football and the birds
were most grateful for the bird food you gave them every day.
Take care hope to see you again one day. Sue John & Axel.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine...
Wilmslow, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Home from Home”
Reviewed 12 June 2016 for a stay in April 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Having sold our holiday home in the Dordogne last year and to avoid withdrawal symptoms, we decided to come back to the department and rent for a six weeks. We were not disappointed and were reminded of all those happy years spent here.
In the end, we settled on Claud d’Amour in Varaignes. Having read the reviews and the fact we were staying for a prolonged period, we wanted it to be ‘home from home’ and it was!
This is a lovely new build, with all the advantages that a new house brings but keeping the charm of a rural property France. We were situated on a quiet lane, surrounded by beautiful trees and wild flowers. The views from all areas of the house are lovely.
The house is extremely well equipped, even down to details like a raclette maker, a Moulinex blender and a slow-cooker (all very useful when it’s your home for six weeks!) There is a television, with a Humax box which means all the usual Freeview channels are available.
We were greeted by Sue, who informed us she had provided a welcome pack with all the essential groceries, together with a bottle of wine and a bowl of fruit.
John and Sue Gibbons are just down the lane at their own house – always happy to help but never intrusive.
We can highly recommend Claud d’Amour.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Jun 2016
Thank you Chris & Dave it was a pleasure having you stay and so glad you had a lovely time and got out on your bikes a lot. Sue & John xx
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine...
Standish, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A little piece of Heaven”
Reviewed 9 February 2016 for a stay in June 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Le Claud d’amour is the perfect name for this beautiful gite. We fell in love with it straight away. It is beautifully furnished throughout with all the amenities that you could wish for. There are stunning views from every window, where you can watch the local wildlife. Sue and John made us very welcome – the perfect hosts, nothing was too much trouble. We had some lazy days by the pool again with spectacular almost 360 degree views. We also explored the local area with suggestions from Sue as to where to visit. Brantome is approx 30-40 minutes away and well worth a visit and the local town of Piegut has a farmers market on Wednesday mornings. We enjoyed our stay in June so much that we returned for another week in September and have booked again for June this year and bringing our friends along this time.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: Everything was perfect
Liked least: Nothing to dislike
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Feb 2016
O how lovely thank you
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
clc7064
Tewkesbury, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Absolute gem in the heart of rural France!”
Reviewed 4 February 2016 for a stay in August 2015
2
people found this review helpful

By lucky chance, we found Le Claud d'Amour last summer after having a stressful few weeks resulting in us having to cancel our previous holiday plans.
We arrived to a lovely friendly welcome from Sue and Axel! The house is set in stunning countryside with views from every aspect and the first thing we really noticed was the absolute peace and quiet. Le Claud d'Amour is as good as it looks in the photos, there really is everything in there you could possibly need. Sue had even put us a welcome parcel of basic food supplies so we didn't need to worry about getting milk/butter etc. on the way there. It's quite a rarity to see a car drive past on the very quiet road nearby but we soon got used to a friendly wave from everyone passing by.
We were travelling with our 13 year old son who was very impressed with his room, the wifi speed and the huge TV in the living room - it's always good to have happy teenagers! He was even happier when he saw the pool, hot tub and table tennis table! Again, the views from the pool are just stunning.
Sue and John are the most wonderful hosts and nothing is too much trouble for them. They are extremely knowledgable about the area and even came with us go-karting so we knew where to go and took us along to the evening market in Varaignes.
The area itself is beautiful with great cycle tracks that lead to all the surrounding towns and villages. Brantome is definitely worth visiting and kayaking is great fun and very safe in shallow rivers.
We really didn't want to leave this little piece of heaven on earth and we'll most definitely be returning.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Feb 2016
Thank you. You found us by chance and you were such lovely visitors, thank you for my gift I look at it quit often and think of you. Sue & John
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
;