We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic island, people, location”
Review of Embudu Village

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Embudu Village
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Embudu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 July 2013

We travelled to Embudu Village in November 2012 with Thomson Holidays.

After a 12 hour flight is was a relief to get on the boat for the 25 minute transfer to Embudu. Greated with a cold towel and a drink and checked in quickly.

What an amazing location! The bungalow overlooked the beach and it took around 20 mins slow walk to navigate the entire island. We shared our table with another couple and it was lovely to mingle with the fellow guests rather than keeping to ourselves for the 2 weeks.

The staff were amazing, the barmen remembered your drinks and were always ready with a cheeky comment.

Although the currents could be a little strong on occasion, the snorkelling was excellent. We saw sea turtles, rays, conga eels, sharks and an abundance of vivid fish.

Thoroughly recommend this location, everyone was friendly, the weather was amazing and it truely was a taste of paradise.

Room Tip: The island was so small that all the beach bungalows faced the beach. The water bungalows were by t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sarah R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (827)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

210 - 216 of 827 reviews

Reviewed 11 July 2013

We arrived at the tiny airport in June 30th and passed through customs without any problems, because we filled in our entrycards in the airplane already. Then we went straight to counter 23 where a friendly man lead us to the boatstop. The boat arrived after about 10 minutes for a 40 minutes trip to the island.
Shortly said the stay at Embudu Village was really nice, friendly and always smiling people and a nice cabin with for us three beds. The main bed has a rather hard matrass (as mentioned in other comments), but we were prepared and took a small tempur-matrass from home. The single bed though was fine.
As advised on this Tripadvisor we were booked in a renovated cabin (nr. 16) which was lying about 15 meters from our own small beach. The cabin has a very nice bathroom, a desk, closet with safe, an AC, fridge and teafacilities. Even a terrace with two comfortable chairs and a table. On the outside of the cabin there was a possibility to wash of your snorklinggear and feet.
As we probably were not in the high season there were plenty of sunbeds and chairs available and even in the restaurant it was not crowded at all and plenty of food to choose from. Every night they had a different theme. Food quality was ok, not the best but certainly not the worst we ever tasted. And the always smiling personnel made up for it.
Internet is available in the lobby area and costs 7 USdollars/30 min and 13 for an hour. Half an hour was just enough to update our Facebook-pages and upload about 10 pics.
The dive school offers several trips per day, is good equipped and has friendly employees and owner. My 12yo daughter took a course from Risey, which was very understanding. Snorkeling in the lagoon and the coral reef was excellent because of the variation of fish and hard coral, but not so good according to visibility. I had better experiences in the Red Sea. Still much better of course then in most dive-spots in the world.
Al in all a very pleasant stay at one of the cheapest resorts in the Maldives. I can imagine better food and a more luxurious cabin in the more expensive resorts, but if you don´t want a very luxurious cabin then I don´t see any difference between other resorts in terms of service and snorkeling.
Today were leaving again after 5 days in beach-paradise.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 16 which was one of the renovated rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bartfysio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2013

I took my girl and Mum there last week. The weather is just we wanted. Neither shinning, nor Rainning. You could meet the Sunrise in the morning and Stars in the night.We had 5 nights in Waterbungalow408 where had a lots of fish under the floor. My daughter loves the glass floor very much. And we swam twice a day at the west side and under our waterbungalow. The beach over there was fabulous, the sand was so clean and smooth. My daught didn`t wear her shoes all the five days. But the food just OK, not so many to choose. Breackfast was the best between the others. People there were very frindly, I will definitely come back next year.

Room Tip: Waterbungalow 408 and 409 are the best location to see the fishes and Sunrise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank YANG H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2013

Just returned from 2 weeks at Embudu Village and we had a great time! We stayed in room 80 just a stones throw from the beautiful beach and ocean. This is monsoon season and we only had a couple of short showers the first weeek and 2 days of showers the 2nd week. Mostly the weather was glorious and we both came home with a lovely tan. Our room was basic but spotlessly cleaned by the hard working room boy,( always give these guys a tip) .Cleaned twice a day and the bed turned back in adifferent way every evening. Our bed was very hard and took a couple of days to get used to! The food was pretty much ok and we had no tummy upsets. Always get to the restaurant quite early though as the desserts tend to go quickly if you leave it too late! The waiters and chefs are very polite and friendly and give great service our waiter was Zaki and was very efficient. There were only 12 of us English on the island when we were there, the vast majority German and mostly polite even though we couldn't really have a conversation. The bar was always a great place to have some fun and the staff were so funny and freindly! Especially Sunnil, Sree, Mr Bean and the waiters who work so hard, we spent most evenings there after dinner with Dave and Mandy and had many laughs with these guys. Overall it is a great place the snokelling and diving is superb, the beach and sea is glorious especially the sand split wow! Only a couple of gripes, lack of sunbeds, hard beds, and those dratted mossies! Although the trees were spayed and fogged after the rain stopped which stopped them and was so much better. Great value for money and definately worth a visit.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank tom t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2013

Just returned from week at Embudu. Great holiday, amazing value for money, food good, snorkelling amazing, but best of all were the kind and helpful staff.
Firstly must thank everyone for looking after my daughter after she slipped on a rock and em paled her hand on a piece of coral. She was taken to the dive school where Jannish(sorry for spelling!) managed to conjure up some anaesthetic spray to dull the pain. On Jannish's advice it was decided to send her straight to hospital in Male rather than trying to remove it on site. A speedboat was arranged and another big thank you to Ibrahim from Housekeeping who came with us and stayed with us all day to make sure she got the best treatment. She needed An operation to remove it and a lot of injections and stitches. Yet another thank you to all staff at the ADK hospital especially Dr Walia for superb treatment. We cannot fault all the help and advice we were given. Our lovely waiter and all the chefs looked after her (and us) extra specially well for the rest of the holiday. Many of the guests of all nationalities were very kind too enquiring about her progress.

Despite our emergency trip to A&E we had a great time. The recently refurbished rooms were very nice especially the bathrooms. Liked the proper hair dryers. Room kept spotlessly clean by our room boy twice a day and the children loved the manta ray sheet art!We had rooms 29 and 30. Good position near the sand spit.

Food very good. Lots of choice, breads fantastic, loved the puddings and salads. Soups good. Mongolian BBQ night was a favourite with my 15 yr old. He also loved having the enormous trigger fish he caught on the night fishing trip served up to him at lunch the day we left! When you consider that everything except coconuts has to be shipped in it is incredible that they can produce the quantity and standard of food for the price they charge.

We all loved the house reef, we swam twice for half an hour with turtles, once inside the reef and once on the drop off. We saw octopus, small and enormous rays, lion fish, moray eels and literally 100s of types of fish. Loved swimming with shoals of unicorn and angel fish.

We had really good weather despite it being monsoon season. One shower of 5 mins. 2 storms at night and one storm which lasted half an hour on our last day. Very lucky indeed!

I was a little concerned that the island may be too close to Male but being able to get to A&E in a hurry was fantastic, the boat crew got us there in 15 mins. We liked to look at the skyline of Male from the sand spit, a bit like Atlantis rising out the sea!

Although it may be not the prettiest island in the Maldives it has some of the nicest staff we've met. A great choice. Amazing value for money and we will definitely return.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank BerkshireWanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2013

We combined our trip to the maldives with a tour of sri lanka. We arrived in the maldives and literally walked onto a paradise island. The island was beautiful, you can walk round in 20 minutes or so. The marine life was amazing just wish they had some trips for snorkelling, seem to be more catered for diving, wasnt a problem though. Food was nice but sometimes didnt seem to have a massive selection but hard to cater for 200 guests where everything has to be imported. Staff are very friendly and work really hard. The thompsons rep was excellent. We truely had a wonderful time on this island.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tracy Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2013 via mobile

My fiancé and I stayed for a week from the 6th may 2013 for one week in room 91.

Overall we were blown away by the relaxed and rustic nature of the island and have been recommending it to friends and family already.

Weather - we were a little worried before we arrived as the BBC weather forecast for the week looked awful rain and cloud, we were greeted with cloud and the first few days were ok, but not picture perfect, the weather got better and better and we got 4 fantastic days out of 7, which we were happy about...watch out even In heavy cloud we got burnt whilst wearing a high factor the sun is fierce!

Room (91) - nothing to moan about, modern clean and big, bed is slightly on the hard side, great location near to the restaurant. Look out for the beautiful fruit bats hanging on the trees if you look over the room located opposite roof, good luck trying to photo them in the air!

Food/restaurant - we were very surprised, for a 3 star it was superb, better that we have received in 5 star hotels! The fish is amazing, and the curry night wow, I had 2 plates it was so so good...we were lucky we had a table to ourselves for the week...we loved the fact shoes are not compulsory, it added to the relaxed feel of the resort.

Sea/beach - stunning especially the sand strip, the sea life is amazing make sure you take an underwater camera.

Staff - lovely and friendly ( don't do what we did and think we could get cash out on the island to tip, you can't and we still feel terrible about not having any cash on us)

The only negatives we have are nothing to do with the resort itself, its the arrogance and lack of respect some people have which just shocks us, but that's life sadly:

1) people leaving cigarette ends in the sand, why do this! It makes me mad....and ruins the beach for future guests, lucky there was only a few in one area but still it made our blood boil..
2) people walking on top of corals, again what is going on in these peoples minds, they really deserve to have their feet cut to pieces, hopefully then they will appreciate mother nature!

If you book you won't be disappointed.....

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Olijaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Embudu
4.7 mi away
Adaaran Prestige Vadoo
Adaaran Prestige Vadoo
#1 of 1 in Vaadhoo Island
1,385 reviews
12.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Kandooma Maldives
Holiday Inn Resort Kandooma Mald...
#1 of 1 in Kandoomaafushi Island
1,563 reviews
11.7 mi away
Sheraton Maldives Full Moon Resort & Spa
Sheraton Maldives Full Moon Reso...
#1 of 1 in Furanafushi Island
1,863 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Tropic Tree Hotel Maldives
Tropic Tree Hotel Maldives
#1 of 1 in Gulhi Island
129 reviews
12.9 mi away
Bandos Maldives
Bandos Maldives
#1 of 2 in Bandos
2,197 reviews
5.8 mi away
Velassaru Maldives
Velassaru Maldives
#1 of 1 in Velassaru Island
1,786 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embudu Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embudu Village

Address:
Region: Maldives > Kaafu Atoll > South Male Atoll > Embudu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Embudu
Price Range: £212 - £340 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Embudu Village 3*
Number of rooms: 124
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Holiday Gems, Travelbag, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Evoline ltd and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Embudu Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embudu Village Hotel Emboodhu Finolhu
Embudu Village Male
Embudu Village Hotel Male

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing