We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Honeymoon”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Embudu Village

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Embudu Village
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Embudu
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful Honeymoon”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2013

We went to Embudu Village for our honeymoon and both agreed it was the best holiday we have ever had. The island is absolutely beautiful with warm, clean water and gorgeous white sand.

Neither of us had snorkelled before and it was amazing! We would both highly recommend it.
The staff working at Embudu village were so lovely, from Sunil and Amet in the bar to Fatoun in the restaurant. We found the service to be excellent and the food in the restaurant was lovely with different themes every night.

We treated ourselves to a spa treatment which was excellent.

We stayed for two weeks and found it so relaxing to be able to swim, read and completely relax, we didn't even leave the island once. We loved the wildlife, watching the bat swim out to sea and the little water hens that scurry around the island.

The only thing we noticed was that some tourists eave cigarette ends and water bottles on the beach and some step on the coral reef. So we think people should be educated more about respecting the beach and coral reef as they are fragile environments that need to be looked after.This is not a reflection on Embudu Village, however, just on some of the tourists :)

We hope to return to this beautiful paradise and would recommend it to anyone - it's also great value for money.

Room Tip: We were in room 34 - the rooms at this side are lovely as they look straight onto the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Kerri V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

757 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    344
    319
    70
    16
    8
See reviews for
123
477
43
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2013

This was my first time to the Maldives but my Wife's 3rd we both found Embudu Village very welcoming excellent staff and surroundings. The Snorkelling and diving are second to none the water is amazingly clear and the reef as close as you could get it.
We were a little unsure about sharing a table at dinner as it was out honeymoon but we made great friends with the other couple on our table and this worked very well.
The rooms are good not huge but with fantastic weather and snorkelling you don't spend much time in your room anyway.
I would recommend the beach bungalows and would not bother with the water bungalows as being directly on the beach is much nicer.
We had great conversations and treatment with the waiting staff and room boys and the different design of bed linen everyday was a highlight.
All I can say is that we will be going back and this island is how the Maldives should be rather than those with pools and 5*s this shows what the Maldives can offer and is more natural.

Room Tip: Book a beach bungalow number 77 is great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2013

This was our third visit to the Maldives, and the best. The rooms are spacious, and comfortable. The bed was hard, but as I had an operation on my back a few years ago it was perfect for me. It was nice to have a kettle with tea & coffee, so we were able to have a cuppa when we wanted. The air conditioning worked well, and there was also a ceiling fan. There was a safe in the room to store any valuables.
We stayed here on the All Inclusive deal, so we made the most of the daily cocktails in the evenings (each night was a different one), these were included in the AI. You have to sign for your drinks, and they put the cost on the receipt, but this is only for their accounting purposes. It was quite interesting, because one night our drinks (just the 2 of us) came to 1964.85 MVR (about $130), good cocktail that night!
The quality of the food was very good, and there was also a variety of choice. We were very lucky to share our table with Simona & Daniele, and the 4 of us were often the last people to leave the restaurant, so we made some very good friends. Our waiter (Zaki) was wonderful, and we couldn’t have asked for a better waiter.
The island has its own reef, and I was amazed by the amount of different fish. We were even able to swim/snorkel with turtles in the lagoon. There were 2 adults and a baby turtle. Just awesome!
In all, we would go back here tomorrow.

Room Tip: Any of the Superior rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank XFS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sri Lanka - Kurunegala
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2013

Embudu Village hotel is mid range hotel in Male and it located very closer to Male island. Hotel provide a Boat service to hotel but they have charged for that. Food was good and they have given us some sri lankan foods also.
We have got a Water banglow it was really nice and you can see the colour fish through the glass in the middle of the room

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gbgopallawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2013

I went to stay from 26 to 28 September 2013 with my husband. I have been to Embudu twice before about 03 years ago on very enjoyable visits, and was anticipating how the resort has changed since my last visit.
The first leg of the visit to Embudu, started off with a Star, as we were going by boat to the resort, and whom should we see frolicking by our boat, was a pack of Dolphins!
The boat obliging stopped for us to view them properly.
The dolphins swam from one side to another and it was such a treat to us, to see them, so closeby!
When we arrived to the Embudu Island - right at the shore are beautiful reefs, with endless reef fish!
We stayed at the water bungalaws and there is a terrace in every water bungalow. The water bungalows are situated right on top of some awesome reefs, so you dont even have to leave the bungalow, as you can simply stand on the terrace and look down, and see such colourful varieties!
For a 03 star resort, the buffets have various types of salads, soups, and main dishes and many desserts. The food was so tasty as well.
The staff are very nice.
The island itself, is one of the finest in Maldives, as I have been to many maldives islands.
The Reef at the island is the one of the best.
Snorkelling is absolutely amazing here. Just 5 feet away, you can simply put your head under water and see the different variieties of fish!

Room Tip: The Superior Rooms are all a few steps from the ocean. They are newly refurbished. The Water bungalo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank GabiTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2013

We were blown away by the beauty of the island of embudhu on arrival via boat from Male airport. We were welcomed and shown to our lovely room without much waiting or fuss.the room was simply furnished but pleasant, and with good air conditioning, which we were soon to realise was much needed!
We loved the restaurant, the food was excellent, always good quality and plenty of choice each mealtime. The waiters made the whole eating experience for us- fun and friendly, attentive and polite. They decorated our table with flowers on my birthday, and for our last evening there which made it very special. The bar was also a very relaxing place to be, with the staff very quickly remembering our room number and what we liked to drink( 2 beers, room 46). We didn't like the German tradition of smoking in the bar, even if it was open sided and that spoilt our enjoyment a little.drinks were pricey (5 dollars for half pint of beer) but as we only drank beer and didnt sample the limited wine available, or shorts, we can't comment on relative value.
There was no entertainment in the evenings(thankfully!) except for a rather tedious electro pop disco on Sunday night(no one danced!) this went on into the small hours, and kept me awake which was annoying as we had to get up at 6:30 to leave on the Monday morning! However in the scheme of things this was hardly an issue compared to the complete bliss we experienced on the beautiful shores of the island, swimming and snorkelling in the clear warm sea, or just enjoying the heat and sunshine warming our bones! The coral was amazing and easy enough to negotiate in shallow water before reaching the edge where it fell away to endless depths revealing a wall of beautiful coral and hundreds of different multi coloured fish to gaze at through the snorkel mask. We were caught on occasion by deceptively strong currents, and it was easy to see how some have got into difficulties there, but common sense and easy access to shallow waters prevented disaster for us, though was a bit scary at times!
We saw turtles, rays and octopus, a flying fox(bat) lizards and tree rats.
We loved the gentle routine of the small island, from the leaf sweepers to the room cleaners, who never disturbed, to the sun setting at six followed by showers for us, beers at the bar then dinner.
It rained a couple of times, not for long, and remained warm throughout. One day it was quite windy and we got sunburnt, our own fault. Overall the weather was excellent, with the short breaks from the sun very welcome!
Our one gripe was the lack of decent sun beds or seating by the sea. The famous yellow banana shaped beds were ok once on them, but impossible to get out of for me with bad knees! You would think that for such a lovely place investment in some decent sun beds would not be too difficult?

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Carol2k2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
colombo
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2013

Myself and my husband visited Embudu Village for 3 days to celebrate our 4 year wedding anniversay. It was an amazing experience sleeping and living in the middle of the most beautiful turquiose blue green sea in their sea villas. They have they own deck/sun lounge and is a great place to sit and a share a bottle of wine. The room has a 6x4 ft glass panel on the floor which you can see the sea from. Most often you get fish, the hue of the rainbow, passing by!!
The management at the Embudu Village are the nicest people i've come across, contrary to some reviews that i read. The General Manager Mr.Ramsey is one of the most hospitable, friendly, thoughtful and likeable persons who makes you feel like you are at home.. :)
The food and the beatiful wooden floored bar, and the sun deck spread out with wooden tables where you can watch the sun set and sun down are really beautifully done..
It is such a cosy heavenly little island with little grroves and crannies to explore. The beach is soft and white and unreal! Just as soon as you get into the sea you can see an amazing array of colourful fish gliding you by.. Even as you come out of the water bungalow and walk on the jetty you see a rainbow of colourful fish splattered everywhere!!
They have their own snorkelling and diving gear rent out. If you like snorkelling, this is the place to be!!

Room Tip: Since this is an island, all the sea bungalows have an amzing view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank shermi j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Embudu
16.4 mi away
Adaaran Club Rannalhi
Adaaran Club Rannalhi
#1 of 1 in Rannalhi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,368 reviews
12.9 mi away
Bandos Maldives
Bandos Maldives
#1 of 2 in Bandos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,941 reviews
11.7 mi away
Biyadhoo Island Resort
Biyadhoo Island Resort
#1 of 1 in Biyaadhoo Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.9 mi away
Kurumba Maldives
Kurumba Maldives
#1 of 1 in Vihamanafushi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,380 reviews
5.8 mi away
Velassaru Maldives
Velassaru Maldives
#1 of 1 in Velassaru Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,567 reviews
17.4 mi away
Fihalhohi Island Resort
Fihalhohi Island Resort
#1 of 1 in Fihalhohi Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embudu Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embudu Village

Property: Embudu Village
Address:
Region: Maldives > Kaafu Atoll > South Male Atoll > Embudu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Embudu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Embudu Village 3*
Number of rooms: 124
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Southall Travel, Evoline ltd, Travelbag, Holiday Gems and Booking.com so you can book your Embudu Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embudu Village Hotel Emboodhu Finolhu
Embudu Village Male
Embudu Village Hotel Male

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing