We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable & convenient”
Review of Green Gables Inn

Green Gables Inn
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lanesboro
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Green Gables Inn
Ranked #13 of 17 Lanesboro B&B and Inns
Solon, Iowa, United States
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Comfortable & convenient”
Reviewed 4 October 2013

The rooms are clean, the mattresses are firm, and the owner is helpful. Green Gables is a good deal in a town packed with over-priced bed & breakfast spots. The bike trail is just a few blocks away, the grounds are immaculate, lush & green. The only negative was the bath tub drain, which was clogged. The owner apologized and promised to have it fixed immediately. Since we were checking out, I can't say if that actually happened.

Room Tip: Rooms on the upper level have refrigerators, microwaves & coffee pots, while our lower level roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paula L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    8
    6
    4
    5
    0
See reviews for
2
12
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Duluth, Minnesota
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2013

I booked the Anniversary Suite for our little getaway to Lanesboro, and it really was delightful. The room is quite large and one of the most immaculately kept rooms I have ever stayed in. The whirlpool hottub was a real treat after a long day hiking and biking. The kitchen was just about the perfect size and included a coffee pot, coffee, small fridge, sink, and counter space. The bathroom was nice, too. It has a fairly large shower, and I liked that there were plenty of towels and amenities as well.The room has a deck with chairs/table, which is a nice touch. I didn't expect the deck! Coffee and muffins are served in the lobby of the Inn at 8:00 am. Jackie is a real treat, too. She is quite the friendly and knowledgeable host. The view from the Inn is fabulous, and it is close to downtown - just a short little jaunt on the bike from most everything a person might want to check out in Lanesboro. Wonderful experience, and we plan to book the room again next time we go to there. Clean, picturesque, relatively quiet...it's worth the money.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Avery O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2013

Large comfortable rooms. Lots of hot water. Owner gives great advice about places to visit or eat.
Wifi signal weak in bedroom but okay near office. Overhead fan is nice but air conditioning and dehumidifier in the room are a bit noisy. Lanesboro is great town for a weekend with access to bike trails, theater, and river sports. Would stay again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MP830
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 July 2012

Just returned home from delightful stay at Green Gables Inn. Beautiful green setting just up from the river, clean well-equipped and nicely decorated room. Really enjoyed the experience and meeting the owner.

Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minnesota
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2012

The Green Gables is nothing special. It's small, owned and run by Jackie for years. No hot tub, no pool, no continental breakfast. But the rooms are spotless. Some are very large, with a deck (that you share with the adjoining corner room, so it's great if you booked together, a little to cozy if you don't know the people). The view is spectacular, the grounds and landscaping are lovely. A gazebo, a deck with tables.
Other reviewers should give Jackie a break. She checks you in. She cleans your room, with the help of a nice Amish girl. It's a small place. If you want the Holiday Inn, stay in Rochester. If you want the Bed and Breakfast experience, stay at one of the many, many B&Bs. And pay high rates. But if you want a nice room and easy access to your bike and the trails, call Jackie.

Room Tip: Get a room overlooking the Root River.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MnVan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worthington, Minnesota
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2012

VERY unpleasant experience!!! Checked in and filled out card stating 4 people in room. Got in to room and owner called our room phone, and said we needed to pay more because 4 people were in the room (2 queen beds). Whole time we were there, we could see her watching us out the window from the office everytime we moved around! Put 3 small buckets of ice in our cooler that night, didn't see sign above ice machine that said don't use for coolers. The remainder of our stay, the room with the ice machine was locked and innaccessible, (obviously being watched again). 2 SMALL, standard hotel size bars of soap for 4 people for two days ( no shampoo, conditioner)?? Room was clean, but that's the only good thing we can say about this place. VERY unpleasant stay!!! Over $240.00 for two nights, just to be constantly spied on and monitered. Will NEVER, stay at this place again. It ruined our whole 34th anniversary wekend.

Room Tip: TIP!!! DON'T waste your money on this place!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minnesota
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2011

My best friend and I stayed at this hotel for a girls getaway weekend and it was lovely. The hotel is located near the town and is very clean and well maintained.

Room Tip: All of the rooms were lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lanesboro
18.4 mi away
White Valley Motel
White Valley Motel
#1 of 1 in Saint Charles
18 reviews
13.7 mi away
Oakenwald Terrace
Oakenwald Terrace
#1 of 1 in Chatfield
8 reviews
20.8 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites- Spring Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Green Gables Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Green Gables Inn

Property: Green Gables Inn
Address: 303 West Sheridan Street, Lanesboro, MN 55949-9761
Region: United States > Minnesota > Lanesboro
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Lanesboro
Number of rooms: 15

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing