We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Go for the genuine diner experience!”
Review of Spud Boy's Diner

Spud Boy's Diner
Ranked #3 of 16 Restaurants in Lanesboro
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Seating, Waitstaff
Madison, WI
Level Contributor
78 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Go for the genuine diner experience!”
Reviewed 29 April 2014

From the time you first see Spud's you know it is a diner. Walk inside and you are on a trip down memory lane. Friendly staff and diner decor complete the diner picture. But know that diner food from yesteryear in the Midwest is basic "meat and potatoes" with minimal seasonings. Spud's is no exception. The food was made to order, served hot and delivered with a smile. When in Lanesboro visit Spud's for a genuine diner experience.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bhofer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    84
    28
    6
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lanesboro, Minnesota
Level Contributor
168 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Gem of a Diner”
Reviewed 13 November 2013

My wife and I had breakfast at SPUD BOYS on one of the last days of the season. Everything was fresh and they had plenty of food for the final few days. The staff is friendly and they know about customer service. Pat is a great asset to the Diner.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DJBaker5155
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
“A Gem”
Reviewed 15 October 2013

Gordy is a gem. This 1926 Goodell diner is a genuine blast from the past. Small menu, fresh food, thick bacon. Go here.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DeepFriedTurkey247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nostalgic and fabulous!”
Reviewed 5 October 2013

We arrived in town and had already had lunch, so we bought 2 pieces of pie to go. The owners gave us 2 silverware forks with our pie to return the next da (the home made pie was out of this world!) . We returned the next day and had breakfast in this little dining car diner! So glad we did! Coffee and breakfast (eggs, bakery toast, and homemade hashbrowns). Service was great, and it was so much fun to learn the history of this dining car (the owner and fellow who salvaged and fixed this car up is also the cook!) If you want to step back in time, and have a great meal, go here! Fun, delicious, and friendly, what a treat!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank G B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Cute and delicious”
Reviewed 1 October 2013

This little diner is so cute and authentic and fun. We ate lunch here 2 days in a row! The sandwiches were fabulous. The potato is cut into french fries right before they go into the deep fryer. Best french fries ever! Friendly service!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Joan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Spud Boy's Diner also viewed

 

Been to Spud Boy's Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing