We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Food”
Review of Intermission - CLOSED

Intermission
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Intermission is the best restaurant in and near Lanesboro, Minnesota. Great food perpared by a gifted Chef! Chef Dave creates the menu and prepares all the entrees. It might take longer when we are full but it will taste awesome! We do encourage reservations. This helps with timing the orders to the kitchen. That is what make us unique, Chef Dave is doing the cooking. And man can he cook!
Hudson, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
43 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Excellent Food”
Reviewed 16 July 2014

We enjoyed a very tasty dinner here and also enjoyed the art work that decorates the restaurant. My husband and I had a walleye dinner and a steak dinner--both were excellent. Although we had to wait a bit to be seated even with reservations, it was worth it. We never felt rushed and we tend to take our time with conversation and good food. The wine list is adequate. We noted that not only was the food flavorful, it was served piping hot. We hope to return here.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank peggyy89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

115 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    77
    25
    10
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Appleton, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
43 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Wonderful food next to theater”
Reviewed 5 July 2014

We made reservations at Intermission before the theater and had a wonderful supper. The wine selection was not huge, but quite good. The tomato-basil soup with feta was just excellent. My wife had pork medallions and I had salmon. But we're very good but distinguished by superb sauces. The chef does a great job, and fresh ingredients are grown in a walk-through vegetable garden adjoining the restaurant. Service was a bit slow for a small place, but waitstaff was attentive, friendly and competent. Highly recommended, but allow enough time.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Tdawson48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oklahoma City
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great place to eat dinner”
Reviewed 3 July 2014

The service was very personal and the food was fresh and excellent. The tomato basil soup was the best I've ever tasted.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Laura A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MN
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Just what the Dr. Ordered”
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Our table had 3 of the entrees, 2 of the appetizers, as well as soup and dessert and all were exceptional. Wine and beer list was spot on - it is not hard to tell that extra effort and care is given in all aspects of preparation. Not to insult the previous poster but I actually enjoyed the slower service, you didn't feel like you were on the clock to get in and out but rather to enjoy the moment you step in the door. A wonderful driving and dining experience nestled in a scenic part of the state!
Will be back for sure and will also be sure to get tickets for the play.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank ThePerfectWeekend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Can't wait to go back!!!!”
Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

We stumbled upon this restaurant and are so glad we did!!! Priced affordably, charming decor, especially next door at the theater. The star though is the food!!!! Artichoke dip and Brie were amazing as starters. The tomato basil soup was fresh and fabulous. The steak was cooked perfectly and mouth watering seasoned (I got the blue cheese butter on the side). The shrimp pasta had a combination of items you wouldn't think would work yet do and do well. The grilled peach and fresh berry dessert was a perfect way to end the evening. Thank you for one of my mort memorable meals!!!!

Helpful?
2 Thank Sid412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Intermission also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing