We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dinner”
Review of Old Village Hall

Old Village Hall
Ranked #5 of 18 Restaurants in Lanesboro
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Delicatessen
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Shoreview, Minnesota
2 reviews
“Dinner”
Reviewed 2 August 2014

Great patio seating with no bugs! Not your run of the mill dinners, very unique and very delicious. Friendly atmosphere.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    89
    46
    14
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“A Great Place for a Great Meal”
Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

We were really impressed with the food and atmosphere here. The scallop special was truly exceptional as well as the lamb. For dessert we had the carrot cake and flour less chocolate cake. Jessie took good care of us and the chef even came out to visit which was a really nice touch.

If you only have time for one meal while in the area, his is the place to go!



Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank max2lucy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Appleton, Wisconsin
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Excellent dining”
Reviewed 6 July 2014

My wife and I had wonderful service and terrific food. I enjoyed the summer squash and almond soup, while my wife had red pepper and shrimp. For entrees we had cod, accompanied by barley with wild mushrooms and prosciutto-wrapped chicken. Everything was delicious including the flour less chocolate torte and crème brûlée. The coffee was just ok, and that's about the worst thing I can say, because after everything else, I was hoping for exceptionally good, just to stay consistent. A very fine meal, with very prompt and friendly service!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tdawson48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Dinner in Lanesboro”
Reviewed 30 June 2014 via mobile

We just finished a great dinner at the Old Village Hill in Lanesboro. My husband had the NY Strip steak and I had the sea bass. The fish was perfectly done. Slightly crispy on the outside and tender inside. My husband finished with the carrot cake - which the chef brought out for him. Excellent - no raisins - great taste. Our waiter was Jessie - he was just great. A fun dry sense of humor but very professional. Did I mention he made a fantastic Bombay martini! In a small town like Lanesboro - this restaurant is by far the best! Enjoy!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank John123Minneapolis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Decent - but not as good as other reviews”
Reviewed 15 June 2014

This place is quite expensive compared to other options in Lanesboro. The food was decent, the service was good but there was nothing to-die-for, especially after we paid our $75 bill.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank CNLB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Old Village Hall also viewed

 

Been to Old Village Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing