We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location for Biking Root River Trail”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Lanesboro
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Stone Mill Hotel & Suites
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Lanesboro
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 September 2012

My wife and I spent two nights at Stone Mill to do some early autumn cycling. The hotel is architecturally quite unique and the atmosphere really suited our taste. It hit the sweet spot in between a traditional hotel and an over-cozy B&B. They have a nice outdoor sitting area and the property has a great location in the town. We enjoyed strolling through Lanesboro each night from our lodging. Our stay was not without the odd inconvienience. The WiFi and Cable did not work the one night we made the attempt. I am sure the management would have come out to fix the problem but it wasn't really a big deal for us so we didn't call it in. A bit more annoying were the noises reaching our room. We had a third floor room (Boat suite) and the people above us ran their spa late into the night and we were awakened by the 4th floor spa-holics early the next morning. Our room was also located on the same floor as the lounge and loud conversations also found their way into our space from that quarter as well. In an older, restored structure such as this one you have to roll with the idiosyncracies of the place, so we laughed off the intrusive sounds and had a wonderful time. We will go back to Lanesboro and when we do we will stay at Stone Mill. I think in a fourth floor room next time.
Eating Recommendations:
Good quality dining...Intermission
Heartly (less expensive) lunch/dinner...Pedal Pushers Cafe
Road/Trail treat...Aroma Pie Shop (in Whalan) Loved the Blu-barb pie!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Donnysaur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (433)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

232 - 238 of 433 reviews

Reviewed 28 September 2012

I spent a couple days in Lanesboro riding the Root River Trail. My stay at the Stone Mill Hotel and Suites was excellent as it always is. The place is always clean and the people working there are very nice and willing to help if anything is needed. If you are going to stay in Lanesboro definitely check out Stone Mill!

Room Tip: I have been in several rooms and they are all very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sean E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2012

We had a wonderful bike trip with friends to Lanesboro. Our stay at the Stone Mill Hotel and Suites enhanced the experience greatly. The location is very convenient, the staff was extremely helpful, and the rooms were very clean. The Hotel had many nice amenities for guests located in a central location such as wine glasses, extension cords, irons, etc. It was also nice to have some breakfast food available, although The Pastry Shop just up the street is a wonderful place for breakfast. Our only complaints about the room were that we only had 2 small bath towels in our room, and there was very limited counter space around the sink for toiletries (we stayed in the Fishing Room). Otherwise it was great!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BikingCellist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2012

This was our second time at Stone Mill and it was as good as we remembered. Very clean, comfortable and relaxing. Has a great staff that are very friendly and make you feel at home. Love the front sitting area and beautiful views. We had a very positive experience and highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rhabs1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2012

This was our first visit to Stone Mill. It was perfect. We stayed in the Amish Room. The room was large and comfortable and nicely furnshed. It was also a great value. Everything was very clean and the staff were very friendly and helpful. We would definitely stay here when we return to Lanesboro. Loved the location with the close proximity to the restaurants and shops. Everything is within walking distance.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank seekingRandRmn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2012

The building is beautiful. The bedrooms had the minimum of only 2 bathtowels for 2 guests and no 'extra' blankets. Stairs are steep due to age of building. Good location on main road with choice of restaurants over 3 blocks and bike path entry within a block.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karen E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StoneMillSuites, Owner at Stone Mill Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2012

Hello,

We are thrilled that you had the opportunity to enjoy our building and experience our small town hospitality. Our rooms are equipped with towels enough for our standard 2 people in the room. Jacuzzi Suites have 4. We are more than happy to provide extra towels, blankets, and also offer wine glasses, corkscrews, hairdryers, and other amenities upon guest request. Our after hour numbers are posted for your convenience and we are happy to assist at any time.

Our stairs are original to the building and although a bit narrow, they do confirm to MN State Code for buildings over 100 years old adding to our theme of History Combined with Modern Convenience.

We hope you return to Lanesboro and enjoy more of what our little town, nestled in the valley has to offer.
Colleen - Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2012

This was our first stay at the Stone Mill, but it will not be our last! Where else could 10 friends gather for "catching up", biking and relaxing and have such an enjoyable time. Everyone was so accommodating! Doug is a wonderful example of someone who loves his job. He was so pleasant and friendly in the morning and a wealth of knowledge about the area and the Stone Mill. And being located so close to the bike trail was great also. All of the rooms were so unique and so cozy. We will be back again!

Room Tip: Any of the rooms would be great, but the garden suite is so cute!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Becky S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lanesboro
8.3 mi away
Andor Wenneson Inn
Andor Wenneson Inn
#1 of 2 in Peterson
55 reviews
13.5 mi away
Oakenwald Terrace
Oakenwald Terrace
#1 of 1 in Chatfield
9 reviews
21.1 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites- Spring Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.9 mi away
White Valley Motel
White Valley Motel
#1 of 1 in Saint Charles
20 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Stone Mill Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stone Mill Hotel & Suites

Address: 100 East Beacon Street, Lanesboro, MN 55949
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Minnesota > Lanesboro
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Lanesboro
Price Range: £60 - £102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Stone Mill Hotel & Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Circa 1885: Stone Mill Suites Historic Inn Hotel at the Lanesboro Feed Mill is a unique lodging destination. The limestone building has nine themed suites that depict the history of the building and the unique charm of Lanesboro. Room amenities may include; iron-claw fireplaces, double whirlpool baths, private baths, lofts, coffee, microwave and mini-refrigerator stations. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing