We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Stone Mill Hotel & Suites
Nearby Hotels
White Valley Motel(Saint Charles)
US$97
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$64
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$109
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$87
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cresco Motel(Cresco)
US$60
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
US$72
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$68
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$139
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (436)
Filter reviews
436 results
Traveller rating
348
76
7
5
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
348
76
7
5
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbike trailroot riveramish tourforest suitelocal bakeryamish roomcontinental breakfastold millget awayunique roomsstaff was very friendly and helpfulthemed roomspastry shopthe breakfast areamy husband and iin towngreat place to stay
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
167 - 172 of 436 reviews
Reviewed 5 September 2013

We're bikers & love Stone Mill's location. It's extremely convenient to all shops, and, especially, the beautiful Root River Bike Trail. We've stayed in three of the guest rooms, and each is very clean, spacious and comfortable. In addition, the continental breakfast provides all we need. The hotel is managed extremely well with very friendly and helpful staff. For four years in a row, we have stayed at the Stone Mill, plan on returning next year & many more years to come.

Room Tip: Each room has a different theme (Amish Room, Egg Room, etc.) and we love them all.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank graeking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2013

My husband and I celebrated our 35th anniversary at the Stone Mill Inn and Suites in Aug. 2013 and will definitely return there sometime. The owners and staff were so genuinely friendly and welcoming, always taking time to chat with their visitors. We had an incredible meal at a restaurant called Intermission which is right next door to the Commonweal Theatre where we went for a great performance after dinner. Both are located directly across from The Stone Mill so it was super convenient. When the play let out fireworks were just beginning in honor of Buffalo Bill Days, but it felt like our own personal "anniversary commemoration!" The owner of the Stone Mill had set out chairs and tables, partially blocking the street, so their guests would all have premiere viewing of the fireworks.....nice touch and great fun! We biked both days on the Root River Trail and enjoyed exploring Lanesboro with it's quaint shops and restaurants as well as several little towns on the bike route. We loved the fact that we parked our car upon arrival on Friday and didn't get back in it until our departure on Sun. yet saw so much! We stayed in the Mill room and liked the privacy and uniqueness of being in the old restored mill though a quick look at some of the other rooms led us to think that there wouldn't be a "bad" one to be had!
Thanks so much for a memorable trip!

Room Tip: Stayed in the Mill Room. Very private; only room in the building so have it all to yourself at night, though the building is where guests check in during the day. This didn't pose any problem whatsoever for us and we would stay in this room again, but are curious to try one of the others because they all have their own unique personality!
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trish M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2013

Great place to stay for a getaway. Close to everything. Just steps away from the Commonweal Theater and a block off the bike trail. The staff and the owner were very helpful and friendly. Great breakfast. Great giftshop with many locally produced items. We will return there again!

Room Tip: Rooms away from the breakfast eating area will be quieter for late sleepers.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Larry K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

We love Stone Mill Hotel & Suites! We always request the Amish room because you can conveniently park right outside your door. The staff are always very friendly and helpful; the room is always clean; the breakfast has wonderful pastries. Having locked storage for our bikes is a nice plus.

Room Tip: Amish room has inside and outisde doors. You can park right by the outisde door.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Geoffrey J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2013

We had a wonderful time at this Inn. Great attention to detail was given. The locked bike storage was so appreciated and sitting on the porch a pleasant and relaxing place to be. Wonderful easy breakfast....spotless rooms, and gracious host and staff. Highly recommend this Inn with wonderful biking just a block away. We stayed Mid week ( aug 20-22) and it was quiet in town and the trails were ours! Claudia

Room Tip: Loved being on the lower floor, 2nd floor suite( the forest suite). Quiet, and easy access to the door leading to the back parking area. Just loved it all! We plan to return!
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 553Claudia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews