We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This was the 2nd stay with many more down the road”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Lanesboro
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Stone Mill Hotel & Suites
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Lanesboro
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 September 2013

We like the grain room. It has a view of downtown. Walking distance to all the shops and resturants. Just down the steps to the excellent breakfest. Perfect room for us. The staff is friendly. We wil be back.

Room Tip: All the rooms are great. We toured them all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank loudylla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (436)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

164 - 170 of 436 reviews

Reviewed 7 September 2013

The Forest Suite was really great...we already reserved an October 2014 date at the time we left...that will be our 3rd stay @ Stone Mill (even though it's a 6+ hr. drive from our home in the Chicago area). We REALLY enjoy the nearby bike trails (whcih are all paved) and the food at the nearby restaurants was very good.

Room Tip: Great place to stay in Lanesboro
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank George M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2013

we had a great time at Stone Mill Inn & Suites, the Friday Wine and Cheese get together was great, We love the room and the Breakfast is great. Wonderful town. Great bike riding trails and A Wonderful Theatre, Actors and actresses were awesome we saw Sherlock Holmes

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cindy s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2013

We stayed at Stone Mill for our 10th Labor Day biking weekend in a row. The accommodations are wonderful and the staff is very helpful. The bike shed is a plus for storing our bikes overnight. Close to the downtown shops and bike trail. We booked Labor Day 2014 before we left.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rick G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2013

We're bikers & love Stone Mill's location. It's extremely convenient to all shops, and, especially, the beautiful Root River Bike Trail. We've stayed in three of the guest rooms, and each is very clean, spacious and comfortable. In addition, the continental breakfast provides all we need. The hotel is managed extremely well with very friendly and helpful staff. For four years in a row, we have stayed at the Stone Mill, plan on returning next year & many more years to come.

Room Tip: Each room has a different theme (Amish Room, Egg Room, etc.) and we love them all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank graeking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2013

My husband and I celebrated our 35th anniversary at the Stone Mill Inn and Suites in Aug. 2013 and will definitely return there sometime. The owners and staff were so genuinely friendly and welcoming, always taking time to chat with their visitors. We had an incredible meal at a restaurant called Intermission which is right next door to the Commonweal Theatre where we went for a great performance after dinner. Both are located directly across from The Stone Mill so it was super convenient. When the play let out fireworks were just beginning in honor of Buffalo Bill Days, but it felt like our own personal "anniversary commemoration!" The owner of the Stone Mill had set out chairs and tables, partially blocking the street, so their guests would all have premiere viewing of the fireworks.....nice touch and great fun! We biked both days on the Root River Trail and enjoyed exploring Lanesboro with it's quaint shops and restaurants as well as several little towns on the bike route. We loved the fact that we parked our car upon arrival on Friday and didn't get back in it until our departure on Sun. yet saw so much! We stayed in the Mill room and liked the privacy and uniqueness of being in the old restored mill though a quick look at some of the other rooms led us to think that there wouldn't be a "bad" one to be had!
Thanks so much for a memorable trip!

Room Tip: Stayed in the Mill Room. Very private; only room in the building so have it all to yourself at night...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trish M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2013

Great place to stay for a getaway. Close to everything. Just steps away from the Commonweal Theater and a block off the bike trail. The staff and the owner were very helpful and friendly. Great breakfast. Great giftshop with many locally produced items. We will return there again!

Room Tip: Rooms away from the breakfast eating area will be quieter for late sleepers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Larry K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Stone Mill Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stone Mill Hotel & Suites

Address: 100 East Beacon Street, Lanesboro, MN 55949
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Minnesota > Lanesboro
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Lanesboro
Price Range: £57 - £96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Stone Mill Hotel & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Circa 1885: Stone Mill Suites Historic Inn Hotel at the Lanesboro Feed Mill is a unique lodging destination. The limestone building has nine themed suites that depict the history of the building and the unique charm of Lanesboro. Room amenities may include; iron-claw fireplaces, double whirlpool baths, private baths, lofts, coffee, microwave and mini-refrigerator stations. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing