We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Egg Suite & Hen House”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Stone Mill Hotel & Suites
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Lanesboro
Certificate of Excellence
Woodbury, Minnesota
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Egg Suite & Hen House”
Reviewed 20 August 2014 via mobile

We traveled to Lanesboro for a two night get away from the Cities. We stayed in the basement of this establishment which was the only room with an adjoining room with bunk beds for our kids. The staff was well prepared for our visit and had already placed a cot in the room for our five year old upon check-in which we appreciated. The kids loved the jacuzzi and we liked the space, 2 rooms, 2 bathrooms, 2 tv's for under $200 a night- that's pretty reasonable if you ask me. We also liked the private entrance from our basement room as the kids could hop on their bikes and explore while waiting for us to get ready. This place is not extravagent but it is very clean, beds are comfy, and the staff is very attentive. Wi-fi is not so great in these two rooms but hey it is a stone building and we were in the basement three floors below! We liked that our kids would not disturb anyone from our location and the private entrance meant they didn't have to run through the establishment at all. Breakfast could be improved I think by adding just a few hot items or freezer waffles. (Our kids are picky eaters but that is our fault!). Since there is a breakfast attendant why not add some pancakes and sausage that you could cook on a griddle? Just an idea. We came with bikes and the storage was awesome to get our five bikes off our minivan. We walked to every meal and it was great to just unplug. During our trip we biked the Root River, tubed down the river 5 hours and took the Amish tour. We ate at Root River Inn, Pedal Pushers Cafe, the Dining Car and B's something. Over all I rate Stone Mill excellent!

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Pogos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StoneMillHotelSuites, Owner at Stone Mill Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
We are so glad that you had a great stay at Stone Mill Suites. Our guests really enjoy staying in the Egg Suite because of its unique characteristics. Thank you for your suggestion about a hot breakfast. The State of Minnesota is very particular about food preparation and in order for us to have a hot breakfast we would have to put in a commercial kitchen. As you know they are very expensive and take a lot of room. With only 11 rooms in our facility, we cannot justify the cost. Thank you for your suggestion and we have looked into having a hot breakfast but unfortunately, it will not work out for us. I do hope your children did enjoy the fresh pastries from our local Pastry Shop. Thank you, Cheryl
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

417 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    333
    72
    7
    5
    0
See reviews for
63
266
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Haines City, Florida
1 review
Reviewed 14 August 2014

We were so pleased with our stay at the Stone Mill Hotel, the staff and owners were very accommodating and went out of their way to see that we were comfortable. We went on the tour they provided and the tour guide was well informed and friendly. We stayed in the bicycle suite and it was immaculate and well appointed. This suite has a lower sitting room, with hideabed and bathroom (exceptionally clean) and loft with queen bed and sofa. In my mind this is the place to stay in Lanesboro, MN. I would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Betty M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Jolla
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

I loved that the place was clean-especially the bathroom. We stayed in the Crate Room. This is way over-priced---your view out the tiny window is into a cement block retaining wall 2 feet away. Just sayin' if you want a view of the world-this isn't your room. Also, the room is very damp since it's on the lowest level-or basement. No way we could have used the jacuzzi-it would have been like the tropics. I wish the toilet had a lid---you can't set anything on top of the toilet without risk of it falling in. Speaking from experience on this one. As much as they want to keep the "integrity" of the room-I think they should close up the holes in the ceiing where the old junction boxes were--for those of us that have experienced bats or mice--this was too creepy. The continental breakfast was hohum-and shorter time than a traditional hotel-but I guess if you want better, a true B&B is the ticket. The staff was very polite and helpful.

Room Tip: Try anything on the upper levels.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank VoddyK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014

We happened upon the Stone Mill as it was the site of the Amish tour we were taking. It had the perfect room situation for my daughter and I and a foreign exchange student (the Bicycle room) and we booked it sight unseen. The woman at the front desk was extremely helpful, low key, and most kind. She also had the kind of refinement I associate with the British, which was delightful. Our room was immaculate, the sheets were of very high thread count, and all was comfortable. I loved the outside seating as it allowed us to visit with other guests and enjoy the view. The flowers and hanging baskets are exquisite. There is a shed available for safe bicycle storage.

Room Tip: The rooms directly off the main street are accessed by steps and are probably not appropriate for so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sewist2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holdingford, Minnesota
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 July 2014

We stayed in the Amish Room and it was adorable! It was clean, cozy, and a very nice room. We loved the street access from the room and the secure storage area for our bikes. We were impressed with the service and personal care given by staff. Some of the best bike trails we've been on...HIGHLY recommend Stone Mill if you are in town for trails or just to relax.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Geriann F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Stone Mill is exceptionally clean, unique and charming. The owner and employees were very friendly. Breakfast was also very good. The beds were comfortable and it was pretty quiet for sleeping. We enjoyed our stay very much and will likely be back for a third time.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PAM D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lanesboro
13.5 mi away
Oakenwald Terrace
Oakenwald Terrace
#1 of 1 in Chatfield
8 reviews
21.1 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites- Spring Valley
17.9 mi away
White Valley Motel
White Valley Motel
#1 of 1 in Saint Charles
17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stone Mill Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stone Mill Hotel & Suites

Property: Stone Mill Hotel & Suites
Address: 100 East Beacon Street, Lanesboro, MN 55949
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Minnesota > Lanesboro
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Lanesboro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Stone Mill Hotel & Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Circa 1885: Stone Mill Suites Historic Inn Hotel at the Lanesboro Feed Mill is a unique lodging destination. The limestone building has nine themed suites that depict the history of the building and the unique charm of Lanesboro. Room amenities may include; iron-claw fireplaces, double whirlpool baths, private baths, lofts, coffee, microwave and mini-refrigerator stations. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing