We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Anniversary Get-away”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Stone Mill Hotel & Suites
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Lanesboro
Certificate of Excellence
Maple Plain, Minnesota
Level Contributor
39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Anniversary Get-away”
Reviewed 17 August 2010

Beautiful setting for a quick weekend for my husband and I. We stayed in the Farm Room -which featured a whirpool (was appreciated after a long day of biking by very occasional bikers :-) and small, low-ceilinged loft area.(Loft would be fun for kids 6-10) Bed was comfortable.

We purchased the romance package which included a carriage ride through town (thought this might be sappy at first - but was a beautiful evening and the driver was very congenial - he let us take our glasses of wine with us!! It ended up being a trip highlight), massage (mix-up in reservation- so we were not able to receive this service - cash refund with NO problem) and dinner at the Root River Inn. The building was unique and quaint - quiet. Breakfast was continental - simple and ok. We will definitely return to Lanesboro! OH - if biking west DEFINITELY stop at the Aroma Pie Shop in Whalen - the Raspberry Cream Pie is worth the trip alone!!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Southshore4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

412 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    328
    72
    7
    5
    0
See reviews for
61
263
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Oak Lawn, Illinois
Level Contributor
32 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2010

We stayed in a split level suite that had a loft bed and, on another level, a futon. Convenient for both time together and apart. The room was appropriately decorated (not to much), the beds (and futon!) were very comfortable. While we weren't there for the cable TV and wifi, the latter was certainly appreciated. The owners were exceptionally helpful in making plans, providing guidance and being warm and gracious hosts. The breakfast was a bit sparse---the oatmeal was rather low end and the coffee was quite weak. We would return, however, and have already commended the Stone Mill Suites to others.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael5508
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2010

A 4 day weekend gave us the chance to visit Lanesboro and enjoy a family bike hike. Finding accomodations for a family with adult kids is always a challenge but we found the perfect welcome at Stone Mill Suites. My husband and I were in the "Egg Suite" and we had the adjoining "Hen House" for our adult kids - with comfy twin bunk beds and their own private bath. Everyone was comfortable and happy - even our skeptical 19 yr old son decided his first Bed & Breakfast adventure was a pleasant surprise and would love to go for another weekend this fall. The Stone Mill Suites are located at the quiet end of town and has spacious rooms with a farm decor motif - not as fussy as the Victorian styles that many other B&B's tend to have. Breakfast was generous with fresh baked goods and hard boiled eggs. The staff was warm, friendly and let us check in early so we could start our bike hike that afternoon too.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mnmommykins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Paul, Minnesota
1 review
Reviewed 5 August 2010

Arrived early evening with no idea where we were staying. Only one room was vacant when we stopped in to inquire. The front desk clerk showed us the room which was
in the lowerst level (the crate room/suite)......we thought it looked very peaceful and quiet so we booked the room. We very much enjoyed the room and the town of Lanesborough and would stay again at your hotel.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kimmarie43501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2010

A day in Lanesboro was a perfect way to end our vacation and the Stone Mill Suites made our home base so very relaxing. We were right next to the Commonweal Theater which I have to say is a fabulous regional theater. If you are in Lanesboro to bike, shop, browse, or use the river, those outlets are also within a couple of blocks. If you want a good meal there are numerous places to eat also within a couple of blocks.

With everything being in close proximity, we ventured back to the SMS to read, relax, and listen to the rain on the roof. Our room was on the top floor, they call it the fouth but it is the second floor from the main entrance. We got a chance to see a number of the rooms as we came in and they were all well themed and inviting for a relaxing weekend. I can see us staying there on our next planned trip to Lanesboro.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelingtw0s0me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coggon, Iowa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 August 2010

I stayed in the Crate Suite on July 30-August 1, 2010 and would definitely recommend Stone Mill Suites Historic Inn (866-897-8663). The room was immaculate. The staff was friendly, informative, and helpful offering suggestions about local restaurants as well as local activities. The commons area and the front porch provided welcome gathering space for our extended family to visit. I loved that the building had such a rich history and that the room decor reflected elements of that history. Call them if you want a great place to stay while you antique, bike, canoe, or hike in Lanesboro, MN.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MJAden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ST. PAUL
1 review
Reviewed 1 August 2010

I had the pleasure of taking a trip with a really great friend of mine in July.We arrived and stayed from the 20-23rd. It was such a great vacation... I didn't even want to leave Lanesboro or leave the beautfiful "Stone Mill Suites" in particular the Garden Suite where we stayed in. The staff was so very kind and helpful. I had never stayed in an inn or in a place like Lanesboro , so needless to say I fell in love with the serenity and peacefullness this place offers.

Can't wait to return back to lovely Lanesboro and your Beautiful Inn.

Thanks for a wonderful time away!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FAITH37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lanesboro
13.5 mi away
Oakenwald Terrace
Oakenwald Terrace
#1 of 1 in Chatfield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 8 reviews
21.1 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites- Spring Valley
17.9 mi away
White Valley Motel
White Valley Motel
#1 of 1 in Saint Charles
3.5 of 5 bubbles 17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stone Mill Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stone Mill Hotel & Suites

Property: Stone Mill Hotel & Suites
Address: 100 East Beacon Street, Lanesboro, MN 55949
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Minnesota > Lanesboro
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Lanesboro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Stone Mill Hotel & Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Circa 1885: Stone Mill Suites Historic Inn Hotel at the Lanesboro Feed Mill is a unique lodging destination. The limestone building has nine themed suites that depict the history of the building and the unique charm of Lanesboro. Room amenities may include; iron-claw fireplaces, double whirlpool baths, private baths, lofts, coffee, microwave and mini-refrigerator stations. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing